5/5, Bell, AMPS 217 +1 224 +4.5 151 +6.5 98 +7.5 88 +10 71 PMPS 109

Seth&Bell

Member
A long long time ago

Tim, you absolute rockstar! Forum looks great! So so appreciated. I tried to join facebook over the weekend (thanks for all the heads up from Mary and Wendy) but I ended up getting my account banned by trying to name myself after my cat :p.

I've missed my cat crew. I hope you are all doing well. Bell has been doing her usual rollercoaster. Last week was lowwwww greens and she earned a couple reductions only to pop right back up over the weekend. She touched some grass today, which I'm glad to see. I had to boost her back up to the 5.5.

Cat report: She's been her usual sweet self. She has been puking a bit more than normal but a lot of those were hairballs (tis the season). I also thinking whenever she enters the blues from a rapid ascent/descent, she feels kinda crummy. I got her and Blair to the vet for their annual checkups. Everything was good except Bell's teeth had quite a bit of tartar build up, which is frustrating because she had a dental in January and had to deal with the weird FOPS-like side effects from that. My next challenge is to try and brush her teeth, which seems impossible but I'll give it a go. Any tips in that regard would be appreciated.
 
Oh my gosh - yea the troubles of Facebook sometimes. They’re always doing wacky stuff.

I got these cat toothbrushes on Amazon and I’ve been trying to slowly get him used to it. It’s a two person job and it’s going ok. I don’t mess with any toothpaste yet, figure even if I get the bristles a little on the outside of the teeth that’s better than nothing…
 
yeah that was my plan too. I wish bell was more food motivated so I could reward her for the hassle. but she has been so easy-going through all this, maybe it won't be horrible
 
Hi Seth, you're right Tim is a rockstar. Bell had some nice greens today I see and a nice PMPS. I tried brushing Tyler's teeth but all he did was bite the tooth brush. Finally I just lifted his lip and stuck the tooth brush on the side and did what I could quickly. Maybe try those rubber ones you put on your finger. My vet said to just get a piece of gauge and use that . Hopefully Bell will cooperate
 
Thanks so much, Diane! I grabbed that toothbrush! I also got some petsmile toothpaste. Fingers crossed that I have fingers left after my first attempt!
 
Hi Bell (and Seth), missed you!

My vet suggested getting dental wipes. They are basically a piece of gauze with chlorahexidine on them. Another option is to just use a piece of dampened gauze to wipe the teeth.

Regarding reductions, one possibility is to consider waiting for 3 times between 40 and 49 on different days before reducing. That's what people use who have cats that don't hold reductions well. It's a bit trickier with IAA, cause when the IAA is fading, you do want to be more cautious.
 
Hi Bell (and Seth), missed you!

My vet suggested getting dental wipes. They are basically a piece of gauze with chlorahexidine on them. Another option is to just use a piece of dampened gauze to wipe the teeth.

Regarding reductions, one possibility is to consider waiting for 3 times between 40 and 49 on different days before reducing. That's what people use who have cats that don't hold reductions well. It's a bit trickier with IAA, cause when the IAA is fading, you do want to be more cautious.
I will check out those dental wipes!

I was toying around with a similar idea. I think I’d have to wait for good timing from Bell (:rolleyes:) on a weekend to try that out. But I’ve noticed she gets in a really nice groove when she’s about to earn a reduction, then bounces once she earns it and can’t achieve consistent greens again. I’ll keep that one in my pocket. She’s also fast approaching her 1-year date, and I know some of the guidelines change for taking reductions at that time. Thank you!
 
Hi Seth and Bell, we’ve missed you and of course the gorgeous Bell photos 😻🐈‍⬛😻

Glad she’s doing well and we look forward to more updates soon!
Give your girls kisses from me and Ivy please 💋🐈‍⬛🐈‍⬛❤️‍🩹
 
Back
Top