6/12 Esse AMPS >400 | Feline Diabetes Management Board

6/12 Esse AMPS >400

Yesterday's thread!

Thanks again to the folks who coached me through that very strange day! I came home from book club after a couple glasses of wine and was like, "well, this isn't what I expected to happen...now what?" But Esse came right back up from that 109 all night, which makes me feel like a token dose maybe wasn't the right move, but as @Laurie & Petey mentioned, now we have that data. It was SUPER nice to see him have his regular personality back while he was in good numbers. We also checked the ketone meter and he was at 0.3, which is actually the lowest number we've seen for him so far.

As a side note, the husband of the friend who hosted book club this month has Type 1 diabetes and he was SO tickled to hear that cats (and dogs) can use human CGMs and take human insulin. They are big animal lovers as well so I showed him some pictures and told him about how the cat has his own phone so we can monitor. He uses a Dexcom and was joking that if one of their dogs had one too, they'd have to figure out whose alarms were going off if one of them went low, haha. At least that's one problem we won't have.
 
The personality change is wild to see. That's one of the worst parts about the high numbers I think, especially now that I know what Charlie is like when he's feeling good. When he's in glucose toxicity it's like he's barely there.

I hope you get to a good dose soon so you can have 100% Esse, 100% of the time ☺️

That's so funny what your friend's husband said about the alarms :ROFLMAO: Imagine the chaos lol
 
The whole making the decision you think is safe and then realizing "Welp, guess I should have just given the whole dose" will happen a lot. 😅 I still have the question sometimes, but I also remember hating the "You'll start to see patterns and understand your cat and what you should do" answer because it felt like it took a billion years. But it does get easier.
 
Yeah, nothing in my reading really prepared me for him to have a cycle that was just a line down, not a curve down and back up, haha. He does seem to have later nadirs in general so I guess it won't surprise me if it happens again.
 
Yeah, nothing in my reading really prepared me for him to have a cycle that was just a line down, not a curve down and back up, haha. He does seem to have later nadirs in general so I guess it won't surprise me if it happens again.
I don't think this is the case with Esse at the moment because there wasn't really anything to bounce from, but as an anecdote that may be helpful later: for the first several months I also thought Xander had super late nadirs (sometimes 2 hours into the next dose!) and I finally saw over a lot of time that this happened when a bounce broke. Bounce-breaking cycles are characterized by numbers that drop the entire cycle with no clear nadir (and often continue into the next dose). To me it seemed like every cycle looked that way, so it couldn't be bouncing and must just be how he "is." Nah, it was bouncing. Like, all the time. He's still a bouncy boy but now that I've had at least some good normal cycles it's easier to look back and see the difference. It took a lot of time for that much data to build up though (for us at least).
 
One of the things I can see about Esse is that he tends to run flat (until every now and then when he doesn't :p and throws a green!). Even his higher cycles are flat. Look at 6/7: almost an entire day at one bg number: 400. The good news is that Lantus is designed to create flat cycles, and it looks like it's already doing that for Esse. His lower number cycles are a bit less flat, but still pretty flat. Just good data for you on a go-forward basis. It's one of those "know thy cat" pieces of data.
 
Good for you on shooting the 1.5 units today. And as everyone said, last night was a chance to gather data. The first few blue, then green preshots Neko gave me, she headed right up after the shot. Gave me some confidence the next time I saw those lower preshots. The other piece of data that helps confidently shoot lower preshots is getting an idea how much of a numbers bump they'll get from their food. Getting a few +1 test data once he's in better preshots will help with that. Lantus onset is 2-3 hours after the shot, so they'll keep going up until then. As long as it's not one of those bounce breaking cycles.
 
Look at 6/7: almost an entire day at one bg number: 400.
I should add a comment in the spreadsheet about this, but the Libre caps out at "HI" which is 400+, so I've just been putting 400 in there as an indicator to get the right color when we don't know the exact number. I suspect that he is not THAT far above 400 during these times (or could even be slightly under, since we know the Libre's highs are overinflated) but he isn't technically just 400 that whole time. I agree with you though that generally his cycles are pretty flat, even in those yellow/pink numbers.
The other piece of data that helps confidently shoot lower preshots is getting an idea how much of a numbers bump they'll get from their food.
This is actually my favorite thing about the Libre so far, I can visually see those "food bumps" on the graph! Like in this screenshot from yesterday--he snacked around noon and again around 6 and I can see the result!
 
Back
Top