5/21 Noogi - AMPS 124, +2 76

Yesterday

That blue AMPS is a food bump. Noogi woke me up 4am for food - gave him a snack - and then again at 5am - and another snack. This is after eating both his automated feeder snacks during the night.

I think I have figured out the increase in appetite. Vet put him on gabapentin last week, first to help with pain of pancreatitis and then recommended we continue to help with his arthritis. Initially gave him 0.5ml (liquid formulation) but that made him incredibly sleepy, so changed to 0.2ml, which he tolerates much better. I see there is lots of anecdotal evidence linking gaba to eating more, and there was a study showing a 30% increase in appetite, similar to mirtaz.

Noogi does not need to be eating more food, so I need to discuss with vet and find another solution.

Hope all the kitties are eating well but not too well. And surfing safely!
 
Echoing Laurie and SqueeM3; that's odd - Gabapentin hasn't had any effect on Xander's appetite at all that I can see. Maybe it something about the liquid formulation vs the compounded chicken-flavored tablets I have, though.

Either way, that's a hungry guy! I hope he has a nice, safe surf today!
 
Interesting about the gaba! And equally interesting that others haven't experienced similar appetite increases. Another case of ECID. Hope you find a good solution for Noogi's arthritis.
 
I’ve never seen any increased appetite with Ivy, who takes a large dose when she goes to the vet (maybe because the large dose just makes her sleepy) ???
 
Back
Top