5/11, Bell, AMPS 377 +4 318 PMPS 256

Seth&Bell

Member
Yesterday

Darn, Bell bounced pretty quickly after hitting those greens yesterday. That's usually not a great sign for the dose sticking, we'll see.

She threw up a couple times last night/today, seems like her bilious vomiting syndrome flares up with these big BG swings. She eats well when she is consistently yellow/pink and she eats well when she is green, but passing through the blue zone seems to upset her tummy. Got some ondansetron in her and she's eating fine now.
 
Bell fearlessly jumped head-first into this amazon box, which was pretty funny. She could hardly get right-side-up once she was inside. I took the opportunity to attempt a tooth brush while she was trapped. Didn't go super well, but could have been worse. She was on my lap 30 min later :giggle:
1747009141710.png

Once Bell was in the box, Blair had to come bully her out of it :rolleyes:

1747009181113.png
 
Sweet Bell! Those swings can’t be easy on her. Sorry to hear she had an upset tummy overnight. Hope the meds help keep things down and has gentle slide down.

Hope you both had a great day!
 
Sorry to hear Bell's tummy was upset. Sending healing vines.
Hope she feels better and has a gentle slide.
Wishing you both have a relaxed night! 🤗
 
Bless her heart! Glad she is eating fine now. Hope she slides down tonight.

After we had our discussion on the forum about teeth-brushing, I purchased some of those gauze-like finger cloths for brushing the teeth, and the process went remarkably well for my five. I've tried brushes before, but these cloths worked much better. FWIW.
 
Thank you Madeline! Give Butch a chin scratch for me!

Oh woah that’s super great news, Mary! Wendy and Diane with the great advice as per usual. Bell is so easy-going (and lazy) and forgiving that the toothbrush could work. Blair in the other hand would never come near me again
 
Hey there, for whatever its worth … my vet gave me a vial of ondansetron. Stays in fridge. It’s 2mg/ml concentration and Minner gets 0.5ml so 1mg. I think the dosing guidelines are pretty broad.

My vet gave me this last year when Minner had a vomiting episode following a skipped insulin dose resulting in big spike. My vet told me these swings can trigger some reflex that induces vomiting. I tried using it at home one time but the needles in the syringes they gave me are much larger than her insulin syringes and she reacted badly so I aborted mission and used only cerenia.

Until now … that big vial of ondansetron has sat in fridge. I started using it 2 days ago with her insulin syringes. I have to use 2 of them to get 0.5ml but no big deal so far. Knock on wood.

It sounded like you were pilling Bell to get ondansetron into her. Passing along in case injecting it might be a good alternative. I’ve wondered about injection site interference so I’ve kept her insulin in hips and ondansetron behind shoulder blade.
 
Thank you Laura!! I have been pilling Bell with 2 mg of ondansetron. It does seem to really help her when she’s feeling icky and doesn’t want to eat. The pills are so small that I don’t have much of an issue with them, cutting them in half is a different story - they made them oval shaped instead of round so it is a bit harder to use my pull cutter :rolleyes:
 
Back
Top