? 5/16/25 Mikey AMPS 515 +6 221 PMPS 598

Mikeysdad

New member
Ok I am freaking out over these numbers . I have been lowering his dose to see if the bouncing stops and was told to keep
him on 1.75 until next week and not to lower so frequently.

These black numbers are not new but since 2025 just horrible Dental is fine, no ketones, no UTI.

I have crawled into a dark hole wondering if he is dying ; although he seems fine. The vet said it is somogyi Effect but I know that is controversial . I am beginning to feel this is a lost cause

I will do a curve! He is drinking bowls of water.
Thanks,
Tom :)
PLEASE…. Someone answer,
Mikey's Spreadsheet
 
Last edited:
I second Angela. I don't know why you reduced, but that was not a good idea. When following SLGS, you only reduce if goes under 90 which he has not done. He's peeing more because his numbers are high due to too low a dose. 2.25 units looked like a much better dose.

Symogyi is not a thing - that was an idea about humans using fast acting insulins about 100 years ago. A very small test group and the article wasn't peer reviewed. For some reason, vets thought it was a thing. I don't think that is taught any more. Dr. Jacquie Rand, who co-authored the TR articles, has done a study showing it's not a thing for cats, especially if on Lantus, for someone who is testing, and increasing/decreasing as per dosing method;.
 
Thanks, when this board was down, I went to another board who suggested to lower. That I see was a mistake and I disregarded SLGS. He is being increased and has been back on 2.00 for a day now.
I have left the other board who stated that I reduce and use calibers( not doing that) for accuracy. I am back on track
 
Im so sorry. Why did you reduce? Lowering the dose to stop.bouncing usually results in staying in higher numbers overall. I would encourage you to increase.
I am discovering that. I have increased as of yesterday. I got distracted when this board was down and got bad information
from another group. Thanks

It took me a bit to respond as we had tornadoes and a lose of power and internet access until this morning . Mikey thought it was fun getting shots and tests with flashlights !
 
Thanks, when this board was down, I went to another board who suggested to lower. That I see was a mistake and I disregarded SLGS. He is being increased and has been back on 2.00 for a day now.
I have left the other board who stated that I reduce and use calibers( not doing that) for accuracy. I am back on track
I'm so sorry you've received conflicting advice from others. How frustrating and confusing! I was also on two different boards (well, one was a FB group not associated with this board) when Jude was first diagnosed, and I noticed the advice on the FB group conflicted with this group's, and I ended up leaving the other group because I felt this group offered more explanations/rationale behind the advice they offered. No one is 100% perfect, of course, but I have always received sound advice from the advisers (and caregivers, as well) on this message board. The dosing methods they practice work well when consistently adhered to.

I hope you and Mikey fared well through the tornadoes! I live in the deep south, and we often experience them here as well, and they can be scary!
 
I am discovering that. I have increased as of yesterday. I got distracted when this board was down and got bad information
from another group. Thanks

It took me a bit to respond as we had tornadoes and a lose of power and internet access until this morning . Mikey thought it was fun getting shots and tests with flashlights !
Good luck, Tom. I hope Mikey does just fine with the increase.
I’m glad you are both safe after the scary weather. Stay safe 🥰
 
I'm so sorry you've received conflicting advice from others. How frustrating and confusing! I was also on two different boards (well, one was a FB group not associated with this board) when Jude was first diagnosed, and I noticed the advice on the FB group conflicted with this group's, and I ended up leaving the other group because I felt this group offered more explanations/rationale behind the advice they offered. No one is 100% perfect, of course, but I have always received sound advice from the advisers (and caregivers, as well) on this message board. The dosing methods they practice work well when consistently adhered to.

I hope you and Mikey fared well through the tornadoes! I live in the deep south, and we often experience them here as well, and they can be scary!
Thanks for replying. Mikey did well in the tornado threat as he got to look out the window at the insanity out there.

I did get off the other board, and increased his insulin and his numbers are much better. But it is a journey!!!!
 
Back
Top