Dose? 5/22 oregano pmps 332

wade

Member
Hi folks, quick dosing question. Oregano was at 3 units 2x daily and was doing well—lots of time in the 200s with some in the 300s and even a few blues in there. Each 7 day rolling average was lower BG than the previous 7 day rolling average and I felt like we were on the right track. Then she dropped quite quickly down to 67; did not hold it long but the slgs protocol as I understand it necessitates that I reduce her down to 2.75. So I did, starting last night pm shot. Then again this am. I have not updated her spreadsheet since last night but will be doing so this am (the part of the house where the computer is is inundated with contractors right now so I have to wait til evening when they are gone to update) but she has been in the mid to high 300s all day, and even hit “hi” on the meter a couple times this afternoon. I feel like that .25 drop is the issue. So my question is is there ever a time when on slgs we can NOT reduce the .25 or is that a bad idea. I can hold her at 2.75 for the next 6 days and ride this out; it just is a shame because she really was responding well at the 3.0. Thoughts here? What would y’all do?
 
Hi folks, quick dosing question. Oregano was at 3 units 2x daily and was doing well—lots of time in the 200s with some in the 300s and even a few blues in there. Each 7 day rolling average was lower BG than the previous 7 day rolling average and I felt like we were on the right track. Then she dropped quite quickly down to 67; did not hold it long but the slgs protocol as I understand it necessitates that I reduce her down to 2.75. So I did, starting last night pm shot. Then again this am. I have not updated her spreadsheet since last night but will be doing so this am (the part of the house where the computer is is inundated with contractors right now so I have to wait til evening when they are gone to update) but she has been in the mid to high 300s all day, and even hit “hi” on the meter a couple times this afternoon. I feel like that .25 drop is the issue. So my question is is there ever a time when on slgs we can NOT reduce the .25 or is that a bad idea. I can hold her at 2.75 for the next 6 days and ride this out; it just is a shame because she really was responding well at the 3.0. Thoughts here? What would y’all do?
She’s bouncing right now so let’s see where she ends up when she clears it which can take up to six cycles.

But, under SLGS, a drop below 90 is a reduction.
 
Wade, Consider switching to TR. I know you're frightened of it, but just give it a try. Especially right now while Oregano's numbers are high. If her numbers get too low, and you get nervous shooting lower numbers, you can always switch back to SLGS. Some people here have actually gotten their babies regulated on TR, and then switched back to SLGS. If you switch to TR, you would not need to reduce due to today's 67.
 
Last edited:
Wade. Consider switching to TR. I know you're frightened of it, but just give it a try. Especially right now while Oregano's numbers are high. If her numbers get too low, and you get nervous shooting lower numbers, you can always switch back to SLGS. Some people here have actually gotten their babies regulated on TR, and then switched back to SLGS. If you switch to TR, you would not need to reduce due to today's 67.
I think you are right and it is time. I just need to review TR to make sure I fully understand it.

Side question: I notice you have your fur baby on d-mannose. We have some and am told it helps a great seat with UTI’s. Any issues with it insofar as diabetes goes?
 
I think you are right and it is time. I just need to review TR to make sure I fully understand it.

Side question: I notice you have your fur baby on d-mannose. We have some and am told it helps a great seat with UTI’s. Any issues with it insofar as diabetes goes?
No issues, whatsoever, with diabetes and d-Mannose. Jude has Feline Interstitial Cystitis, and takes d-Mannose for that. Are you certain Oregano has UTIs? Are you asking for a culture to ensure she has bacteria? This is really important as FIC mimics UTIs, but since bacteria is not present, an antibiotic is not necessary. FIC has a different treatment protocol than UTIs.

We are here to help you understand the differences and nuances between the two dosing methods as you move forward.

You're doing an EXCELLENT job caring for Oregano, and your concern for her well-being is stellar. I just think you'll be pleased with the results you see with the switch to TR.
 
So oregano definitely has UTI’s but the last couple bouts of clots and blood passing from her urethra has been FIC, which she has been diagnosed with. It began after she became paralyzed in her back legs as she can’t posture to fully empty her bladder.

She does get frequent UTI’s but we always get a culture to determine which antibiotic (if it turns out to be an infection) she needs.

The vet recommended d-mannose for it (the FIC and the UTI’s but I was concerned as it relates to the diabetes. I’m going to integrate that into her routine starting tomorrow as she is struggling with a flare up of the FIC right now. (2 raccoons got into it outside our bedroom window last night on the deck and it scared her even though she’s tucked in with us, and just that kicked off the stress and blood in the urine.)

I am going to get TR figured out. As I understand it I have to complete this transition to soft food, which isn’t done yet. We are close but she still wants crunchies (and shuns soft food) during snacks.

Thank you for the guidance and kind words. It helps; some of these days are tough.
 
So oregano definitely has UTI’s but the last couple bouts of clots and blood passing from her urethra has been FIC, which she has been diagnosed with. It began after she became paralyzed in her back legs as she can’t posture to fully empty her bladder.

She does get frequent UTI’s but we always get a culture to determine which antibiotic (if it turns out to be an infection) she needs.

The vet recommended d-mannose for it (the FIC and the UTI’s but I was concerned as it relates to the diabetes. I’m going to integrate that into her routine starting tomorrow as she is struggling with a flare up of the FIC right now. (2 raccoons got into it outside our bedroom window last night on the deck and it scared her even though she’s tucked in with us, and just that kicked off the stress and blood in the urine.)

I am going to get TR figured out. As I understand it I have to complete this transition to soft food, which isn’t done yet. We are close but she still wants crunchies (and shuns soft food) during snacks.

Thank you for the guidance and kind words. It helps; some of these days are tough.
Yes, treating FIC is its thing. d-Mannose (1/8 tsp daily) + Cornsilk Extract (alcohol free) + Cosequin are three great supplements to add to her diet. All easily tolerated in the food (though Jude is not fond of the Cornsilk Extract). Remember: FIC involves flares which are painful and need to be medicated with pain meds (Buprenorphine is commonly prescribed). Flares can last one to two weeks. Also, most cats need something (ongoing) for anxiety, when they have FIC. Some vets prescribe Prozac. I've been trying to find something more natural than Prozac first (Jude has recently been diagnosed with FIC), and we tried Cystease (glucosamine (same supplement as is in Cosequin) + l-tryptophan + hyaluronic acid), but I think the l-tryptophan made Jude too sleepy (he was so relaxed, he wouldn't get up and eat, which caused his bg to drop). Also, get some Feliway dispensers, if you aren't already using them. The FB groups devoted to Feline Lower Urinary Tract Disorders offer excellent advice.

You're a fantastic cat-daddy, and she's fortunate to have you.
 
Last edited:
Also, Wade, no one is judging any decision you make to treat Oregano. The fact that you are here and trying your best to care for her speaks volumes. If SLGS is what works best for you, then that's perfectly fine. Many people follow that dosing method here. I had Jude on it when he was first diagnosed, and we ended up in remission! You need to make the decisions you feel comfortable with for Oregano, and we support you with those decisions. Please don't let my encouragement to switch to TR come across as anything other than my personal zeal for finding something that worked well for Jude.
 
She’s bouncing right now so let’s see where she ends up when she clears it which can take up to six cycles.

But, under SLGS, a drop below 90 is a reduction.
ok. 6 cycles it is. also adding d-mannose to her diet beginning tomorrow to help with the FIC. thank you for the help--it's tough to see those numbers climb back up, and that 67 was so random it almost felt off. but we are holding 2.75 for now and will watch closely.
 
Yes, treating FIC is its thing. d-Mannose (1/8 tsp daily) + Cornsilk Extract (alcohol free) + Cosequin are three great supplements to add to her diet. All easily tolerated in the food (though Jude is not fond of the Cornsilk Extract). Remember: FIC involves flares which are painful and need to be medicated with pain meds (Buprenorphine is commonly prescribed). Flares can last one to two weeks. Also, most cats need something (ongoing) for anxiety, when they have FIC. Some vets prescribe Prozac. I've been trying to find something more natural than Prozac first (Jude has recently been diagnosed with FIC), and we tried Cystease (glucosamine (same supplement as is in Cosequin) + l-tryptophan + hyaluronic acid), but I think the l-tryptophan made Jude too sleepy (he was so relaxed, he wouldn't get up and eat, which caused his bg to drop). Also, get some Feliway dispensers, if you aren't already using them. The FB groups devoted to Feline Lower Urinary Tract Disorders offer excellent advice.

You're a fantastic cat-daddy, and she's fortunate to have you.
i appreciate the kind words. "cat-daddy" is an interesting one for me--it has always been my wife who loved kitties, and i love my wife, so we have had a couple cats (and around ten or so that come up from wherever out here in the country for food every night) for the bulk of our 28 years of marriage. but this one, sweet little oregano, stole my heart and has become my bestie. she's with me literally all day but for my daily trip to the gym, and her purrs are, as i'm sure you've experienced with Jude, their own reward. i decided to push up my retirement two years early a few weeks after she was diagnosed so i could care for her full-time, which sounds silly to everyone who isn't on this forum. but if you know you know, and i'm blessed to have her. and i'm so grateful for you and everyone on this forum for all the assistance and wisdom. oregano and i would be lost without y'all.

we do have feliway and it has been great. our other kitty has massive anxiety and separation issues from my wife, and used to wander the house howling when she left until she came back. the feliway improved that almost entirely. i heartily recommend it.
 
We need a picture of your Oregano. You may have posted one on the original forum, but any chance you can post one here? I’d like to see your baby.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top