? 05/20 Nestle ♡ AMPS 77 PMPS 99 Upcoming dental and pain meds?

Good evening,
Late post today but it's been busy over here.
On Sunday night Peanut started straining and peeing blood again. I was able to call the vet (the clinic I brought Peanut to when it first started) and the vet on duty prescribed another round of antibiotic for him. He's been doing pretty good ever since. No more blood. Active, playful, eating, doesn't appear to be in pain. I'm hoping this second round of antibiotic clears this up completely.

As for Nestle, I've decided to go ahead with his dental on Thursday. As much as I hate Dr. Ted I figured if I was to cancel and go somewhere else I'd be paying almost twice as much. As a single income family every penny counts. Plus we've been postponing this for months now and I really just wanna have it done so it doesn't weigh on me anymore.
I was told by the vet office that Dr. Ted only has one other operation scheduled for that morning so Nestle's operation should start around 8:00-8:30 which makes me feel a little bit more on ease.

I do have a question in regards to his insulin though. Assuming that he goes in at 8 and the dentall ends at 9:00-9:30, and he usually gets his insulin at 10:30AM, would it be wise and ok to let the office give him his insulin at that time, given that he's awake? Or should I just bite the bullet and skip?
And also, if he gets any teeth pulled out, what is the best pain medication I should ask for? Or what pain med should I avoid/be wary of?
Once again any advice is much appreciated 😻

 
Another option for insulin is a 0.5u dose. 1 unit is a nice even dose for them to give, but there are too many unknowns at this point. If he has extractions, will he feel like eating? If he feels some pain even if not extractions, will he want to eat. What type of anaesthesia drugs is he going to get and will those interfere with his interest in food. Will he eat at the vets? Will the vet give the insulin on time? If the dental is delayed for any reason (emergency, more work than they originally estimate) then timing might not work. What happens to your schedule if they give it at 11:30 instead of 10:30? I think I'd go with either 0.5 units or skip. If he doesn't want to eat much, 0.5 units is still OK and safe. Nestle is doing so well, that I think he'll recover quickly from a skip or reduced dose.

Buprenorphine is my preferred drug of choice for pain relief. Ideally they'd give him a shot while there, and give you some to give at home. Gabapentin seems to be more in vogue lately, but there are some side effects. A hard NO on Tramadol. Another one they might give is Onsior, but it can only be given for 3 days and giving it for dentals is out of it's list of recommended uses.

Another thing you didn't ask about was antibiotic, which they might suggest if extractions and/or infection seen. Clindamycin is the typical drug for oral or dentals. But it is a strong drug and you should make sure you have a good probiotic or he'll likely get an upset tummy. I know this from personal experience!

Good luck with the dental.

Why is it that if you have two cats, they both need care at the same time? :rolleyes:
 
You're welcome - I know how stressful dentals can be! A tip for when he gets home afterwards. Feed only small meals, spaced 20-30 minutes apart. The anaesthesia can play with his Gi system and you don't want him to vomit. Test him when you get him home, and again at PMPS. One of the older anaesthesia induction drugs can lower BG and you don't want a situation with that happening, him not wanting to eat, and full dose on board. Seen that happen on FDMB. Yikes! Fortunately that type of drug is not as common in Canada and the newer drug tends not to play with the BG. But still good to know if he's on his way down or up and his appetite before deciding the PM dose.

More on pain drugs. There are lots of people here who have given gabapentin successfully. I did a trial of it for Neko and didn't like how sleepy it made her. Buprenorphine is oral so easier to give if a sore mouth, but you put it against their cheek or under the tongue, not for swallowing. Gaba is usually a pill but can be compounded so easier to give if sore mouth.

Clindamycin comes in oral (Antirobe) or pill form. The liquid is quite bitter tasting, so be ready for foam face. A Churu chaser might be required.
 
We got this probiotic from the vet. But I remember someone posted another one for me (from amazon) but I cannot find that post now nor can I remeber who posted it.
If that person is reading this could you post it again please. Or if anyone else has a probiotic that's good please let me know.


1000099292.jpg
 
Fortiflora is not a good probiotic - good as a flavour enhancer though. It only has one strain of probiotic. Lots of other good choices with human probiotics. RenewLife is one. My vet recommended Natural Factors which I gave Neko. Some words from the IBDKitties website page on probiotics:
The important things to consider are the number of colony forming units (CFU) (an adult cat dose of a human probiotic is between 2.5 billion CFU and 20–40 billion CFU daily, depending on whether use is maintenance or therapeutic. For kittens, use half the adult dose). The most proven bacterial probiotic strains in humans are L. acidophilus, L. rhamnosus (which colonize the intestines), and several strains of Bifidobacterium (which colonizes the colon). L. acidophilus is one of the few strains also studied in cats, and it did show significant benefit (35). So consider the mix of strains, bearing in mind that more isn’t always better, and be mindful of the “other” ingredients.
Note, probiotics and antibiotics should be given a couple hours apart.
 
S. boulardii is good for diarrhea, but Clindamycin (at least for me or Neko), didn't cause diarrhea but rather tummy upset. No harm giving both though. In Canada, Florastor is a common brand of s, boulardii.
 
Wishing good luck to you today Karolina! I'm sorry Peanut is poorly again - hopefully the second round of antibiotics does the trick. And very much hoping Nestle's dental procedure goes smoothly and Dr Ted does right by you both.

Noogi's dental was also mean to be today, but delayed due to is recent bout of p'titis. So very much following how you managed it all and how Nestle's recovery.
 
Good evening,
Late post today but it's been busy over here.
On Sunday night Peanut started straining and peeing blood again. I was able to call the vet (the clinic I brought Peanut to when it first started) and the vet on duty prescribed another round of antibiotic for him. He's been doing pretty good ever since. No more blood. Active, playful, eating, doesn't appear to be in pain. I'm hoping this second round of antibiotic clears this up completely.

As for Nestle, I've decided to go ahead with his dental on Thursday. As much as I hate Dr. Ted I figured if I was to cancel and go somewhere else I'd be paying almost twice as much. As a single income family every penny counts. Plus we've been postponing this for months now and I really just wanna have it done so it doesn't weigh on me anymore.
I was told by the vet office that Dr. Ted only has one other operation scheduled for that morning so Nestle's operation should start around 8:00-8:30 which makes me feel a little bit more on ease.

I do have a question in regards to his insulin though. Assuming that he goes in at 8 and the dentall ends at 9:00-9:30, and he usually gets his insulin at 10:30AM, would it be wise and ok to let the office give him his insulin at that time, given that he's awake? Or should I just bite the bullet and skip?
And also, if he gets any teeth pulled out, what is the best pain medication I should ask for? Or what pain med should I avoid/be wary of?
Once again any advice is much appreciated 😻
Wishing you and Nestle all the best tomorrow, Karolina!! We will be sending Nestle lots of good wishes and easy recovery vines 🥰🐈

Wendy has of course guided you so well to prepare for tomorrow ❤️‍🩹

And sending you lots of hugs for mama strength! 🫂
Hugs to you and the boys and so glad Peanut is already feeling better ❤️‍🩹🐈❤️‍🩹
 
❤️🤗
I'll be thinking of you and Nestle and sending all my healing vines! To Peanut as well!

I absolutely do not recommend Zorbium (transdermal bupe that last 4 days), there is no undo option except narcan if something goes wrong. I will note "do not use" in my charts to the end of my days. It was awful and terrifying to watch.

If we hadn't already got Onsior for his leg a month prior, we would have got that and gaba. Someone on FB just used that combo for extractions as well.

Wishing you both an easy procedure and fast recovery!
 
We did oral/transmucosal buprenorphine liquid after our dental/extractions last year. Administering it when he was sleeping was a breeze but he was not keen on having someone sticking the syringe in his sore mouth when he was awake. (Made him pretty loopy, I got some pretty funny pictures.) In hindsight I wish we had done a preemptive antibiotic, as he did get an infection that required follow-up treatment, but none was offered and we didn't know to ask. Our vet has already told us that for this year's she'll definitely give one as a precaution.
 
Back
Top