Earning Reductions & OTJ Trials (LLB) | Feline Diabetes Management Board

Earning Reductions & OTJ Trials (LLB)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Administrator

 
Staff member
There seems to be a lot of misinformation floating around lately about guidelines for *earning* reductions as well as numbers to look for prior to starting an OTJ trial.

Hope this helps put everyone back on the same page...


REDUCTIONS:

Newly diagnosed diabetics
- less than one year since diagnosis
  • reduction *earned* after a single drop below 50 mg/dL and following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* after 3 drops between 40 - 50 mg/dL on three separate days for kitties who have shown they do not hold reductions well and following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week and following TR.
  • reduction *earned* after a single drop below 90 mg/dL for those following SLGS
Long term diabetics - more than one year since diagnosis
  • reduction *earned* after a single drop below 40 mg/dL for those following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* after 3 drops between 40 - 50 mg/dL on three separate days for kitties who have shown they do not hold reductions well and following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week and following TR.
  • reduction *earned* after a single drop below 90 mg/dL for those following SLGS.
We highly suggest taking a reduction any time any kitty drops into the 30s or below. There are very few exceptions given for caregivers following TR who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.


OTJ TRIALS:

Prior to starting an OTJ trial, one wants to see kitty mostly in the range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL), but under 100 overall... with only occasional readings in the 100 - 120 range.

Remission is achieved when kitty can go 14 days without insulin while maintaining normal blood glucose values under 100 overall. Most will stay in the 50 - 80mg/dL range. Although, some will occasionally experience BG numbers up to 120 mg/dL.

Sources:
Jill & Alex (GA). “Reminder: Earning Reductions and Starting OTJ Trials.” Feline Diabetes Message Board, 30 Dec. 2015,
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/reminder-earning-reductions-and-starting-otj-trials.150160/
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top