5/6 - Xander | AMPS 291

Brianna & Xander

Active member
4/24/25 😩

Hey sugar kitty friends! I've missed you all so much!

Thank you so, so much, @Tim & Pookey for setting this up! This is incredible and I know we're all so happy to be back together again. 💜 Also loving all the emoji choices! lol

I hate Facebook and have been off of it for probably over a decade at this point, but this weekend I got desperate and decided to make an account just for this. As soon as I logged in the first time and clicked the "settings" button I was disabled. Had to send them a video selfie, after which I was immediately permanently banned (???). 🙃 Have I mentioned I hate Facebook? So a million times extra thanks to Tim for setting this up!

I feel like so much has happened that it's difficult to narrow down for a post. We had another 5 or so good days after our last post and then I got thrown a <40 preshot on 4/29. 😬 We ended up skipping, which was the right choice because I didn't even manage to get him back to blue until almost +2. We of course immediately reduced to 2.5 that night, and had several cycles with some blue, but no green. On Sunday (5/4) we increased back to 2.75 aaaand he immediately earned a reduction back down to 2.5. I'm thinking maybe he needs a dose halfway between, like 2.6ish. I haven't done that yet because I was nervous, but if he continues the high trend he's on right now I'll do that at the end of the "possible bounce" window.

I hope everyone's been well and I'm so happy we're back.
 
Dumb FB! Seth said he also had trouble setting up an account and was banned. The FB group really doesn't work well for what we do on a daily basis (I mean, to begin with, there are 15k members in that group!). It's a great question/answer space, but for daily posting...not so great. I'm glad Tim has saved us by setting up this temporary MB, and I'm glad you're back with the group.

Looks like Xander has been seeing some action--lows and highs and low-lows. I think your plan to wait through the bounce window is a good one because he can be unpredictable. That lime on 5/4 was a surprise, especially as that's right about the time the depot would have drained from the higher dose??? So you almost would have expected higher and not lower numbers. Xander's keeping you on your toes 😜.
 
So glad you found us here Brianna! ✨

I also had to do that stupid prove you are you with a video for Facebook a while back. Hate that platform so much.

I can see you have been dealing with some very strange curveballs with Xander's BG. Hope this bounce clears soon and you can see where you are at. Hope Xander is doing well otherwise?
 
Last edited:
Dumb FB! Seth said he also had trouble setting up an account and was banned. The FB group really doesn't work well for what we do on a daily basis (I mean, to begin with, there are 15k members in that group!). It's a great question/answer space, but for daily posting...not so great. I'm glad Tim has saved us by setting up this temporary MB, and I'm glad you're back with the group.

Looks like Xander has been seeing some action--lows and highs and low-lows. I think your plan to wait through the bounce window is a good one because he can be unpredictable. That lime on 5/4 was a surprise, especially as that's right about the time the depot would have drained from the higher dose??? So you almost would have expected higher and not lower numbers. Xander's keeping you on your toes 😜.

I saw that! So annoying. I was wondering how the daily posting would work on there too (and assumed that it wouldn't be the best). I'm so glad Tim set this up for us.

Thank you! I appreciate the input! I've been trying really hard to put the "patience pants" on seeing these crappy numbers. We are getting some low blues right now though, so we'll see. :) That lime certainly felt like it was out of nowhere!
 
So glad you found us here Brianna! ✨

I also had to do that stupid prove you are a you with a video for Facebook a while back. Hate that flatform so much.

I can see you have been dealing with some very strange curveballs with Xander's BG. Hope this bounce clears soon and you can see where you are at. Hope Xander is doing well otherwise?

Thank you, Helen! I appreciate the message letting me know this was here too; I was so excited when I got the email! 😁

Ugh, same. I'm still on Instagram (as much as I would prefer not to use any Meta platforms at all) because it's where most of my friends are and I'm geographically pretty isolated, so it's where I get most of my human interaction. Also had it randomly be disabled and have to submit the video selfie there too, just a few weeks ago! The Facebook immediate ban, I don't even know. Like you said, I hate it.

Yeah, he's been a bit weird lately! Hoping that'll figure itself out soon. He is doing well otherwise! Great appetite, playful, seems happy. :)
 
Hi Brianna, sooo glad you’re here too! And glad Xander is doing well. Up and down in doses. So familiar.
Maybe think about a calipers and then you can dial into a fat dose (in between 2 doses). Many times Ivy like that “in between” dose is what I’ve found and I can achieve on the calipers.

It’s just suggestion. No pressure.

I hope you’re all doing well and please give Xander lots of belly rubs!! 💖🐈‍⬛💖
 
Yay! A Xander update 😸 I remember checking your spreadsheet after the site went down, just to see how everyone was doing, and thought omg the lime!! So sorry you’ve been dealing with that rollercoaster and all by yourself. You’ve done such a great job of keeping him safe though and adjusting when needed. I’d be curious about the “fat” dose like Staci mentioned. Maybe he needs a happy medium?

I’m also not a Facebook person, I still had an account but haven’t updated or logged on in years, so it was a process. Glad we’re all back in this space, thanks to Tim!

Safe surfing tonight 🥰
 
Hi Brianna, sooo glad you’re here too! And glad Xander is doing well. Up and down in doses. So familiar.
Maybe think about a calipers and then you can dial into a fat dose (in between 2 doses). Many times Ivy like that “in between” dose is what I’ve found and I can achieve on the calipers.

It’s just suggestion. No pressure.

I hope you’re all doing well and please give Xander lots of belly rubs!! 💖🐈‍⬛💖

Yes! Up and down, one's too much and one's not enough. I am actually using calipers now so I should be able to manage! Definitely wouldn't be able to eyeball an eight unit.

Thank you, Staci! Hope you and Ivy are having a good night too! 💜 💜 💜
 
Lol the exact same thing happened to me with Facebook. I tried to get Bell to do the head movement thing for the selfie video but that didn’t work either 😸.

Good to have you here, Brianna!

Doing the video selfie on a cat is just hilarious! lol For whatever reason they rejected mine even though it was my own face and not even Xander's! :rolleyes:

Great to see you, Seth!
 
Yay! A Xander update 😸 I remember checking your spreadsheet after the site went down, just to see how everyone was doing, and thought omg the lime!! So sorry you’ve been dealing with that rollercoaster and all by yourself. You’ve done such a great job of keeping him safe though and adjusting when needed. I’d be curious about the “fat” dose like Staci mentioned. Maybe he needs a happy medium?

I’m also not a Facebook person, I still had an account but haven’t updated or logged on in years, so it was a process. Glad we’re all back in this space, thanks to Tim!

Safe surfing tonight 🥰

Aww, so nice that you've been checking on spreadsheets! I did that some but I had a hard time even getting the forum to let me click links in people's signatures.

Thank you!! It was really stressful to do on my own, but obviously we got through it. I'm thinking the medium/fat dose is what he needs too. Absolutely crazy that such a miniscule amount of insulin can be the difference between the pinks and the limes, isn't it?!

Ah, so it was annoying and unnecessarily tedious even with a valid account! Stupid Facebook. I'm also glad we're all back together in a sane space lol

Have a great night, Briana!
 
Thank you!! It was really stressful to do on my own, but obviously we got through it. I'm thinking the medium/fat dose is what he needs too. Absolutely crazy that such a miniscule amount of insulin can be the difference between the pinks and the limes, isn't it?!
It's actually so crazy how much a difference that can make! Thank goodness you're already using calipers, because otherwise, how!? Looking forward to seeing how he does with the change, after he clears this bounce.
 
Back
Top