Dose? - 6/16/25 Jonah. Is it time for a dose increase? | Feline Diabetes Management Board

Dose? 6/16/25 Jonah. Is it time for a dose increase?

He's looking good! All greens and blues. :cool:

With nadirs in the 50s, you don't really have room to increase - although...the Libre reads lower in lower numbers than a regular meter.

Any chance you can get a test with a regular meter when he drops to the 50s on the Libre? If he's comfortably higher with a regular meter, we could see if an increase could help bring down his numbers overall.
 
He's looking good! All greens and blues. :cool:

With nadirs in the 50s, you don't really have room to increase - although...the Libre reads lower in lower numbers than a regular meter.

Any chance you can get a test with a regular meter when he drops to the 50s on the Libre? If he's comfortably higher with a regular meter, we could see if an increase could help bring down his numbers overall.
I can do that, if I'm around for it. Getting hourly readings from the download when I'm away/asleep.

But . . . . I thought that with remission as the goal, we tried to push a little lower? He's only been in the 50s a few times and is often well over 120. I probably just need to re-read everything yet again LOL.
 
But . . . . I thought that with remission as the goal, we tried to push a little lower? He's only been in the 50s a few times and is often well over 120. I probably just need to re-read everything yet again LOL.
The goal is to have him spend as much time in normal numbers as possible. Eventually, to have him in normal numbers throughout. However, we cannot take him/keep him at a dose where he drops below 50. The problem is that he might not be dropping below 50 with a meter but he is on the Libre. We don't know how much of the Libre lows are actual lows and not the Libre reading lower. If that makes sense!

He is flattening out beautifully so you might see some of the higher blues go away soon. Paws crossed.
 
The concern is that with the Libre, as you see numbers below 100, you tend to get inaccurately low readings. We suggest that if you're seeing lower numbers, verify with a hand held meter.
 
So . . . next time I get something pretty low I will check with my Nova meter. Otherwise, what am I looking for? The curve to even out even more? Will I then start REDUCING the dose to see if his pancreas will kick in? What will progress look like on my spreadsheet going forward?
 
When following TR for dosing, with a newly diagnosed cat, and as measured on a human BG meter there are a couple ways to earn that reduction in dose. The first is if he goes under 50. The second is a week in solid green, with his nadirs in the 50-80 range. There is a third way for cats who don't hold reductions well, but we don't know that about Jonah yet, and hopefully never will.
 
The concern is that with the Libre, as you see numbers below 100, you tend to get inaccurately low readings. We suggest that if you're seeing lower numbers, verify with a hand held meter.
Are we sure that is true? Because the interstitial glucose lags behind the BG by some amount of time, according to the Abbott website. I.e., when I got 42 on the Libre and 69 on the Nova Max Plus, it could be just because 15 min ago the BG WOULD have been 42--from the sounds of the explanation/video on the website, it would often happen that the numbers were different.
 
Experience here with people comparing Libre readings when low with hand held meters has show that. I've also seen comments about that in papers. I'm attaching one such, see the summary and clinic care points on page 608. What happens with cats may be different than what happens with humans. Evidence is that the Libre is less accurate in lower numbers and rapidly changing numbers, in cats.
 

Attachments

Back
Top