Kelly & Vesper
Member
Hi all,
Vesper celebrated her 14th birthday yesterday, and I couldn't feel more grateful for this community. She nearly died in January, and I truly believe this board saved her life.
Now, I'm looking for some dosing advice. I have posted about this previously, but we are leaving on Friday on a 10 day trip, and I'm pretty nervous to be gone that long. We have hired multiple catsitters so that hopefully they can team up and get Vesper her insulin shots, but they will not be able to test her glucose at all for the 10 days we are gone. We are unable to do a CGM/libre and cannot take her on this trip, so we have to try to make this work.
That said, her current dosage is too high for a petsitter, as her nadirs are quite low (today was 48). Can someone let me know what dosage we should have our catsitter give her? Vesper will be stressed with us gone and has a DKA history, but she will also probably not be eating as much. She recently went 36h without insulin after a catsitter wasn't able to give her any shots, and her glucose was 214 when we returned. Should we do 1.5? Lower? Also, Fif riday morning is the first dose we will be gone for, when should we start our new dose? Should we start tomorrow and see how she does?
Lastly, thanks to all of you for your suggestions the other day (? - 6/20 Vesper, AMPS 183, +5 90). I called our vet and ordered some chicken chewable gabapentin to try. Unfortunately it won't come for 2 days, so I won't be here to try it, but I'm glad to have it on hand for the catsitter as an option.
Vesper celebrated her 14th birthday yesterday, and I couldn't feel more grateful for this community. She nearly died in January, and I truly believe this board saved her life.
Now, I'm looking for some dosing advice. I have posted about this previously, but we are leaving on Friday on a 10 day trip, and I'm pretty nervous to be gone that long. We have hired multiple catsitters so that hopefully they can team up and get Vesper her insulin shots, but they will not be able to test her glucose at all for the 10 days we are gone. We are unable to do a CGM/libre and cannot take her on this trip, so we have to try to make this work.
That said, her current dosage is too high for a petsitter, as her nadirs are quite low (today was 48). Can someone let me know what dosage we should have our catsitter give her? Vesper will be stressed with us gone and has a DKA history, but she will also probably not be eating as much. She recently went 36h without insulin after a catsitter wasn't able to give her any shots, and her glucose was 214 when we returned. Should we do 1.5? Lower? Also, Fif riday morning is the first dose we will be gone for, when should we start our new dose? Should we start tomorrow and see how she does?
Lastly, thanks to all of you for your suggestions the other day (? - 6/20 Vesper, AMPS 183, +5 90). I called our vet and ordered some chicken chewable gabapentin to try. Unfortunately it won't come for 2 days, so I won't be here to try it, but I'm glad to have it on hand for the catsitter as an option.
Last edited: