6/15 Bat Boy AMPS 396 | Feline Diabetes Management Board

6/15 Bat Boy AMPS 396

justemg

Member
Bat Boy may have gotten a fur shot or only a partial shot at 6 pm last night. His numbers would indicate this. With TR do I need to hold this dose for another 6 cycles now before I can increase?
 
By the way, I hope you are feeling more comfortable in learning about how to treat Bat Boy--most everyone here can attest that it's very overwhelming to begin with. And I hope you are getting some much needed rest right now, as well.
 
Hi Molly, Here is the sticky on counting doses that mentions what to do in the event of a furshot.
Counting Cycles - Reminder (LLB)
Thank you - I hadn't seen this particular sticky yet. I am learning how to treat him "the hard way" lol. It's been difficult because of his IBD and high carb diet for the first several months. I had to start over when I changed him to all low carb and am now trying to manage the IBD secondarily. I feel like the window to perhaps get him into remission is closing rapidly. I read a study that indicated that if they are well regulated in the first 6 months post diagnosis there is an 85% chance of remission, after 6 months that falls to 35% (not that I want to dash anyone else's hopes - 35% is still better than zero).
 
Last edited:
Thank you - I hadn't seen this particular sticky yet. I am learning how to treat him "the hard way" lol. It's been difficult because of his IBD and high carb diet for the first several months. I had to start over when I changed him to all low carb and am now trying to manage the IBD secondarily. I feel like the window to perhaps get him into remission is closing rapidly. I read a study that indicated that if they are well regulated in the first 6 months post diagnosis there is an 85% chance of remission, after 6 months that falls to 35%.
Don't worry about that window right now. Just focus on regulation. You're doing the best you can for him right now--and I want to encourage you in that! And it's especially difficult when you've got multiple issues to contend with, like IBD along with the FD (along with your own health issues). By the way, how is his IBD with the food changes?

Also, when you get a chance, can you fill in the information at the top of his spreadsheet: Dx date, presence of ketones, etc. Usually the first thing the helpers look at when you need them is your spreadsheet, and if they need information (especially in a hurry), having it on the spreadsheet helps them help you.
 
I read a study that indicated that if they are well regulated in the first 6 months post diagnosis there is an 85% chance of remission, after 6 months that falls to 35% (not that I want to dash anyone else's hopes - 35% is still better than zero).
Someone told me this when I started too and you feel that pressure. One thing I’ll say, there have been plenty of cats fall into that 35%!
 
Don't worry about that window right now. Just focus on regulation. You're doing the best you can for him right now--and I want to encourage you in that! And it's especially difficult when you've got multiple issues to contend with, like IBD along with the FD (along with your own health issues). By the way, how is his IBD with the food changes?

Also, when you get a chance, can you fill in the information at the top of his spreadsheet: Dx date, presence of ketones, etc. Usually the first thing the helpers look at when you need them is your spreadsheet, and if they need information (especially in a hurry), having it on the spreadsheet helps them help you.
If you go to the full history tab on the spreadsheet all that history is there.

People here were getting confused about why his dose dropped from 4.5 Units down to where it is now with the food change (they did not notice the food changes) so I created the new tab for low carb diet. I am not focused on the window. There’s nothing I can do about that. Simply thinking out loud.
 
Someone told me this when I started too and you feel that pressure. One thing I’ll say, there have been plenty of cats fall into that 35%!
Thank you, glad to hear that! Our other diabetic cat years ago went into remission after 3 weeks and stayed there the rest of his life (8 yrs). I suppose I was spoiled 😀😬
 
Dang it, sorry I missed that again!! I even copied it so I could paste it in before I started today’s post 🤦‍♀️
 
@justemg

Hi Molly on your spreadsheet above where it says current insulin you need to put the date Bat Boy was diagnosed with diabetes, you have the number 235 ? only because so members don't have to keep going back to your signature to find out . Also
If he had ketones or DKA if so add that to the top of your spreadsheet where it asks you
 
Last edited:
I feel like the window to perhaps get him into remission is closing rapidly. I read a study that indicated that if they are well regulated in the first 6 months post diagnosis there is an 85% chance of remission, after 6 months that falls to 35% (not that I want to dash anyone else's hopes - 35% is still better than zero).
Molly never lose hope. It took 2 yrs and 4 months to get Tyler into remission. . He was in remission for over 3 years . He passed away from cancer. He was 16 and 4 months old
If it wasn't for that I truly believe he still would be in remission. So don't give up hope ❤️
@justemg
Thanks for filling in the top of your spreadsheet with the date Bat Boy was diagnosed 😊
 
Last edited:
Molly never lose hope. It took 2 yrs and 4 months to get Tyler into remission. . He was in remission for over 3 years . He passed away from cancer.
If it wasn't for that I truly believe he still would be in remission. So don't give up hope ❤️
@justemg
Wow! I am amazed. I am so sorry that you lost Tyler to cancer, my condolences ❤️ We lost our 12 year old, Maximus, to colon cancer and our 9 year old to lung cancer of all things. Rough to have their lovely lives cut short!

For some odd reason Bat Boy is going low tonight, even after the likely fur shot last night. 🤷‍♀️ go figure…
 
Wow! I am amazed. I am so sorry that you lost Tyler to cancer, my condolences ❤️ We lost our 12 year old, Maximus, to colon cancer and our 9 year old to lung cancer of all things. Rough to have their lovely lives cut short!

For some odd reason Bat Boy is going low tonight, even after the likely fur shot last night. 🤷‍♀️ go figure…
I'm so sorry about the loss of your fur babies.
It really sucks doesn't it.
Tyler was 16 and 4 months old when he passed
His brother Perry passed away from kidney disease at age 12 .
So like I said never give up hope about remission
He such a handsome kitty 😊
 
I'm so sorry about the loss of your fur babies.
It really sucks doesn't it.
Tyler was 16 and 4 months old when he passed
His brother Perry passed away from kidney disease at age 12 .
So like I said never give up hope about remission
He such a handsome kitty 😊
Oh man, they were both too young…but 12… 😭. Relative to us they have such a short life span so I really feel that they are cheated when they go so young. I wonder if the trees think that of us humans…or if they even think of us at all 😉
 
It’s like the lack of insulin last night reset his system and now he’s going lower tonight. Is that possible?

Maybe it is a reset and now he has new dose wonkiness again. That does seems to happen in the second or third cycle after a dose increase - he goes nice and low. After that he goes up and stays there 😬
 
Last edited:
Back
Top