? 05/15 Nestle ♡ AMPS 88 PMPS 97 Dental help please

Good meowning
Not a bad start this AM.
We're back from the vet meow. Nestle did so well. It always amazes me how calm he is. They don't have to sedate him to take blood. We will have the results tomorrow.
I think today I was more stressed than he was. I don't know how I'm gonna do this next week when it will be time to drop him off at the vet before the dental.
Am I still able to access all the dental info on the original FDMB?
Today at the vet's we discussed Nestle's fasting prior to operation and vet said no food after midnight and to drop him off at the vet's for 7:30am and to bring his food and insulin. Does that make sense? And is it fine for our sugar babies to be without food for that long? Any info and insight will be appreciated as I'm freaking out and little bit ( Ok a lot )🙈🙊

Yesterday
https://felinediabetes.org/fdmb//threads/05-14-nestle-amps-85-pmps-99.198/
 
I'm glad Nestle did well at the vets, Karolina. Here is the dental info from the FDMB: Info on Dental Procedures (including pictures) | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

FWIW, when Jude had his dental, I was instructed to fast him after midnight the night before, to give 1/2 his regular food in the a.m. and the full dose of insulin, BUT my clinic does their surgeries in the middle of the day, from noon until 2 p.m., so he was going to be without food for a while by the time the surgery started. Also, they tested him prior to the surgery to make sure his bg was okay (and it was). That was our experience.
 
Good meowning
Not a bad start this AM.
We're back from the vet meow. Nestle did so well. It always amazes me how calm he is. They don't have to sedate him to take blood. We will have the results tomorrow.
I think today I was more stressed than he was. I don't know how I'm gonna do this next week when it will be time to drop him off at the vet before the dental.
Am I still able to access all the dental info on the original FDMB?
Today at the vet's we discussed Nestle's fasting prior to operation and vet said no food after midnight and to drop him off at the vet's for 7:30am and to bring his food and insulin. Does that make sense? And is it fine for our sugar babies to be without food for that long? Any info and insight will be appreciated as I'm freaking out and little bit ( Ok a lot )🙈🙊

Yesterday
https://felinediabetes.org/fdmb//threads/05-14-nestle-amps-85-pmps-99.198/
HI Karolina, He's such a good boy! (unlike his cousin Ivy!) I am so happy he's so well mannered!
Maybe post with "dental questions" in your header to get some attention, along with the question mark.
Hoping you get great advice to keep our sweet Nestle safe!
Great job, mama!! ❤️ 🐈 ❤️ 🐈
 
I had a similar experience to Mary. Since I feed and shoot at 6AM and she wasn't going to get to Pete right away she said business as usual for that morning.

I am pretty certain all the advice/experience I've seen was not to fast. I also learned anesthesia lowers BG. Petey's BG and some other values were monitored the whole time. I ended up not shooting that morning cause I thought he was too low and the vet ended up saying that was a smart decision.

Maybe post on the FB group? There were lots of ppl that had just got dentals too.

🤗🤗
 
Take a look at the second post in that link Mary gave you. The most current guidelines for diabetic cats is NOT to fast them as long. Neko's dental vet said I could give her up to 1/3 of her breakfast at 6AM. And I packed the rest along for them to give her when she was awake enough. Plus I gave half dose, except the one time I gave token dose cause she was flirting with a reduction. And still got to 70 on their AT. Her dental was in the late morning. However, I'd still get the vet's OK on what you are going to do.

Not all anaesthesia induction drugs lower the BG. The older style ones did, but one of the newer ones (which Neko got) did not. Note, when I say "newer", I'm talking over a decade now. 😆. But it's still a good idea to test when he gets home, then test again at PS time to see if he's coming down. And make sure any food gets given just small amounts spaced apart when he gets home, so the anaethesia GI affects are minimized. If he doesn't want to eat much at all, use that and the BG trend as you decide the PM dose. Also get on hand something like all mean baby food, very soft to eat and seems to appeal to a lot of cats.

I think we all do a lot of stressing during cat dentals. I was lucky that there is a great Italian deli/store across the street from the vet dentist and I was able to walk/shop my stress off.
 
I haven't done it yet so I don't have answers like others do, but preparing for dental procedures seems so incredibly daunting. 🫣 I don't blame you for being nervous!

I'm glad Nestle is so compliant and calm at the vet! That certainly makes things a little less stressful overall.

Which day next week is his procedure?
 
Back
Top