LisDiedrich
Member
Hello! My name is Lis & my cat’s name is Dexter. We live in USA. I made a post on the fb group last night & was referred here. Apologies for the long post but I really need help/advice as I’ve been trying to listen to/trust the vet. I initially took him in for constipation last month and the vet told me he is diabetic. Diagnosed 5/6. His ketones at diagnosis were 6.5 and they did a fructosamine. No dka. She prescribed hill science w/d wet food but he wouldn’t eat it. He is now on fancy feast pate mostly beef & chicken. His constipation is gone. We initially started on 2U Prozinc 2x a day. I know now that was a high starting dose. Eventually we got down to 1/2 a unit as needed. She was having me skip the dose if he was 250 or under bc 1/2 unit was sending him low (he hit 40 on the libre while I was sleeping) from pmps 425 on 6/13. Then she told me to skip insulin for a few days to see how he did. 250 was the lowest he got last weekend with no insulin. She then suggested we test his ketones again and try bexacat. She said to be a candidate his ketones would have to be lower than 3.5 and he tested at .4 so he had his first pill on Monday night. (Comments on the fb post say he was not a candidate for bexacat bc he had insulin) It ended up doing the exact same thing a 1/2 unit did. He was at 450 (stress from vet) when I gave him the pill and i woke up & he was reading LO (in the red below 50) but acting normal. I was told the libre runs low. (I have not home tested yet to see the difference in a strip vs the libre but I just got a keto mojo). After I got him up from the red with honey & food he literally the best 18 hours he’s had surfing in target range the whole time. The vet told me to discontinue use of bexacat bc he was not supposed to drop that sharply. She told me to come in for another ketone test and we’d talk about a new plan. He tested .8 for ketones on Wednesday (6/18/25) after he was .4 on Monday (6/16/25) but she didn’t seem too concerned about that. I am waiting to hear results of a liver & kidney blood test but she had said his values were fine on initial diagnosis. The thing is she does not have a plan moving forward. She said she felt like she was getting a crash course in diabetes and even told me to post on the internet group. I am so overwhelmed. I feel like they are playing with my cats life. He is 14 and has never had any other health issues. Monday was his first pill of bexacat and the last medication he’s had because I don’t know what to do. His last dose of insulin was 6/13 evening. Chris from the fb group & here was kind enough to help me set up a spreadsheet so I will attach that. The numbers filled in are from 6/10 are current to this morning. Any advice/a plan would be appreciated. Thank you so much. This is my baby!!!
Dex spreadsheet

Last edited: