7/2 Meathead APMS 397 +1 422 PMPS 472 | Feline Diabetes Management Board

7/2 Meathead APMS 397 +1 422 PMPS 472

daeseage

New member
Good morning! I think this is confirming we need to increase his dose when we meet with the vet next week. 1U is barely budging him downward and he doesn't stay there. I'm still trying to convince my spouse to learn to test - they're on swingshift could check midday and midnight when I can't. If not, hopefully this weekend I can get some more datapoints for a curve.

Meat had a good night, though, and had been MUCH more interested in food and what the rest of us are up to than he was this time last month. And I didn't even have to hold him this morning to give his shot or prick his ears at breakfast!

I was finally able to catch him at the litterbox last night and he does have "trace" ketones. I'm thinking they were probably much higher on Saturday and Sunday before I got the keto strips and glucometer.
 
Hi Lindsey, Welcome to the Lantus forum. Each time we post over here, we also include the link to our previous forum post. This just creates continuity so that if someone needs to look back at what's been happening with Meat, they have ready access to the link. You can link it in your post using the chain-link icon located in the menu or just paste it in your daily message. Here's your previous post's link: Hello! Newly diabetic kitty - food guidance appreciated
 
Also, your question about a dose increase is one that you want to get some feedback on. To get some eyes on your question, if you edit the title of your first post, you'll see a "prefix" option on the left. Select the dropdown box + "dose ?" That way people who can offer dosing advice will see your question and pop in.

I'm glad he's settling into the testing/shooting process! Some cats are much more amenable to it than others--so you're lucky!
 
Hi Lindsey, Welcome to the Lantus forum. Each time we post over here, we also include the link to our previous forum post. This just creates continuity so that if someone needs to look back at what's been happening with Meat, they have ready access to the link. You can link it in your post using the chain-link icon located in the menu or just paste it in your daily message. Here's your previous post's link: Hello! Newly diabetic kitty - food guidance appreciated
Understood. Thanks for linking! I saw that in the instructions but didn't think about linking across subforums.
 
If he's seeing trace ketones, I would definitely increase to 1.25 units. Make sure you add extra water to his food to help flush the ketones and make sure he eats lots. And test daily for ketones.
 
Back
Top