Suggestion that TR Dosing Method Language Should be the Same | Feline Diabetes Management Board

Suggestion that TR Dosing Method Language Should be the Same

Mary & Jude

Very active member
@Wendy&Neko @Marje and Gracie @Sienne & Gabby (GA) and @Tim & Pookey

Hi! I have a question/suggestion: Shouldn't the following information about dosing on these stickies read the same? They do contain basically the same info, but the Dosing Method sticky has more information on it (under the "hold the dose for 3-5 days..." bit, which I've highlighted).

I understand that the Counting Cycles sticky has a different focus/audience and that it is a shortened/edited version of the dosing protocol language from the TR sticky (which is clearly linked on the Counting Cycles sticky), but I think dosing methods are extremely important (can sometimes be confusing), and, therefore, should be consistent throughout.

Thanks for your input!

Sticky: Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

Increasing the dose:

  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.


Sticky: Counting Cycles – Reminder (LLB)

Increasing the dose:

  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Back
Top