? 5/21 Frisky AMPS 351 +3 389 +6 408 +9 408 not eating

meli

Member
? 5/20 New member - need help

I assume the high numbers are part of the bounce but her not eating is a little concerning. I did call the vet earlier but didn't get a call back. Is there anything I should be concerned about going into the overnight? I will check her BG a couple more times before I go to sleep and she gets her evening dose in about an hour. Should I still give her the insulin if she isn't eating?
 
Tuna juice got her to be interested, but she just licked it up off the food. I don't have any LC dry food on hand so I'll keep trying different things to see what works. The next question is how much should she eat? It's been about 24 hours since she last ate, minus the tube treat she ate this morning, and I don't want her to vomit everything back up
 
Gave her a can of Friskies Prime Filets Chicken w/Gravy and she was sort of eating it, mostly licking the gravy but I figure that's better than nothing. I plan to call the vet first thing in the morning. Going to bed now.
 
I'm going to bump this back up in the board.
How is Frisky today?
Will you take her to the vets? If she still isn't eating, a vet visit is likely warranted.
Also, are you able to capture some P.M. tests on Frisky?
 
Just got off the phone with the vet's office, they took a message for the doctor so I guess we're playing the waiting game again.

The only thing I can get her to eat consistently are 0.5 oz tubes of lickable treats. Today she won't eat the Friskies that worked last night, haven't tried tuna juice yet, but either way she needs to eat more than just treats, gravy, and/or tuna juice, right? She does seem to have a little more energy today, which is interesting since she didn't really eat anything yesterday. Just checked her BG and it's 327.

I need to change the timing of her dose so I can get PM numbers, right now she gets her insulin around 11am/11pm but I go to bed around midnight. Ideally, I'd like to give the insulin around 9 but it's a process getting there. Yesterday would have been the perfect opportunity since we skipped the prior evening's dose but I had an appointment early in the morning and wasn't home at 9.
 
You were doing all the right things, Melissa - offering a variety of foods, including tuna water and treats.
When Noogi is unwell he also does a sniff and maybe a little lick or two then turns his head away. Licking of lips is another sign of nausea.

Hope you can get Frisky seen by a vet as soon as possible today.
Let us know how she is doing when you have news.
I noticed yesterday when I was holding her for her BG checks that she seemed to be swallowing a lot, and she's definitely turning her head away from any food I put in front of her, except that lickable treat lol
 
Any input on what I should say to the vet when he calls back? Should I push to get her seen today? I think they might try prescribing an anti-nausea med but I feel like there's a bit more going on here. Tbh, I'm not really fond of the way this vet has been handling her care, but we live in a small town and I feel like my options are limited. Which is why I was happy to find this forum when I did :)
 
My worry would be pancreatitis as I have just gone through that with Noogi last week. Not only was he not eating but he was lethargic, and sitting in that 'loaf' position that indicates discomfort. Diagnosis was confirmed with a blood test and he was treated with fluids, anti-nausea and pain meds and vitamin B12. I was about to start an appetite stimulant when he started eating. He got over it in just a few days, which I'm convinced was because I took action straight away.

If your instinct is that something more serious is going on I would encourage you to listen to that and request Frisky gets examined.

It could be anything of course - a lot of diabetic cats get UTIs and other infections.

Good luck!
 
Hi Melissa, I agree with Helen, if it is pancreatitis pretty common with diabetic cats), my cat, Ivy, had it also for the first time in February.
And the key to getting over it is EARLY treatment. So if you can have Frisky seen asap by the vet, that would be best.
You will want to to do anything you can to try to keep her eating.

She may need anti nausea meds (ondansetron (Zofran), Cerenia for nausea and or vomiting, appetite stimulant to get her to eat (mirtazipine), possibly fluids.

Again, if you can possibly syringe feed her or finger swipe foods in her mouth (anything to get her to eat is key).
Here is information about pancreatitis and how to treat it:
Info - A Primer On Pancreatitis | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB
 
Any input on what I should say to the vet when he calls back? Should I push to get her seen today? I think they might try prescribing an anti-nausea med but I feel like there's a bit more going on here. Tbh, I'm not really fond of the way this vet has been handling her care, but we live in a small town and I feel like my options are limited. Which is why I was happy to find this forum when I did :)
Meli, Helen and Staci are offering excellent advice, and I want to reinforce that you should get Frisky seen by a doctor as soon as possible. I would stress to them that she is 1) diabetic; 2) she is inappetent; and 3) any other symptoms you are seeing. As Helen and Staci mentioned, an appetite stimulant is probably necessary, but also anti-nausea, pain meds, and possibly fluids. You might even print the sticky Staci posted for you on pancreatitis and take it with you to show the doctor your concerns.

You're doing a really great job taking care of her.

Please keep us posted.
 
Ok, we got Cerenia and she is finally eating! Just a little bit at a time but I have hope that will improve. The vet gave us some urgent care prescription wet food and at first she would only lick it off my fingers but I finally got her to eat a couple teaspoons by spoon feeding it to her. Going slow to make sure she keeps it down and fingers crossed that she keeps eating.
 
Ok, we got Cerenia and she is finally eating! Just a little bit at a time but I have hope that will improve. The vet gave us some urgent care prescription wet food and at first she would only lick it off my fingers but I finally got her to eat a couple teaspoons by spoon feeding it to her. Going slow to make sure she keeps it down and fingers crossed that she keeps eating.
That’s very good news. They really seem to like the urgent care food.
Did the vet say what they think is going on?
Let us know how she’s doing! ❤️‍🩹
 
Back
Top