5/12 Egon PMPS 212 AMPS 325 +3.5 409

Last Post

Hi ya'll. I am officially having the gut instinct that Egon's dose is too high... We increased and yet again it stopped our decrease and instead shot us into a red which we haven't had in months. I know its common for cats to bounce but we just are never heading in the right direction these days. Last time we had a flare up in 2022 he was able to go on remission after a max dose of 2u over just a couple months. We are currently at 6 units. Please, I would love to hear if anyone else has experience with this and just to reassure me that Im not crazy, this has been seen before, and we should keep with the increase.....

@Wendy&Neko @Marje and Gracie @Bandit's Mom @Mary & Jude
 
Mady, I'm going to bump this up for you. I'm not able to give dosing advice; I know that one of the other experts you've tagged will weigh in soon with some much needed help. But I do want to say that I can only imagine how frustrating this is for you! You're doing your very best for Egon, and it seems like the insulin just isn't working. Let's hope one of these ladies will have some clear guidance for you soon.
 
Last Post

Hi ya'll. I am officially having the gut instinct that Egon's dose is too high... We increased and yet again it stopped our decrease and instead shot us into a red which we haven't had in months. I know its common for cats to bounce but we just are never heading in the right direction these days. Last time we had a flare up in 2022 he was able to go on remission after a max dose of 2u over just a couple months. We are currently at 6 units. Please, I would love to hear if anyone else has experience with this and just to reassure me that Im not crazy, this has been seen before, and we should keep with the increase.....

@Wendy&Neko @Marje and Gracie @Bandit's Mom @Mary & Jude
Hi Mady, I think I’ve read that people aren’t getting notifications even if they’re tagged. (I’m not positive, but just wanted to let you know in case you don’t hear back).
Maybe post with an update to see if anyone is around or send a direct message letting them know you need some help?
Just a thought!
I hope you get some answers about your dose. Have a safe surf Egon, and have a calm slide down 😻❤️‍🩹
 
You think dose too high, I think bounce from someplace he went last night. Without those before bed tests, we'll never know which it is. Without data to figure out what nadirs he's getting, we cannot determine if the dose is too high or too low. It's either one or the other.

I see you have a comment that he weighs 8.48 lbs. Is that up, down, same as a month ago?

I would love to hear if anyone else has experience with this and just to reassure me that Im not crazy, this has been seen before, and we should keep with the increase.....
Not a personal experience but I have seen kitties here go into remission and go back onto insulin to higher doses than they had the first time on insulin. For a number of those, the reason is a condition causing insulin resistance, specifically acromegaly. When kitties get to 6 units, we suggest that they get their cats tested for both acromegaly (IGF-1 test) and IAA. Both are diagnosed by a blood test send to Michigan State University.Neko had both conditions. Acromegaly is caused by a benign tumour on the pituitary that sends out excess grown hormone, that causes excess IGF-1 to be produced and in turn causes the diabetes. The tumour can wax and wane, hence kitties going in and out of remission. I've also seen a cat (Oberon) who went into remission, then came back later with IAA - insulin auto antibodies, think of then like an allergic reaction to injected insulin. Both the above conditions cause a growing insulin resistance, meaning you need more and more insulin over time. Glucose toxicity does the same - more and more insulin until you hit a breakthrough.

FYI - Marje is out of country, so not responding much.
 
Hi Wendy, ah yes!! You’re right I need to get in the new habit of doing that. I just get into the evening routine and don’t remember.
I am having to poke egon like 6 times every time I test to get a large enough bubble of blood so it’s become really unpleasant and I’m generally dreading and avoiding the process…. I just can’t find the same sweet spot twice and he seems to be getting maybe calluses on his ear? I finally bought an electronic mini hand warmer yesterday (I don’t have a microwave) and that’s helping me!
Hmmm ok I will talk to my vet about getting those tests. I just read an old post about acromegaly and understand it can be pricey to treat…. Really hoping that’s not it.
Have you ever had an instance of a cat backing off the dose and it being effective? I really trust you’ve seen (almost) it all. Thank you for helping me through this.
 
I used a pill bottle or old film canister filled with hot/warm water to warm ears. What size gauge lancets are you using? Maybe you need a bigger size (smaller gauge number). I found I also needed a very tiny smear of Vaseline on Neko's ear to help catch the blood. Otherwise it's dive into her black fur and be invisible.
 
Vaseline helped a ton too! Thank you! I had picked that trick up a while ago and it fell off somewhere along the line. Thank you for the reminder!

I am using 30 gauge lancets

He went from 8.3lb to 9lb back to 8.5lb over a month and a half and I didn’t notice his weight visibly change like that. I wonder if the vet tech didn’t zero it completely when we got the 9 reading. He was skinny a month ago. Still is a bit but not so bad.

I think I am generally just panicking because I saw a red again… I apologize for that. Seeing a pink tonight helped calm me down a bit. And your support! I will keep the course and talk to the vet this week about the tests.

Thank you!!!!!!
 
Will do, thank you!
You’ve probably addressed this before…maybe more than once but why not TR? When a cat has been in remission and then requires insulin again, it’s best to be more aggressive but SLGS is less. We don’t mean be unsafe but you’ve been through this before so you should be able to shoot those 50s without hesitation and handle lower BGs.

Sorry, again if you’ve already explained this. 😊
 
You’ve probably addressed this before…maybe more than once but why not TR? When a cat has been in remission and then requires insulin again, it’s best to be more aggressive but SLGS is less. We don’t mean be unsafe but you’ve been through this before so you should be able to shoot those 50s without hesitation and handle lower BGs.

Sorry, again if you’ve already explained this. 😊
I can do TR! I am going out of town for 4 days at the end of may so I can start that when I get back. I am getting a CGM for egon for the couple days we’re gone and the sitter has cared for a diabetic dog in the past.
 
I can do TR! I am going out of town for 4 days at the end of may so I can start that when I get back. I am getting a CGM for egon for the couple days we’re gone and the sitter has cared for a diabetic dog in the past.
Great because you will at least be able to change the dose faster and it will also help if he turns out to be a “big gulper”.
 
Back
Top