Corky - High BG - Looking for advice

Administrator

 
Staff member
Hi all,

Corky's caregiver sent me a PM looking for some help. See message below.

"I’m a member from FDF, I need someone to assist me in ProZinc dosing my Corky, after being on a stabilized BG conditions in the greens, all of the sudden he’s BG has raised to the most unusual high blues, nothing has changed in his routines, no Ketones are present, I have conversing with Suzanne on PM MESSAGES, however, we increased the dose to 0.25u for 1 day while I got a new ProZinc vial, believing it was a corrupted vial, however, nothing has changed, I am thinking of increasing again to 2.0, Corky has lab work next Wednesday, but in the meantime I am going insane seeing these unusual high blues with no reasons, if you can find me some advice by PMPS that is 6:00 PM (ET) would be very welcomed 😩 😸 😸 ;)"

@Corky
Corky's Spreadsheet

Thank you.

- Tim
 
Hi all,

Corky's caregiver sent me a PM looking for some help. See message below.

"I’m a member from FDF, I need someone to assist me in ProZinc dosing my Corky, after being on a stabilized BG conditions in the greens, all of the sudden he’s BG has raised to the most unusual high blues, nothing has changed in his routines, no Ketones are present, I have conversing with Suzanne on PM MESSAGES, however, we increased the dose to 0.25u for 1 day while I got a new ProZinc vial, believing it was a corrupted vial, however, nothing has changed, I am thinking of increasing again to 2.0, Corky has lab work next Wednesday, but in the meantime I am going insane seeing these unusual high blues with no reasons, if you can find me some advice by PMPS that is 6:00 PM (ET) would be very welcomed 😩 😸 😸 ;)"

@Corky
Corky's Spreadsheet

Thank you.

- Tim
Maria needs to post in the PZ or Main Health forum like she did on FDMB. There’s no reason why she can’t.

Thanks, Tim.
 
Maria --

Is there a possibility that Corky may need a dental? Any sort of inflammation like gingivitis can cause an increase in numbers. It's one of the most frequent causes for a cat that's in remission to start showing diabetic numbers again.
 
Maria --

Is there a possibility that Corky may need a dental? Any sort of inflammation like gingivitis can cause an increase in numbers. It's one of the most frequent causes for a cat that's in remission to start showing diabetic numbers again.
the vet 3 weeks ago when he went for his rabies shot ( mandatory were I live) said he needed a cleaning, he examined the gums all teeth and said just a cleaning, Suzanne and I'm are in awe to see this sudden change, nothing has changed in his routine, he has lab work on the 28th he was under too much stress when he was in the Lobby waiting to X-large Poodles were barking at each other nonstop and his BG went up to 190 while at the office, so the vet decided that he did not want to draw blood under his stress to avoid getting irregular results, so when we go this time er are just walking right in draw blood and go, Sienne I am a mess, seeing his SS this way, and I know he is not comfortable with these numbers at all, I test strip for Ketone, it is neutral, he's never had Ketones, II always clean my house on Sundays, and I have done everything except Vacuum, because the noise of it stresses him out and his BG raises, I am taking all the precaution possible, the last time he was in the high high 100's was the beginning of 2024 , his AMPS was 186, every time I test him I cry, yet last test , yesterday @ 10pm was 95😿😿
 
Usually when a vet says that your cat's teeth need to be cleaned, it's because of plaque having built up. The plaque causes inflammation (e.g., gingivitis). Given the recommendation, Corky's teeth may be contributing to higher numbers.

"Stress" also causes a rise in numbers. From the standpoint of physiology, stress is the easy way of saying that environmental or physical factors are causing stress hormones (corticosteroids) to be released. If the vacuum cleaner is a big scary monster, Corky will go into panic mode and numbers will rise, as you noted.

One other thought... Is there a chance that the formulation of what you feed Corky changed? Pet food manufacturers are notorious for changing the recipe of their food. They only way we have of knowing is when a member here notices a change in their cat's numbers and raises a question.

Also, as a matter of perspective, it's not like Corky's numbers are terrible. They are a bit higher than what you've been used to but there are members who would be delighted if their cat's spreadsheet looked like Corky's.
 
Thank you for you kind words yes he has plaque, and no stress has a reason for high BGs I haven’t seen that used my broom to remove hair from my living room area rug not to turn on the vacuum, tge house is always quiet since is just me or the 2 usual neighbors that might pop in and Corky loves them, I called Chewy and manufacturers, and their ingredients on tge food he eats have not changed, believe me I have been to the moon and back to find an answer, even starting a new insulin vial, I had opened the previous on the 14th, then when I started to see so many blues, I checked the vial it looks very cloudy in the bottom, so we thought that was it, but no, and we increased 0.25u and still nothing, he pees quite well poops well eats well, I’m the one that’s going to need a Xanax to get better, ;) 😢😸😸
 
Back
Top