6/25 Esse AMPS >400, Dose increase? | Feline Diabetes Management Board

6/25 Esse AMPS >400, Dose increase?

Yesterday's thread!

Got a little freaked out last night when I thought we'd have to shoot a high green/low blue preshot, but by the time we got a handheld meter test he was well over 150. I shouldn't have worried anyway because this guy was ready to bounce. Apologies to anyone who caught me quickly editing my title/thread and then removing the edits once I realized we were in the clear.

Here's my question: Today will be our 10th continuous cycle on 1.75u (it's been more than 10 total but we had a FS). We've seen some green action but not a ton. Should we go for an increase tomorrow or give it another couple days?
 
Nice to come back online and see Esse's numbers dropping into nice blues and greens! Also, looks like that first Libre lasted you... how exciting!

Not enough experience here to give advice, but I'm sure you'll get some soon. Good luck with whatever you decide 🤗
 
I'm having difficulty figuring out the Libre vs meter numbers. Did you retest any of yesterday's Libre numbers with the meter? I'm trying to figure out how low this dose is taking Esse on a hand held meter.
 
I'm having difficulty figuring out the Libre vs meter numbers. Did you retest any of yesterday's Libre numbers with the meter? I'm trying to figure out how low this dose is taking Esse on a hand held meter.
Sorry, for now all meter numbers are in the remarks section. Yesterday's meter number was 165 for PMPS, but on the 18th (first day on the new dose) he got down to 65 and 67 on the meter.

Edit: We have TRIED a couple other times to get meter levels when he's in the green on the Libre but now that he's starting to feel better and have more energy, he is not that interested in letting us. It was almost easier when he was sicker, hah.
 
Like Wendy, I'm confused. It looks like yesterday at AM +7 there was a test at 147 then at +7.75 at 67, +8 at 131 then 88 at 8.5, +9 at 91 and +9.75 at 63. I didn't see anything in your comments with meter numbers. Are any of the numbers in the cells from a meter or are they all from the Libre?
 
Sorry for confusing you. When there are multiple numbers in one cell, it's still Libre numbers, I am just noting for myself when the steep drops are. So like technically at AM+7 ON THE LIBRE he was 147, but then at AM+7.75 ON THE LIBRE he was 67. I wanted to note that steep drop and have the color match the lowest he was that hour, so I listed them both.

All meter numbers are in the Remarks section:
1750883339644.png

I had been trying to keep them separate to avoid having each line of my spreadsheet get super long, but clearly it's doing more harm than good. I will reevaluate whether to abandon that plan and just put asterisks or whatever like others do. Sorry!
 
No worries. It's just when we hop from spreadsheet to spreadsheet, it's hard to keep the BG meter notes straight.

So my summary is that he got down to 65 on day 1 of this dose, but one week later the lowest that's been seen is 95? Looks the Libre is consistently reading lower than the BG meter. Given that is correct, I think you have room to increase.
 
Sounds good, we will give it a go tomorrow! Thanks!

It's definitely tough to verify those lower numbers accurately because we have to wrangle him up to the testing location and give him a treat, both of which I think bump him up a bit. We used to be able to test when he was sleeping but he's wised up to that, so it doesn't work as well as it used to. Still grateful it's doable at all of course.
 
Back
Top