5/25 Jude | AMPS 122; +4.5 84; +8 82; PMPS 98; +2.5 56; +3.5 51; +4.5 77 | Feline Diabetes Management Board

5/25 Jude | AMPS 122; +4.5 84; +8 82; PMPS 98; +2.5 56; +3.5 51; +4.5 77

Mary --

When are you feeding Jude? I'm wondering if a small snack at around +8 or +9 may help to lower your pre-shot numbers. Overall, Jude's numbers look great. He's largely in normal range but is still seeing blues at pre-shot.
 
Mary --

When are you feeding Jude? I'm wondering if a small snack at around +8 or +9 may help to lower your pre-shot numbers. Overall, Jude's numbers look great. He's largely in normal range but is still seeing blues at pre-shot.
Hi Sienne,

For the most part, Jude is a really good grazer. I feed him at his a.m. shot, feed him 1/2 his evening meal at +9, +10, +11 (depending on when I get home from work) in the afternoon/evening, he gets a LC snack + the rest of his evening meal at shot time, and then I make sure he has a fresh bowl of food before I go to bed (that he and his sister graze on at night--sometimes finishing, sometimes not).

Do you have suggestions about how I might adjust this? He is getting a "snack" a couple of hours before his evening meal--it's 1/2 his regular LC meal (3.5 tin of FF), but he shares it with Hazel, so I'd call that a snack. I could put a timed feeder out overnight to ensure he eats a snack at +9 in the a.m. cycle.

Also, what do you consider "normal range"?
 
Happy Sunday to you Mary ✨

Yesterday Wendy reminded me that we are aiming for

Like Noogi, Jude is almost - almost - there 💕
Re: "numbers mostly under 100, with nadirs in the 50-80 range and nothing above 120. Or going under 50."

Does this mean nadirs in the 50-80 range and nadirs not above 120, or no numbers or nadirs above 120?
 
I think you got the same replies from everyone that I would have written!

I'd be careful with feeding at +11. We generally try to avoid giving food past +10 since it may influence your pre-shot number.

The idea here is that if you look at Jude's spreadsheet, he may be in the blue range at pre-shot. You feed and shoot and within at most, a few hours, he's in the greens. The food is stimulating his pancreas to produce insulin. Ideally, if you give a snack before +10, it may do the same thing and bring the preshot number a bit lower.
 
Mary, I know I’m just one data point for this and ECID, but late last year early this year we tried the +8/+9 snack when he was on 2 units. At the time, I didn’t think it was helping his pre-shots. But looking back, as soon as I stoped that snack, his pre-shots were stuck in the blue for months.

That snack definitely worked for us on smaller doses (and now on no dose).
 
Last edited:
Back
Top