5/12 Sam AMPS 71 +4 95

hobohell

New member
Hi, all!

I've been a long-time lurker on FDMB. The incredibly helpful info found on the boards aided me in getting my cat Sam in remission within 3 weeks of his initial diagnosis years ago.

However, he's relapsed, and I'd like to ask for help on dosing. You can see from his spreadsheet that he does fairly well on the 3.75u dose, but I think I should increase him to 4u. I'm just worried about those morning lows. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thank you,
Lori
 
Hi Lori and welcome, and sorry you are back again.

I think you need to lower the dose. Let me explain. In order to follow TR for dosing, you have to be feeding an all low carb wet or raw diet. This is for safety as TR is a more aggressive dosing method. I see you are feeding Glucobalance dry, which is very high in carb and not suitable for diabetics, along with the FF wet pate, which is fine to feed. As long as you are feeding dry, you need to follow SLGS for dosing or the Start Low Go Slow Method. SLGS would have you reduce the dose if he goes below 90, which he has done plenty of times on this dose.

Another option is to ditch the dry, and go to an all low carb wet which would allow you to follow TR. However, it could be that removing the high carb food would also mean his dose needs to come down.

Since you are worried about the morning lows, I'd like to get a better picture of what is happening at night. That means getting more evening tests. Can you commit to always getting a before bed test? That would be a test at least 2-3 hours after the PMPS test. Many cats go lower at night. We determine how to change the dose based on how low the dose is taking Sam, and I can't tell that without those second tests per cycle.
 
@Laurie & Petey
They sure do! 😀 And thank you.


@Wendy&Neko
Thank you very much for the response. I've been resistant to switching to all wet because he is such a fan of kibble, but I think that's what I should do at this point. I'll start phasing out the dry. Wish me luck! 🤞🤞

I'll also commit to getting more post PM numbers. With the change in food, you'll likely be correct that he'll need a lower dose. Or maybe we'll have found that sweet spot of green. I'll implement these changes and report back on how he's doing.

I really appreciate that this board exists and everyone is so helpful. 💜
 
A small story on a kitty named Scooter from many years ago. He was on an all wet food diet (or so his caregiver thought). He was an old man cat that lived in a house with many other kitties. He got up to 5.5 units of insulin. One day the caregiver Linda thought she's remove all the dry food in the house, after she found Scooter had jumped up on a counter she didn't think he could reach. Scooters dose dropped - fast! Here is a link to Scooter's spreadsheet, look at Feb 18-20th. Linda had a very scary 24 hours. Go slow on the dry food removal and test regularly. Good luck!
 
Back
Top