5/17 - Xander | AMPS 259, +6 89, +9 136, PMPS 278

Brianna & Xander

Active member
5/16/25

Happy Caturday! 💚

I'm glad I went with my gut and stuck with the dose for now. I realize we're not seeing a lot of green and that we're gonna need to increase, but he's definitely not soaring the way I think we all thought he might after I took the full back-to-back reduction the other day. I would have maybe done it tonight but since he seems to generally start showing action from an increase on the third cycle, I'm waiting til at least tomorrow morning to try to avoid that being overnight. Of course he may not play it that way anyway, but all I can do is try to predict. 🙃 I'm also considering going up by half of the usual again. It may not accomplish anything, but he's getting nice blues and at least hints of greens here. With how big a difference a tiny amount of insulin can make I'm interested if just a nudge upward would be enough without sending him over the edge.

@Briana + Binx reminded me today of her questions of absorption issues and I'm wondering if maybe we have that issue (he gets his nighttime injection on the same side every night, and it's almost always at night that he's higher). I've been chalking that up to active AM cycles and bouncing PM cycles, but it's something to keep in mind I guess. Not sure what I'd do about that though - the only place he tolerates injections are the flanks and it would sure get sore doing the same spot twice/day.

I hope everyone's having a nice, safe weekend!
 
Those are some pretty nice stretches of blues!! And he did get a green nadir this morning - I know it was a high green, but I wonder if it’s worth holding a bit longer? The experts would know better than me!! Either way, glad you decided to go with your gut 🙂

And it is curious about his evenings being higher - especially because most people find the opposite and evenings get more action. Could be a potential experiment in the future! Difficult when there aren’t many spots to pick from but if it is at all related, maybe even a short break would help. Again, no expert here!!

Safe surfing tonight 😊
 
Those are some pretty nice stretches of blues!! And he did get a green nadir this morning - I know it was a high green, but I wonder if it’s worth holding a bit longer? The experts would know better than me!! Either way, glad you decided to go with your gut 🙂

And it is curious about his evenings being higher - especially because most people find the opposite and evenings get more action. Could be a potential experiment in the future! Difficult when there aren’t many spots to pick from but if it is at all related, maybe even a short break would help. Again, no expert here!!

Safe surfing tonight 😊

The protocol does say to hold for at least 10 cycles if we're seeing green, and tomorrow morning would make 10. I'm just remembering being told "one or two greens isn't going to help" in the past and told I needed to increase anyway. But truth be told, his AM cycles have only gotten better the longer he's been on this dose, so I'd be happy to sit with it and see if that trend continues.

Yeah, it's bizarre. He's not getting different carb percentages at night or anything. In fact, I'd expect him to be lower at night because he doesn't always eat his snacks overnight. 🤔 Or, if we're lucky, maybe that blue and green will start spreading into the PM cycle too; it's been taking up more of the AM cycle every day, so 🤞🏻

Thank you, Briana! Safe surfing to you and Binx too! 💚💙💚
 
Back
Top