? 5/10 - PHOEBE - getting more under control - vacation dosing in works

Chances are Phoebe's numbers are going to head up a bit since she's past nadir. I'd get a test soon to make sure that's the case.

I'm not sure I understand why you lowered her dose. She wasn't in reduction territory.
 
Chances are Phoebe's numbers are going to head up a bit since she's past nadir. I'd get a test soon to make sure that's the case.

I'm not sure I understand why you lowered her dose. She wasn't in reduction territory.
I am leaving for 5 days for vacation. I am working with Bhooma on getting a dose that is safe for my absence. my sitter will give insulin, but does not do sugars. Phoebe is on lo carb and since I stopped her YA zero mature, she has been steadily dropping. I am trying to avoid the hypoglycemia. The sitter doesn't stay all day. It's hard to know the safest way to do this.
 
Take a look at Gabby's spreadsheet. She would not allow anyone except me to test her so my cat sitter, who was wonderful, was shooting blind. She also came by twice a day to feed my kitties and shoot. She wasn't there all day either. I dropped the dose. If Phoebe's numbers are changing, you may want to drop the dose back further.

I'd also suggest leaving a sample syringe. Use a colored liquid and set it up as a sample of the dose. We've had sitters make mistakes and having a sample syringe and even a photo you can email to your sitter with a close-up of the syringe with dose will help to avoid a mistake.
 
just did a sugar. +10.25 = 106. she seems to be surfing at this time. I agree with more dose adjustment.
I have shown my sitter the syringe, colored water, drawing it up. only giving full units so she doesn't get confused. She gets very anxious. She doesn't do email and she barely does text messaging. I draw up all insulin and put them in fridge. I am forced to keep it simple and stress free for her. she does an amazing job with all 5 of my cats. I feel better when she is not stressing over insulin dosing and draw ups.

How much did you drop your dose when absent?

The first time Phoebe became diabetic I didn't go anywhere till I had her surfing and on a good dose. -- this time is different it seems
 
Looking back at Gabby's spreadsheet, it seems that I dropped her dose either by 0.25 or 0.5u. It largely depended on how long I was going to be gone and how her numbers were trending.
 
Sorry. I got involved with some catch up for work. Holding the dose at 3u sounds good.
I wasn't sure so I gave the 2.75. I am going to test her up to +6 tonight to see where she goes. I am thinking If she goes up too much then 3 units may be the dose for vacation for the next 5 days. If she stays relatively in the low 100's then that may be the dose? I tested her at +1 and she was 124. What are your thoughts? Am I way off base?
 
The numbers you were seeing today were still the effects of the 3.25U depot. The depot takes 4-6 cycles to adjust after a reduction. Nadirs can and do move around and can be later in bounce clearing cycles. Some cats nadir at the end of the cycle and Phoebe seems to do that. Such CGs get used to shooting low knowing that numbers will probably head up from the PS. If you take a look at the last few cycles with lower preshots (including the 91 yesterday), those were the end of cycle nadirs and she went up from there.

Since you could monitor tonight and she was flat from +9, you could have shot the full 3U. :-)

Let's see what she does at 3U tomorrow and whether that can be your vacation dose or whether you need to lower it further.
 
Back
Top