5/11 Petey AMPS 71 +20min 67 +15min 76 +30min 87 +2.5 105 +3.5 78 +4 74 + 4.5 78 +5 63 +6 92

He's at 76 but that's a food bump. Will test at 6:30 EST that's only 30min late.
Hi Laurie, I see an 87 on your SS.
Did you shoot?
Can you monitor? Do you have higher carbs and honey or Karo syrup if you need it?

He does look like he’s going up.
Technically, it looks like you could shoot because he’s above 68 on the AT.
What’s going on now?
 
I just saw that was a food bump for the higher number.
Is he carb sensitive? Does he get a bump from what you feed normally or fed today?

typically, when I feed Ivy her regular 6% carb breakfast, she doesn’t get a bump, so that’s why I’m asking.
 
I just saw that was a food bump for the higher number.
Is he carb sensitive? Does he get a bump from what you feed normally or fed today?

typically, when I feed Ivy her regular 6% carb breakfast, she doesn’t get a bump, so that’s why I’m asking.
Hi Staci! He has not been carb sensitive, so considering he ate a lot and still under 100 I shot 1.75u. Didn't know what to do so went with my gut.

He's been getting 33% kibble in the limes and all it is doing is holding him.
 
Hi Staci! He has not been carb sensitive, so considering he ate a lot and still under 100 I shot 1.75u. Didn't know what to do so went with my gut.

He's been getting 33% kibble in the limes and all it is doing is holding him.
Got you. So now he will probably go up later in the cycle from a reduced dose. So sometimes we just have to trust our gut.
He will be fine in the long run 😘

I understand about not being carb sensitive. Same with Ivy. Sometimes when she is in a low cycle, I feel like I’m just fighting the insulin with carbs. The highest I have is 25% and sometimes it feels like it’s doing nothing every 20 to 25 minutes. 😭
And that’s always overnight when she likes to have those cycles 😭

I hope you have a calm day and Petey continues to feel better.
Happy Mother’s Day! You’re such a great Mom to your sweet babies 🥰😻
 
Got you. So now he will probably go up later in the cycle from a reduced dose. So sometimes we just have to trust our gut.
He will be fine in the long run 😘

I understand about not being carb sensitive. Same with Ivy. Sometimes when she is in a low cycle, I feel like I’m just fighting the insulin with carbs. The highest I have is 25% and sometimes it feels like it’s doing nothing every 20 to 25 minutes. 😭
And that’s always overnight when she likes to have those cycles 😭

I hope you have a calm day and Petey continues to feel better.
Happy Mother’s Day! You’re such a great Mom to your sweet babies 🥰😻
Thank you for your help, Staci. Happy Mother’s Day to you as well! Hope Ivy gives you a calm day. 🤗💜

I've been lucky with Pete's overnight cycles (knock on wood)! He either went low or just barely last night. He was 125 at midnight.
 
Please take the reduction! That lime was six cycles on 2.75. Congrats! New dose going forward is 2.5.
Question, you say you're feeding kibble? Is it dry food kibble?
Happy to reduce. May be glad I only gave 1.75u he's still only 105 at +2.5

I only feed soggy dry kibble for limes (and not today). I have not found a HC wet food that is rabbit. Is this ok?
 
Last edited:
Also, @Wendy&Neko had suggested not to take a back to back reduction. I assume you then wait for the depot to stabilize, 4-6 cycles before taking the second reduction?
Correct. We wait for the requisite number of cycles on the reduced dose.
I only feed soggy dry kibble for limes (and not today). I have not found a HC wet food that is rabbit. Is this ok?
The issue with feeding dry for limes is that we don't know how long it takes to raise BG nor how long it stays in the system. Not enough or any research done to my knowledge. Another option would be to give a drop or two of honey/karo/syrup.
Does Petey have food sensitivities and only eats rabbit?
 
Correct. We wait for the requisite number of cycles on the reduced dose.

The issue with feeding dry for limes is that we don't know how long it takes to raise BG nor how long it stays in the system. Not enough or any research done to my knowledge. Another option would be to give a drop or two of honey/karo/syrup.
Does Petey have food sensitivities and only eats rabbit?
Gotcha and yes, and I haven't wanted to complicate things and risk trying something else. I'll search again for something or use the honey.

The nice thing with the dry is I feel like once it kicks in it's keeping him steady longer, rather than having to feed every 15min. But I don't have enough data either.
 
For awhile Cleo was on a food strike and refused any and all proteins except for Rabbit. (That was a fun and expensive time 🤕).
One brand that comes to mind is Instinct Minced Real Rabbit in Gravy and I believe that's MC at 13%. It does contain Guar Gum. Another is Merrick BackCountry Grain Free in Gravy which if I remember correctly, is HC. Again, I would caution anyone to look at the list of ingredients if dealing with any food sensitivities. The gravy is where the Carbs are, and who doesn't love gravy!
Of course there is always the option of a couple of drops of honey/karo/syrup.
 
The higher depot is influencing the first half of this cycle. I suspect that he may be feeling better and the inflammation resolving after the dental. A lot can happen between now and PMPS. Lets see where he is and make a call about the dose.
 
Honey usually raises the BG within 15-20 minutes but may not last longer than an hour or so, ECID. You're at +5 which looking at your SS he should start coasting from here then heading up. How long after the honey did he jump from 61 to 71?
Keep testing every 30 minutes for the time being. I'm around and will keep an eye out on your SS.

PS - You're doing GREAT! Get yourself an HC treat too ;).
 
Honey usually raises the BG within 15-20 minutes but may not last longer than an hour or so, ECID. You're at +5 which looking at your SS he should start coasting from here then heading up. How long after the honey did he jump from 61 to 71?
Keep testing every 30 minutes for the time being. I'm around and will keep an eye out on your SS.

PS - You're doing GREAT! Get yourself an HC treat too ;).
🤣🤣🤣🤪 he's at 80 at +5.5 whew. I think the HC from the previous hour kicked in then the honey just now. Thank you for being here, going to eat some chocolate. Will test in 30.
 
What a wild ride you went on today with Petey!! Amazing job keeping him safe and getting his numbers up. Did not look like it was easy!
Hope you get a response for your PMPS shot - no more limes, please! And really hoping for some sleep for you tonight 😮‍💨
You're a great mom to Petey! And you really showed it today - Happy Mother's Day, Laurie 😸
 
I would shoot the 2.5. I'm thinking he'll bounce from the limes and run a little higher with the reduced dose you shot this morning. That being said, you hold the syringe and if you feel a further one time reduction for the sake of sleep, I've BEEN THERE. No judgement from me. :)
 
I would shoot the 2.5. I'm thinking he'll bounce from the limes and run a little higher with the reduced dose you shot this morning. That being said, you hold the syringe and if you feel a further one time reduction for the sake of sleep, I've BEEN THERE. No judgement from me. :)
Ok I shot 2.25 to play it a little safe. This feels like a different pattern for him. I would have expected yellows today with that reduced shot. You can tell me I told ya so tomorrow 😜 but sleep won't hurt either! 🤗
 
What a wild ride you went on today with Petey!! Amazing job keeping him safe and getting his numbers up. Did not look like it was easy!
Hope you get a response for your PMPS shot - no more limes, please! And really hoping for some sleep for you tonight 😮‍💨
You're a great mom to Petey! And you really showed it today - Happy Mother's Day, Laurie 😸
Thank you 🤗🤗 only someone in the trenches would understand. Hope you had a wonderful Mother's Day! 🌷 🤗 🐱
 
Happy Mother's Day, Laurie! 🌻

Jeez, quite a day you've had with Petey today! Great job keeping him safe, but it looks exhausting. Hope you're able to get some sleep tonight and he surfs some safe numbers overnight!
 
Back
Top