5/24 egon AMPS 276 | Feline Diabetes Management Board

5/24 egon AMPS 276

Last Post
PMPS 252 +11 304 AMPS 276

Hey ya'll, I am wondering if I should increase Egon's dose or keep it at 6.5 a bit longer. I think we are due for an increase, but I dont think I've given this dose enough time to work itself out yet. What do you think?
That furshot really messed us up yesterday!
I felt a teeeeeny bit of wetness on him this morning too... UGH Definitely not a full furshot like yesterday.

In other news, our vet wants us to see an internist to get the acromegaly and IAA tests so that will have to wait a bit longer....
 
When you do a furshot, could you put that in the units cell too. Something like 6.5FS, let's us quickly know it happened.

It does look like you got 10 clean shots in before the fur shot? We do hold doses with green nadirs for 10 cycles, so you've done that. Since you were getting some nice green nadirs, maybe try just tweaking the dose with a 0.25 unit increase.
 
When you do a furshot, could you put that in the units cell too. Something like 6.5FS, let's us quickly know it happened.

It does look like you got 10 clean shots in before the fur shot? We do hold doses with green nadirs for 10 cycles, so you've done that. Since you were getting some nice green nadirs, maybe try just tweaking the dose with a 0.25 unit increase.
Yes!

And ok, sounds good!!

I’m going out of town for four days next week. I’ve got a libre to help the sitter keep an eye on his numbers. Do folks tend to lower the dose when they stay with someone else? This will be his first time staying with a stranger 😬
 
Typically you don't want a dose giving much green for a petsitter dose. There is also the question of how much he'll eat while you are away.
 
My guess is his appetite will be reduced. Luckily he’ll have my other cat there for moral support. I’m thinking of recommending 6 and 6. Do you think that’s too big of a reduction? It’s only 4 days. And then if he doesn’t want to eat that much just give 1.
 
6 units would be OK. You can leave a sample syringe filled with coloured liquid (tea, juice, etc) to show the sitter what 6 units looks like.

If he doesn't eat, she can still give a half dose - 3 units. 1 unit is too big a reduction. Cat undergoing anaesthesia who cannot eat, can still get a half dose. Insulin does more than just combat carbs in the body - it is food for the cells, including the brain.
 
Back
Top