5/12 Noogi - AMPS 124, +2 77, PMPS 121

Yesterday

Hope everyone's week has started well :)

Noogi has been on this dose a week now. When he had a few higher blues last week I wondered whether I should have kept him where he was, but he seems to have come down a bit the last couple days. I wish I was seeing more green pre-shots, but he does seem to be getting into the greens between shots most days. This last weekend I tested at a few random in-between times to fill out the picture a little and there was a fair bit of green. I reckon he should probably stay on this dose for now. Maybe his pancreas needs a little longer to do its thing and he may slide into more green pre-shots in time.
@Bandit's Mom Bhooma, what are your thoughts? Do you agree?

My main aim at the moment is stability. Latter part of next month I am going away for 10 days, so want him as steady and predictable as possible for his sitter.

And tomorrow we have a vet visit in the later afternoon. He has a couple lumps that require draining periodically, so its time for that, plus a general check-in. Definitely want the vet to have a look at his teeth too.
 
I hope his appointment goes well and that you're able to get him steady for the sitter! That's certainly a scary thing. At the very least, he's doing so well for so long that it seems like he should probably be just fine!
 
I hope his appointment goes well and that you're able to get him steady for the sitter! That's certainly a scary thing. At the very least, he's doing so well for so long that it seems like he should probably be just fine!
Thanks Brianna. Yes, it is scary. I've only left him once since his diagnosis, and then I was only three hours drive away and would have come back if there was a problem. This time I am going to be out of the country, so it's a whole different scenario. Phew, I get anxious just thinking about it!
My catsitter has been looking after him for years though and he adores her, so hoping all will be fine. She will get a dossier of instructions!
 
Thanks Brianna. Yes, it is scary. I've only left him once since his diagnosis, and then I was only three hours drive away and would have come back if there was a problem. This time I am going to be out of the country, so it's a whole different scenario. Phew, I get anxious just thinking about it!
My catsitter has been looking after him for years though and he adores her, so hoping all will be fine. She will get a dossier of instructions!
I'll be interested to hear what Bhooma says. He's regulated now, but I understand the need to get those end cycle numbers down (I have that with Jude too--but I think the recent increase has helped a lot in that regard). It's AWESOME that you have a sitter who is able to test and administer insulin. Still, I can understand your concern. But he is so steady, and that's great. Good luck with the vet visit tomorrow. FWIW, I posted this on Seth's condo, but after we had that discussion regarding teeth brushing, I purchased those gauze-like things that fit over the fingers, and most everyone (except Hazel--I didn't even try with her bc she can be spicy) was pretty accepting of the 'brushing' process. These worked better for me than brushes, which no one seems to really like. Anyhoo! I hope Noogi's teefers are looking good!
 
Last edited:
FWIW, I posted this on Seth's condo, but after we had that discussion regarding teeth brushing, I purchased those gauze-like things that fit over the fingers, and most everyone (except Hazel--I didn't even try with her bc she can be spicy) were pretty accepting of the 'brushing' process. These worked better for me than brushes, which no one seems to really like. Anyhoo! I hope Noogi's teefers are looking good!
Thanks for letting me know, Mary!

The ones I can find here are Vet's Best which seems to be a US brand. This is how they are described:

These Vet's Best Clean Teeth Cleaning Pads offer an easier way for pet owners to keep their pets' teeth clean, making the process uncomplicated, easy and thorough. It is a moist single-use cloth that can be easily fastened onto your finger, allowing optimum control during cleaning. The cleaning pads are soaked in cornmint oil, which has antiseptic, antibacterial and antimicrobial properties, as well as promoting fresh breath. These Vet's Best Clean Teeth Cleaning Pads can also help combat swollen gums, tooth pain and mouth sores. The pads can offer a cooling effect and support healthy digestion.

Does this sound similar to what you have got, or are yours plain? I'm not sure about cornmint oil (whatever that is).
 
Thanks for letting me know, Mary!

The ones I can find here are Vet's Best which seems to be a US brand. This is how they are described:

These Vet's Best Clean Teeth Cleaning Pads offer an easier way for pet owners to keep their pets' teeth clean, making the process uncomplicated, easy and thorough. It is a moist single-use cloth that can be easily fastened onto your finger, allowing optimum control during cleaning. The cleaning pads are soaked in cornmint oil, which has antiseptic, antibacterial and antimicrobial properties, as well as promoting fresh breath. These Vet's Best Clean Teeth Cleaning Pads can also help combat swollen gums, tooth pain and mouth sores. The pads can offer a cooling effect and support healthy digestion.

Does this sound similar to what you have got, or are yours plain? I'm not sure about cornmint oil (whatever that is).
Those sound really good and do much more than the ones I purchased. Here are the ones I purchased from Chewy (do you have Chewy??--just a large online pet supply business). https://www.chewy.com/pet-republique-soft-fabric-finger/dp/911630

When I order again, I will try to find some that are disposable. These are re-usable after washing. Honestly, I could probably wrap a little gauze around my finger and that would do the same thing--I might try that before ordering again.

But like I said, surprisingly, they were somewhat okay with my finger being in their mouth vs. a toothbrush. I did put a dab of toothpaste on my finger.
 
We don't have Chewy unfortunately.
But I can find something similar to the ones you linked to, plus a surprising number of other options online. As I'm seeing the vet I'll check if he has a recommendation, and if not I will just pick one and give it a go.
 
Yesterday

Hope everyone's week has started well :)

Noogi has been on this dose a week now. When he had a few higher blues last week I wondered whether I should have kept him where he was, but he seems to have come down a bit the last couple days. I wish I was seeing more green pre-shots, but he does seem to be getting into the greens between shots most days. This last weekend I tested at a few random in-between times to fill out the picture a little and there was a fair bit of green. I reckon he should probably stay on this dose for now. Maybe his pancreas needs a little longer to do its thing and he may slide into more green pre-shots in time.
@Bandit's Mom Bhooma, what are your thoughts? Do you agree?

My main aim at the moment is stability. Latter part of next month I am going away for 10 days, so want him as steady and predictable as possible for his sitter.

And tomorrow we have a vet visit in the later afternoon. He has a couple lumps that require draining periodically, so its time for that, plus a general check-in. Definitely want the vet to have a look at his teeth too.
Hi Helen, I hope the vet visit goes well! I can imagine how nerve wracking leaving him must be but that's great you have someone that knows him and has experience with him. 🤗
 
Yesterday

Hope everyone's week has started well :)

Noogi has been on this dose a week now. When he had a few higher blues last week I wondered whether I should have kept him where he was, but he seems to have come down a bit the last couple days. I wish I was seeing more green pre-shots, but he does seem to be getting into the greens between shots most days. This last weekend I tested at a few random in-between times to fill out the picture a little and there was a fair bit of green. I reckon he should probably stay on this dose for now. Maybe his pancreas needs a little longer to do its thing and he may slide into more green pre-shots in time.
@Bandit's Mom Bhooma, what are your thoughts? Do you agree?

My main aim at the moment is stability. Latter part of next month I am going away for 10 days, so want him as steady and predictable as possible for his sitter.

And tomorrow we have a vet visit in the later afternoon. He has a couple lumps that require draining periodically, so its time for that, plus a general check-in. Definitely want the vet to have a look at his teeth too.
Good luck at the vet tomorrow Helen, I hope everything goes smoothly. Noogi looks so good and it’s great that you have a wonderful Pet Sitter who should have no problem taking care of your sweet boy while you are away.

Have a nice night and a safe surf 😻💚
 
Nice to see his preshots coming down a bit and paired with the nice green mid-cycle! Interested to hear what Bhooma thinks.

Also - I’ve been curious about the teeth wipes, so I’ll have to look up the link @Mary & Jude sent. I wasn’t sure if they’d be okay with FD, but it sounds like no issues so far? Looking forward to hearing what you find and how it goes!

Good luck at the vet tomorrow and safe surfing tonight 😊
 
Thanks Brianna. Yes, it is scary. I've only left him once since his diagnosis, and then I was only three hours drive away and would have come back if there was a problem. This time I am going to be out of the country, so it's a whole different scenario. Phew, I get anxious just thinking about it!
My catsitter has been looking after him for years though and he adores her, so hoping all will be fine. She will get a dossier of instructions!

Gosh, yeah, that's terrifying. Out of the country! 🙈 Obviously if it's necessary it's necessary, but I can only imagine!

I'm going to be leaving for what will equate to a grand total of 3 injections in August and I'm already stressed about that!
 
Is he getting food in the second half of the cycle?
Sometimes. Not officially - the last snack in his automated feeder becomes available at +6/+6.30. But he doesn't always eat it all, and sometimes grazes on the leftovers later. And in the pm cycle if he wakes me at 3 or 4am for food I sometimes give him a LC snack so that I can get back to sleep 🙃

Wondering if you should hold the dose another couple of days and see?
I feel this is probably the right move. He has been trending down ever-so-slightly so maybe this will continue, just slowly.

I am very busy at the moment and currently feel fine leaving him all day if I have to, as I know he's not going too low.
If he is as he is now I'll be okay leaving him for my trip, so don't really want to change things that might impact his stability.
Greens are ideal but low blues aren't bad are they?
 
Sometimes. Not officially - the last snack in his automated feeder becomes available at +6/+6.30. But he doesn't always eat it all, and sometimes grazes on the leftovers later.
I was wondering if eating later in the cycle is contributing to those higher preshots.

I am very busy at the moment and currently feel fine leaving him all day if I have to, as I know he's not going too low.
If he is as he is now I'll be okay leaving him for my trip, so don't really want to change things that might impact his stability.
Sounds good. Let's see what he does in the next few days.
 
I was wondering if eating later in the cycle is contributing to those higher preshots.

Sounds good. Let's see what he does in the next few days.
Thanks Bhooma. I think I need to really watch his eating pattern and pre-shot numbers over a weekend so see how much it is upping that pre-shot value. My sense if its not influencing it that much tbh, but let's see.
 
Back
Top