5/12 Binx AMPS 97

Last post

Missed a couple days - it was a busy weekend!

Binx had a bit of a bounce 5/9 - 5/10, but looks like he might be stabilizing (anti-jinx!). I've updated the spreadsheet to hopefully make it make more sense - essentially, I took out all the Libre numbers and only kept the handheld (Freestyle Lite). On the days I wasn't home/able to check manually mid-cycle, I've added a note so everyone knows I was still watching his curve via the Libre (similar to how @Karolina & Nestle marks when she's away at work).

I've decided I want to continue to monitor him and make dosing decisions based on the handheld meter and just use the Libre to understand his trends and monitor him when I have to be at work. It might mean I take less ear pricks, but I will always get a PS and always when I can, a mid-cycle. Ultimately, I'm more used to the handheld numbers and I'm worried that the Libre numbers are too high for me to be comfortable shooting greens (sometimes low 100's on the Libre were under 50 on the handheld 😨).

For anyone that takes a peak, can you let me know if the spreadsheet makes sense? I don't want to make it seem like I'm not following TR properly and if that's how it appears, I'll reconsider the strategy.

Hope everyone had a lovely weekend. Safe surfing today 😸
 
Last edited:
What a (relatively) nice low bounce! So much nicer than the pinks, at least.

I'm sure the choice you've made is what works best for you and Binx and that's all that matters! The discrepancy would make things really confusing and difficult, so I can definitely understand.
 
What a (relatively) nice low bounce! So much nicer than the pinks, at least.

I'm sure the choice you've made is what works best for you and Binx and that's all that matters! The discrepancy would make things really confusing and difficult, so I can definitely understand.
Thanks, Brianna 😊 We'll see how it goes for the next few weeks and hopefully it'll continue working for us!

The pink bounces are definitely dreadful! If it helps, on the Libre he actually was in the low 300's overnight during the bounce, but the handheld stayed in the 100's. I know Xander doesn't allow for ear pricks, but maybe when you see those low 300's you can think "maybe he's lower" - a scary game to play though, I know.
 
Thanks, Brianna 😊 We'll see how it goes for the next few weeks and hopefully it'll continue working for us!

The pink bounces are definitely dreadful! If it helps, on the Libre he actually was in the low 300's overnight during the bounce, but the handheld stayed in the 100's. I know Xander doesn't allow for ear pricks, but maybe when you see those low 300's you can think "maybe he's lower" - a scary game to play though, I know.
Paws crossed that this keeps working for your both! It's so nice when it's not a constant battle.

It's possible! In (seemingly most people's) experience the Libre reads higher than it should on the very high end (and lower on the low end), so I tend to assume he's not quite as high or as low as it says if he's at either extreme.
 
Oh, he's looking good!! Did you know (and I hope I don't sound like I'm mansplaining here--everyone may be aware of what I'm about to tell you--I'm just not a big excel or sheets person, and this was big news to me), that you can insert a note into each cell? I'm wondering if it would be beneficial for you to insert a note with the meter number?
 
Paws crossed that this keeps working for your both! It's so nice when it's not a constant battle.

It's possible! In (seemingly most people's) experience the Libre reads higher than it should on the very high end (and lower on the low end), so I tend to assume he's not quite as high or as low as it says if he's at either extreme.
If only it read properly!! 🤪
 
Oh, he's looking good!! Did you know (and I hope I don't sound like I'm mansplaining here--everyone may be aware of what I'm about to tell you--I'm just not a big excel or sheets person, and this was big news to me), that you can insert a note into each cell? I'm wondering if it would be beneficial for you to insert a note with the meter number?
Thanks, Mary 😄 Not mansplaining at all!! Would you be able to show me what you mean when you say adding a note in the cell? I think I know what you mean but want to be certain. Sorry!

Hope you’re having a nice day with Jude 😊
 
Looking really good, Binx!

The SS seems clear to me but I wonder if there's enough data points on the SS, for those making recommendations or for you to see the bigger picture in one place?
 
Thanks, Mary 😄 Not mansplaining at all!! Would you be able to show me what you mean when you say adding a note in the cell? I think I know what you mean but want to be certain. Sorry!

Hope you’re having a nice day with Jude 😊
Sure! You click on the cell where you want to add a note, right click, and select "insert note."

Update: sorry I didn't read other responses first--what Brianna said :)
 
On desktop you'd right click the cell but on mobile if you long-press the cell it should give you the option! :)
Sure! You click on the cell where you want to add a note, right click, and select "insert note."

Update: sorry I didn't read other responses first--what Brianna said :)
Thank you both!! My mind is blown - I didn't know you could do that.

I'm wondering if it would be beneficial for you to insert a note with the meter number?
Right now all the numbers in the spreadsheet are from the meter, but I wonder if I could do the opposite and add notes of what the Libre is giving. Very interesting thought, Mary!
 
Looking really good, Binx!

The SS seems clear to me but I wonder if there's enough data points on the SS, for those making recommendations or for you to see the bigger picture in one place?
Both really great points. Thanks, Laurie!! I was definitely worried that it looks too sparse and would be harder for others to understand the full picture - but you're also right that unless I'm looking at both the SS AND the Libre data, it's hard to understand right away for me too. Something to consider and play around with for balance.
 
Back
Top