8/12 Noogi - AMPS 131, +2 139, +7 124, PMPS 144, +2 103 - arthritis update | Feline Diabetes Management Board

8/12 Noogi - AMPS 131, +2 139, +7 124, PMPS 144, +2 103 - arthritis update

Helen + Noogi

Active member
Yesterday

Took Noogi to the vet this afternoon and am so glad I did.
When the vet examined him it was clear he was in considerable pain in his lower back/hip area.
I was observing him yesterday and thought he was actually in less discomfort that I noticed on the weekend. Just goes to show how well he is able to hide pain :cry:

The vet is not sure if he has injured himself, or if his mild arthritis has worsened. Time will tell.

For now he has had an anti-inflammatory jab, and I will need to give him more (orally) for the next five days. It's meloxicam, which I know is not used much in the US, but he has had several times before. The other option we considered is gabapentin, but I found this problematic when he had it in May (a 'normal' dose zonked him out completely, and a much reduced dose increased his appetite so much it was problem).

If it turns out it's not going to get better but needs to be managed we'll have to look at our options for ongoing treatment.

There are injectables that help with arthritis. Leroy just got Solensia. Adequan is another one.

Thank you SqueeM - will definitely look into these.

Edited to add: Done some research. Solensia is newly available in South Africa. Not sure if my vet has used it. Adequan is used for horses here, so I will need to check if vets can prescribe it for cats.
 
Last edited:
Aw, poor Noogi!! I hope he begins feeling better soon. And I hope you can find something to help, long term. Is it also worth considering a supplement like Glucosamine/Chondroitin?
 
Aw, poor Noogi!! I hope he begins feeling better soon. And I hope you can find something to help, long term. Is it also worth considering a supplement like Glucosamine/Chondroitin?
Thanks. He's already perked up!

And yes, he is already on a joint supplement with glucosamine, omega 3 and other ingredients. We're carrying on with it. But as the vet said a supplement can only do so much.
 
Yesterday

Took Noogi to the vet this afternoon and am so glad I did.
When the vet examined him it was clear he was in considerable pain in his lower back/hip area.
I was observing him yesterday and thought he was actually in less discomfort that I noticed on the weekend. Just goes to show how well he is able to hide pain :cry:

The vet is not sure if he has injured himself, or if his mild arthritis has worsened. Time will tell.

For now he has had an anti-inflammatory jab, and I will need to give him more (orally) for the next five days. It's meloxicam, which I know is not used much in the US, but he has had several times before. The other option we considered is gabapentin, but I found this problematic when he had it in May (a 'normal' dose zonked him out completely, and a much reduced dose increased his appetite so much it was problem).

If it turns out it's not going to get better but needs to be managed we'll have to look at our options for ongoing treatment.



Thank you SqueeM - will definitely look into these.

Edited to add: Done some research. Solensia is newly available in South Africa. Not sure if my vet has used it. Adequan is used for horses here, so I will need to check if vets can prescribe it for cats.
Oh sweet Noogi. It’s good you had him looked at by the vet, Helen.
Your instincts are spot on ❤️‍🩹
I hope the meds will make him feel much better.
Adequan seems to be used here pretty commonly.
It will be interesting to see what is available there.
Sending Noogi healing vines and best wishes 🍀🍃🍀🍃🍀🍃🍀🍃❤️‍🩹😻💖💕
 
Is Cartrophen available in SA? It's what was used to be used in Canada before Solensia came around, and is still somewhat. Like Adequan, used originally for horses then dogs, then off label for cats. I've used it in three cats. The nice thing about Cartrophen is my vet let me do the injections, so no vet visit. Solensia has a big warning about only being done at the clinic.

Other supplements are MSM for pain relief, I also used hyaluronic acid (brand Hyaflex) and Duralactin. Vet acupuncture really helped too. Seems ECID on cats of what works best. Neko also got buprenorphine for pain relief. Due to her acromegaly, she had all sorts of bony growths on her spine.
 
Oh Noogs!! Poor guy 😔 Glad you went with your instinct and got him checked out, you’ll sooner find a solution now that you know the issue. Sounds like a lot of great suggestions and advice from the group here! Hope you two find something that works and that his pain subsides soon. Glad it’s already starting to perk up at least.
Sending all the healing vines and positive thoughts 🖤🍃
 
Is Cartrophen available in SA? It's what was used to be used in Canada before Solensia came around, and is still somewhat. Like Adequan, used originally for horses then dogs, then off label for cats. I've used it in three cats. The nice thing about Cartrophen is my vet let me do the injections, so no vet visit. Solensia has a big warning about only being done at the clinic.

Other supplements are MSM for pain relief, I also used hyaluronic acid (brand Hyaflex) and Duralactin. Vet acupuncture really helped too. Seems ECID on cats of what works best. Neko also got buprenorphine for pain relief. Due to her acromegaly, she had all sorts of bony growths on her spine.
Thank you for the info and advice Wendy.
Looks like Cartrophen is available here. Will be discussing options with vet.
 
Oh Noogs!! Poor guy 😔 Glad you went with your instinct and got him checked out, you’ll sooner find a solution now that you know the issue. Sounds like a lot of great suggestions and advice from the group here! Hope you two find something that works and that his pain subsides soon. Glad it’s already starting to perk up at least.
Sending all the healing vines and positive thoughts 🖤🍃
Thanks Briana ❤️
 
Back
Top