6/11 Esse AMPS 314, +8 240, PMPS 165 | Feline Diabetes Management Board

6/11 Esse AMPS 314, +8 240, PMPS 165

Yesterday's thread!

Starting a new Lantus vial today just to rule that out as a factor in his current pink/red streak. Sam and I are going to be eagerly refreshing the Libre app all day. Even if it doesn't change anything, at least it's one less thing to puzzle over.

Edit: We're around 165 ten minutes before shot time and wondering if maybe it WAS the insulin and taking that last increase was too much too soon. Would we be ruining an otherwise good day by shooting a reduced dose (1u?)?
 
Last edited:
@Wendy&Neko He's at 164 now, about 45 min before shot time. Should we still be doing the full dose? If it WAS the insulin now I'm worried 1.5 is too much... you're right about changing two variables at one time.
 
Hi Lauren, still waiting to shoot? Are you able to monitor tonight?
Yeah, we're about 15 min from shot time but feeling really nervous about it! We have the alarms for the Libre and can stay up for a couple hours. And we have the hypo kit of course. Just seems risky when he's at his lowest number of the day right now.
 
Yeah, we're about 15 min from shot time but feeling really nervous about it! We have the alarms for the Libre and can stay up for a couple hours. And we have the hypo kit of course. Just seems risky when he's at his lowest number of the day right now.
Totally understand. Hopefully someone will come to advise. Still some time to stall.
 
I'm sure you've reviewed this as to what your options are Sticky - Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-Shot Numbers

He doesn't have a lot of data to know what he might do for the "we are not shooting the number they are now but the number they will be". How long can you stall to see if he starts going up without messing up your schedule too much?

He's not acting hungry at all right now, which is unusual but makes it easier. We could totally wait an hour to shoot but I don't want to have to stay up for 2+ hours AFTER that to see where the cycle is headed if I don't have to.
 
Sorry I wasn't on to talk about options in time. A question for you, I think the Contour 109 was before you shot? Instead of the Remarks column that makes it sound like it was an hour after the shot. The value that goes in the PMPS cell of the spreadsheet should be what the BG value was just before you shot. If you delay, then that 168 was (I think) at +12. You then delayed an hour so whatever the Libre showed at +13 was your PMPS value. You can stack data in the +11 column to show that you delayed. So something like 174, 168@+12. Then in the PMPS you would put whatever the real pre shot value was but listed like X@+13. That shows you delayed an hour.

Since Esse was on a downward trend, I'd still stay up for a couple hours to make sure he's stopping the drop.
 
...You can stack data in the +11 column to show that you delayed. So something like 174, 168@+12. Then in the PMPS you would put whatever the real pre shot value was but listed like X@+13. That shows you delayed an hour.
Okay, I think I've got that fixed, and I shifted all the PM post-shot values over so they line up with the actual number of hours after we shot.
Since Esse was on a downward trend, I'd still stay up for a couple hours to make sure he's stopping the drop.
We stayed up for about 2 hrs. after to make sure he was coming up!

And boy did he--we're at around 400 again now. So would you try for 1.5u again today?
 
Back
Top