5/27 Jack: 258@amps, 173@+2...dental questions | Feline Diabetes Management Board

5/27 Jack: 258@amps, 173@+2...dental questions

Jack has been having a tough time lately, and it turns out he has at least one occurrence of a FORL (feline oral resorption lesion) and possible more. He will be going for a full dental on Tues., Jun 3. This is a NEW animal hospital for us so I'm taking the vet's advice with a grain of salt (and a hefty margarita for my nerves!) She suggested small amount of food morning of procedure, with 1/2 Jack's normal insulin dose (which at this point would be 4.25u, but I'd probably just give 4) and then based on how he comes out of the anesthesia, either the same protocol as the morning or perhaps a bit more food and maybe 6u of insulin. I know some of you have taken your sugar kitties for dentals, and I was wondering what you did as far as food/insulin. Thanks in advance, and hope all have been well. (Haven't been able to get onto this board due to password issues, but seems resolved now.)
 
Sounds like you have an up to date vet for the dental! Neko's dental specialist allowed her up to 1/3 of her food with cutoff at 6AM, and a half dose of insulin. Which is what I did except for the one time she was flirting with a reduction so I gave her a token dose. Full dose in the PM. But test when he comes home and again for PMPS. One of the older anaesthesia induction drugs lowers BG so you don't want dropping numbers, sore mouth and not wanting to eat and full insulin dose. Neko never had that problem, she could always eat! Some people pick up some all meat baby food for meals right after dental, if they suspect kitty might not feel comfy eating. When he comes home, do give small meals spaced apart. Anaesthesia can mess with the GI system, so start low go slow on the food.
 
Your vet sounds a lot better amd knowledgeable than my (stupid) vet. I know how nerve wracking dentals are and the worst days are the ones leading up to it. I was a mess but surprisingly the day of Nestle's dental is was calm. He was slowly to wake up after the anesthesia which obviously worried me a bit and the evening of was awful with him being all spaced out but we got through and I'm so glad is done and over with (at least for meow). And like Wendy said definitely inquire about the pain meds and antibiotics for after.
Good luck and we're all here for you!
🤗✨💕😍🐾🐈
 
Sounds like you have an up to date vet for the dental! Neko's dental specialist allowed her up to 1/3 of her food with cutoff at 6AM, and a half dose of insulin. Which is what I did except for the one time she was flirting with a reduction so I gave her a token dose. Full dose in the PM. But test when he comes home and again for PMPS. One of the older anaesthesia induction drugs lowers BG so you don't want dropping numbers, sore mouth and not wanting to eat and full insulin dose. Neko never had that problem, she could always eat! Some people pick up some all meat baby food for meals right after dental, if they suspect kitty might not feel comfy eating. When he comes home, do give small meals spaced apart. Anaesthesia can mess with the GI system, so start low go slow on the food.
Thanks Wendy! Curious to know which anesthesia med caused problems, as I have no problem asking prior to surgery which meds will be used. I have a bunch of beef & chicken baby food on hand, for a variety of pet reasons, so that's a good reminder. Thanks again and hope you have been well!
 
One more thing, inquire if they will be giving pain meds and antibiotics for afterwards, and if so, which ones. We might have opinions on the meds.
Yes, I will for sure. I wanted to get a good survey of folks here, then compile a list of questions prior to surgery. He will not be allowed to have Zorbium at all. I hate that stuff, it's awful and causes problems. Last few dentals the pain meds were Onsior for 3 days, and Buprinex for 5 days. I will ask for gabapentin if I feel that combo isn't working but I really don't like gabapentin either, even though I give it to Jack with Buprinex prior to his vet visits. THanks again!!!🤗
 
Your vet sounds a lot better amd knowledgeable than my (stupid) vet. I know how nerve wracking dentals are and the worst days are the ones leading up to it. I was a mess but surprisingly the day of Nestle's dental is was calm. He was slowly to wake up after the anesthesia which obviously worried me a bit and the evening of was awful with him being all spaced out but we got through and I'm so glad is done and over with (at least for meow). And like Wendy said definitely inquire about the pain meds and antibiotics for after.
Good luck and we're all here for you!
🤗✨💕😍🐾🐈
Thanks Karolina, I was reading through your posts about Nestle's dental...glad it's all over and went well!
 
Jack has been having a tough time lately, and it turns out he has at least one occurrence of a FORL (feline oral resorption lesion) and possible more. He will be going for a full dental on Tues., Jun 3. This is a NEW animal hospital for us so I'm taking the vet's advice with a grain of salt (and a hefty margarita for my nerves!) She suggested small amount of food morning of procedure, with 1/2 Jack's normal insulin dose (which at this point would be 4.25u, but I'd probably just give 4) and then based on how he comes out of the anesthesia, either the same protocol as the morning or perhaps a bit more food and maybe 6u of insulin. I know some of you have taken your sugar kitties for dentals, and I was wondering what you did as far as food/insulin. Thanks in advance, and hope all have been well. (Haven't been able to get onto this board due to password issues, but seems resolved now.)
Hi Christine, I’m glad you’ve gotten lots of good advice here for Jack’s dental!
Paws crossed for an easy surgery and recovery for your boy😻

I hope all goes well with the new vet hospital 🙏
Sending lots of love to you and your sweet herd 😻🐈‍⬛🐈❤️
 
Yes, I will for sure. I wanted to get a good survey of folks here, then compile a list of questions prior to surgery. He will not be allowed to have Zorbium at all. I hate that stuff, it's awful and causes problems. Last few dentals the pain meds were Onsior for 3 days, and Buprinex for 5 days. I will ask for gabapentin if I feel that combo isn't working but I really don't like gabapentin either, even though I give it to Jack with Buprinex prior to his vet visits. THanks again!!!🤗
Curious what dose Buprinex and gabapentin you give Jack for vet visits and how does that work?
I’ve never given that Combo. Ivy is a bear and sometimes they can’t do what we’d like to do as she’s too feisty 😈
 
Curious what dose Buprinex and gabapentin you give Jack for vet visits and how does that work?
I’ve never given that Combo. Ivy is a bear and sometimes they can’t do what we’d like to do as she’s too feisty 😈
Jack gets 50 mg of gabapentin the night before and 50 mg 2 hours before appointment. The Buprinex is .2mls 1 hour before appointment. My vet came up with this combo for my GA kitty Mr. Socks (you may remember him), as he was a MONSTER. I think she submitted it to a medical journal for publication because it wasn't something vets normally did, but we were desperate at the time. She told me recently she has heard other vets using the combo now too, for their more, unruly patients ...it's worth discussing with your vet. Jack weighs 22 pounds though, so I'm sure Ms Ivy may need a smaller dose....

It works very well for Jack's attitude, but his aversion to travel is the same. He made a big diarrhea mess on the way to the new clinic, but I'm thinking that may be the clindamycin, so this Tuesday will be a better judge as I;ve since taken him off it. The new place is 2 hours away, so it;s not a good scenario anyway.....
 
Jack gets 50 mg of gabapentin the night before and 50 mg 2 hours before appointment. The Buprinex is .2mls 1 hour before appointment. My vet came up with this combo for my GA kitty Mr. Socks (you may remember him), as he was a MONSTER. I think she submitted it to a medical journal for publication because it wasn't something vets normally did, but we were desperate at the time. She told me recently she has heard other vets using the combo now too, for their more, unruly patients ...it's worth discussing with your vet. Jack weighs 22 pounds though, so I'm sure Ms Ivy may need a smaller dose....

It works very well for Jack's attitude, but his aversion to travel is the same. He made a big diarrhea mess on the way to the new clinic, but I'm thinking that may be the clindamycin, so this Tuesday will be a better judge as I;ve since taken him off it. The new place is 2 hours away, so it;s not a good scenario anyway.....
Interesting. Thanks for that info Christine.
Boy you could use my vet for the distance you are traveling! (I may be closer)
I’m sorry it’s so far!

Poor Jack! I hope he’s feeling much better and making a mess in the car is just more than we need!
Sending you lots of love. You’re such an amazing Mom 😻❤️😻❤️😻❤️
 
Interesting. Thanks for that info Christine.
Boy you could use my vet for the distance you are traveling! (I may be closer)
I’m sorry it’s so far!

Poor Jack! I hope he’s feeling much better and making a mess in the car is just more than we need!
Sending you lots of love. You’re such an amazing Mom 😻❤️😻❤️😻❤️
🥰
 
Back
Top