5/16, Bell, AMPS 220 +2 243 +6 218 PMPS 154

Looking back at some pictures of her when she was diagnosed to now kinda breaks my heart a bit. She was having trouble even jumping up on the bed at that point, which the vet and I attributed to back pain. I still kick myself for not IDing FD sooner. But she looks so healthy now! Grateful to all of you for steering her where she needed to be.
 
Seth,
I have that same guilt about how long it took me to discover FDMB. I have to remind myself that what's done is done and the only thing that matters now is that you are continuing to do everything you can for Bell so that she is living here best life possible. We can only do, what we can only do.

From these adorable pictures of Bell, I would say she is definitely living her best life and having a ball. She is so pretty! Keep up the great work! ❤️ Paws crossed she comes back down for you tonight.
 
Thank you, Mary! The vet always seems surprised with how "non-diabetic" she looks. I don't think they are used to seeing cats with FD somewhat regulated.

Thank you so much, Maddie! I think it is difficult with animals (or humans!) to see gradual health changes when you spend time with someone every day. I sometimes think if I started this sooner, that she'd be in remission now, but like you say, we can only do what we can do. Can't change the past, so we march forward. Your encouragement means a lot! As we both have bouncers, it is encouraging for me to see Kai's bouncing be less extreme recently. You're doing great!
 
I agree with all of the above; you clearly love Bell so much and it's so hard to see small changes over time (until something big smacks you in the face). You've done your best and look at your girl! She looks happy and healthy and totally normal!

I also understand though. It makes me sad to think that all the years that Xander hadn't been very playful anymore, that he just grew out of it. I don't know how long he was diabetic before diagnosis, but it wasn't until the shocking increase of drinking/urinating that I realized anything was wrong. Now that he plays more again I feel so sad for the time he apparently lost not feeling well. So I get it!

Also: I just love Bell's big, playful eyes. Such a cutie!
 
I beat myself up for letting Minner live in solid yellow for months and taking 4 mths to get off dry food and convert to TR. I am starting to now reduce myself to accept that remission is not in her cards so I have to find a rhythm I can manage for her for the long haul. Still working on that as I sit here exhausted. :)

Bell and you are an inspiration to us. Thank you for the amazing pictures and the little window into your journey. She looks great !!
 
Bell has such a delightful little face and she is clearly happy and adored. When I see a cat playing it's always a reminder to try to live in the moment like they do. Hope you both have a lovely weekend being in the moment together Seth 🌟
 
Awee you are so right, Helen. It is amazing how quickly Bell forgets/forgives all the rough stuff she’s been through. Hope you have a lovely weekend as well!
 
Back
Top