5/20 Petey AMPS 155 +2 160 +4.5 80 +5 62 +6 90 +7 91

It was a good day! Let's hope he's settling in on some greens.

Do you think I should take the reduction?
Sorry I just saw this Laurie and it looks like your gave his shot and held the dose.
Do you reduce if he goes under 68 on the AT?

It’s not a back to back reduction and you tested it several times, so I guess if you wanted to you could take it (I’m not giving advice here as I’m definitely not qualified to do so).
Just weighing the options based on your guidelines.
You could post with a question asking for dose advice (try that little dose button). Pretty cool feature 😘
 
Last edited:
Sorry I just saw this Laurie and it looks like your gave his shit and held the dose.
Do you reduce if he goes under 68 on the AT?

It’s not a back to back reduction and you tested it several times, so I guess if you wanted to you could take it (I’m not giving advice here as I’m definitely not qualified to do so).
Just weighing the options based on your guidelines.
You could post with a question asking for dose advice (try that little dose button). Pretty cool feature 😘
Thank you. I decided to see what another cycle brings.. he hasn't been showing great numbers on this dose. And I did test the AT 62 on the Relion too and got 55.
 
Gah! Boing! :) Glad he got back to some safer numbers. Petey 😖!!
Here's my theory (and you know this isn't dosing advice!): I wonder if he's bouncing and needs a reduction. I think if he's reduced a teensy bit, he'll stop bouncing from the lows and will level off.
 
Last edited:
Gah! Boing! :) Glad he got back to some safer numbers. Petey 😖!!
Here's my theory (and you know this isn't dosing advice!): I wonder if he's bouncing and needs a reduction. I think if he's reduced a teensy bit, he'll stop bouncing from the lows and will level off.
He's only had a short stint in the greens on this dose before today, so not sure why he would be bouncing... I've been thinking NDW?

EDIT: Not NDW just read this on the other board
  • NDW usually lasts for less than 24 hours and is usually seen in the second day following a dose increase.
  • The concept of "New Dose Wonkiness" is NOT applied to higher numbers which may be seen after a dose reduction.
  • There is no "NDW" following a dose reduction nor do we hold a reduced dose 6 cycles (as done with dose increases) to "fill the insulin depot".
  • "Settling time" does not apply to dose reductions. We don't wait for a reduction to "settle".
  • For those following the Tight Regulation Protocol: "If the cat will not stay in the normal range after a reduction, immediately increase the dose again to the last good dose."
 
Last edited:
He's only had a short stint in the greens on this dose before today, so not sure why he would be bouncing... I've been thinking NDW?
I think this has been since 5/7. It seems like when he hits those greens, and then goes too low, he bounces up. And then back down. So, perhaps it's those lows his pancreas is responding to. Not sure if that makes sense. I think that since he's had the dental, his body is responding differently--and he's readjusting.

Who knows!! Cats and their FD are such a mystery.🙃 I just hope he levels off for you.:)
 
I think this has been since 5/7. It seems like when he hits those greens, and then goes too low, he bounces up. And then back down. So, perhaps it's those lows his pancreas is responding to. Not sure if that makes sense. I think that since he's had the dental, his body is responding differently--and he's readjusting.

Who knows!! Cats and their FD are such a mystery.🙃 I just hope he levels off for you.:)
Thanks for thinking it through with me, Mary. I'll ask for dose advice tomorrow, but based on what I just read looks like I should have increased before today. 🤷‍♀️
 
Answering on dose in advance of tomorrow... After a reduction, we wait to see where the nadirs are at to see if the reduction has succeeded or failed. If they see green, the reduction may be working. We hold the dose 10 cycles to see if he'll come back to greens. Today was cycle 10. I don't think I'd increase.

Since the Relion test was 55, you definitely could keep holding the dose. The other thing for you to consider, is whether you think he's a cat that doesn't hold reductions well. He's been on insulin now for 6 months, and mostly dancing around the same range of doses. The problem with treating him like a cat that doesn't hold reductions well, is that you move to a different reduction scheme, which is 3 days on numbers between 40 and 49, or once under 40. But that is with the human meter, and we don't have equivalent numbers for an AT - hence the problem part.
 
Answering on dose in advance of tomorrow... After a reduction, we wait to see where the nadirs are at to see if the reduction has succeeded or failed. If they see green, the reduction may be working. We hold the dose 10 cycles to see if he'll come back to greens. Today was cycle 10. I don't think I'd increase.

Since the Relion test was 55, you definitely could keep holding the dose. The other thing for you to consider, is whether you think he's a cat that doesn't hold reductions well. He's been on insulin now for 6 months, and mostly dancing around the same range of doses. The problem with treating him like a cat that doesn't hold reductions well, is that you move to a different reduction scheme, which is 3 days on numbers between 40 and 49, or once under 40. But that is with the human meter, and we don't have equivalent numbers for an AT - hence the problem part.
Thank you Wendy. I don't feel like he holds these reductions well and needs a little more time on them, otherwise we just keep going back up and down the ladder.

Would it be OK if I keep testing the lows with the Relion and try that reduction scheme. I don't think he'll get that low on this dose but we'll see. If he's still staying above 50 on the Relion that could be the issue we've been seeing, I'm reducing too soon. I don't want to to switch fully to the Relion for my own rationale. But I was curious what the variance was in low numbers, and it's pretty minimal.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top