From the sticky: TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOL:
"General" Guidelines:
con·sec·u·tive: adj. following one another in uninterrupted succession or order.
Because of the cumulative nature of Lantus, glargine biosimilars (Basaglar/Semglee) and Levemir... stalling, shooting a reduced dose, shooting a BCS dose, skipping a shot, and fur shots can alter the effect on the insulin/depot on any given dose. If you have to do any of these things, the cycle count starts over. If you don't start over, you run the risk of kitty becoming over dose.
EDITED TO ADD:
Most who are reading this today probably are not aware that the Tight Regulation Protocol is an accelerated method of reaching regulation.
I can't emphasize the word "accelerated" enough. Please don't try to move at warp speed in an effort to reach regulation. All you'll end up doing is adding more time and higher doses of insulin to achieve regulation. Give the insulin time to "work" and give your kitty's body time to adjust to each change.
On a side note...
The Start Low, Go Slow Method calls for holding each dose for a week or more. Please review the guidelines in the SLGS Sticky.
Sources:
Jill & Alex (GA). “Reminder: Counting Cycles.” Feline Diabetes Message Board, 26 Aug. 2011, https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/reminder-counting-cycles.50880/
"General" Guidelines:
- Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
- Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
- Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
- After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
- After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

con·sec·u·tive: adj. following one another in uninterrupted succession or order.
Because of the cumulative nature of Lantus, glargine biosimilars (Basaglar/Semglee) and Levemir... stalling, shooting a reduced dose, shooting a BCS dose, skipping a shot, and fur shots can alter the effect on the insulin/depot on any given dose. If you have to do any of these things, the cycle count starts over. If you don't start over, you run the risk of kitty becoming over dose.
EDITED TO ADD:
Most who are reading this today probably are not aware that the Tight Regulation Protocol is an accelerated method of reaching regulation.
I can't emphasize the word "accelerated" enough. Please don't try to move at warp speed in an effort to reach regulation. All you'll end up doing is adding more time and higher doses of insulin to achieve regulation. Give the insulin time to "work" and give your kitty's body time to adjust to each change.
On a side note...
The Start Low, Go Slow Method calls for holding each dose for a week or more. Please review the guidelines in the SLGS Sticky.
Sources:
Jill & Alex (GA). “Reminder: Counting Cycles.” Feline Diabetes Message Board, 26 Aug. 2011, https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/reminder-counting-cycles.50880/