Sticky How to Use the Spreadsheet

Sticky
Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

 
Moderator
A very important tool to help you and your kitty in its journey and also to help us help you is the Spreadsheet (SS). If you have not yet done a SS, please refer to these important instructions on how to make a SS for your kitty and link it in your signature block.

It’s important to note we have four spreadsheet templates
  • US Spreadsheet (SS) for any human meter which reports the BG in the mg/dL format. This SS is for any human meters which report the BG in mg/dL format regardless of whether the member is located inside or outside the US.
  • US SS for any pet meter. This SS is for any pet meter which reports the BG in the mg/dL format regardless of whether the member is located inside or outside the US.
  • World/US SS for any human meter which reports the BG in the mmol/L format. Most members with meters using mmol/L format reside outside of the US. The World SS converts mmol/L BGs and records them on the accompanying US SS in mg/dL
  • World/US SS for any pet meter which reports the BG in the mmol/L format. Most members with meters using mmol/L format reside outside of the US. The World SS converts mmol/L BGs and records them on the accompanying US SS in mg/dL.
At the top of the SSs are four tan text boxes for “Diagnosed”, “Current Insulin”, “Dosing Method”, and “Meter”. Please insert the information for your cat inside the tan boxes. Do not delete the titles in the boxes; just put the cursor after the title, space, and type the info.

Each spreadsheet template has colored headings at the top which are the ranges of glucose values. These differ, somewhat, based on whether a human or pet meter is being used.

Please note the dark green and bright green values relate to BG reduction numbers for using the Lantus/Levemir Tight Regulation Protocol or the modified Prozinc (PZ) method. If you are using the Start Low Go Slow method of regulation for any insulin (Lantus, Levemir, PZ, Vetsulin, Caninsulin, Normalin/Humulin), the reduction point for all meters is below 90.

The tabs at the bottom of the SS typically state “Sheet 1”, “Labs”, and “Template”. World/US SSs do not have template tabs due to the advanced formatting necessary to convert mmol/L to mg/dL.
  • Please rename the “Sheet 1” tab by clicking on the dropdown arrow on the right side, select “rename”, and enter the current year.
  • For World/US SSs, each can be renamed by clicking on the dropdown arrow next to them It is important to change the World SS name first by renaming from “World mmol/L” to “xxxx World” where xxxx is the current year. After changing the World tab name, similarly change the “US mg/dL” to “xxxx US” where “xxxx” is the current year.
  • The Lab tab is to enter any bloodwork results from your vet; please be sure the ranges are correct for the lab used by your vet.
  • The Template tab is used at the end of each year to make a SS for the next year. To do this, click on the dropdown arrow on the right side of this tab, click “duplicate”, and a new tab will appear which will state “Copy of Template”. Rename it as above with the next year.
  • If you accidentally create extra tabs that are not needed, click on the dropdown arrow on the right side of that tab, click “delete”.
General Information Applicable to all Spreadsheets (please scroll down for very important info pertinent only to World/US SSs)

Basic Recording

Each day is a separate row and is comprised of two cycles: A.M. and P.M. The “AMPS” is the “A.M. Preshot” and the “PMPS” is the “P.M. Preshot”.

Each column stores different data for the day. The “U” column is for the amount in units of the insulin shot (e.g 1u, 2.25u, etc).

From left to right in each row, enter:
  • the Date in the first column
  • the AMPS test in the 2nd column
  • the Units given; if no insulin is given, record “NS” in the “U” column
The “U” column is followed by 11 columns within that cycle labeled +1 through +11. All tests are counted from the time of the shot. For example, if a test is one hour after the shot, the BG is recorded in the “+1” column, five hours after the shot, the BG is entered in the “+5” column, 10 hours after the shot, the BG is entered in the “+10” column.

Halfway across the page is the column for PMPS (which corresponds to +12 if shots are given every 12 hours). To the right is another column for Units given at the evening shot. There is a second set of columns labeled +1 through +11 following the “U” column. Enter the tests in the corresponding column based on the number of hours since the P.M. shot.

Sometimes, testing will occur at times other than whole hours from the shot. In this case, time is divided into 15 min increments recorded in quarters (round up or down to the nearest quarter so two hours and the minutes would be recorded the same as two hours and 15 minutes):
  • a test taken two hours and 15 minutes after the shot is recorded as +2.25
  • a test taken two hours and 30 minutes after the shot is recorded as +2.5
  • a test taken two hours and 45 minutes after the shot is recorded as +2.75
More Advanced Recording

Sometimes it is necessary to stall at PS if the BG is too low to shoot and tests are taken every 20-30 minutes apart and must be recorded. The BGs are then “stacked” as shown below and, in this case, recorded in the +11 column so the PMPS, which was at +14 can be recorded in the PMPS column:

IMG_0143.png
The above tells anyone looking at the SS that testing for PMPS began at +11.75 but the BG was too low; subsequent testing every 15 minutes occurred until the Caregiver felt the BG was safe enough to shoot at +14.

Additional testing might also occur during the cycle and should be recorded as shown below:
IMG_0144.png
In the example above, the first test of 103 was taken at +2 followed by another test (57) at +2.5. Two tests were taken from +3 to +4 and are recorded in the +3 column. Two tests were taken from +4 to +5 and are recorded in the +4 column; two tests were taken from +5 to +6 and recorded in the +5 column. The last test was taken at +6 and recorded in that column.

It will be necessary to manually color in the cells when recording more than just a whole number in the cell. To do this:
  • record the data in the correct cell (e.g. 185 @ +3.25)
  • select the color from the ranges at the top of the SS which coincides for the test (e.g. 185 would be blue)
  • in the SS toolbar at the top, click on the icon which looks like a pitcher which should also show the text “fill color” when you move the arrow over it
  • next, in the SS toolbar at the top, click on the underscored A to the left of the pitcher; this should show the text “text color” when you move the arrow over it.
World/US Spreadsheet-specific Information
  • Always enter everything (including “Remarks”) on the World SS and it will transfer automatically to the US SS.
  • If info is accidentally entered on the US SS, don’t delete it. Use the back arrow in the SS toolbar to back it out or the conversion formatting will be deleted as well.
  • If any info is entered into the World SS as in the examples above under “Advanced Recording”, it will not auto color on the World SS and it will not convert on the US SS. In this case, you will need to manually enter it into the corresponding US cell and manually color cells on both SSs. Please don’t neglect to do that in the US SS or it makes it more difficult for those helping you if it just has an “error” or “value" message.
  • the US SS tab should always be to the far left so it is the default tab that opens when we click on the FDMB link in the signature block.
  • At the first of each calendar year, it is necessary to start a new set of tabs. As this is complicated, please send me a private message and I will add them for you. An Info post to remind everyone is published every December 1 - January 1.
I am always happy to help anyone who needs SS assistance. Please just send me a private message.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top