6/15, Bell, AMPS 304 +4 215 +8 98 +10 67 PMPS 65 | Feline Diabetes Management Board

6/15, Bell, AMPS 304 +4 215 +8 98 +10 67 PMPS 65

Seth&Bell

Active member
Yesterday

Dang, I don't like this seesaw thing Bell is doing! She's clearing bounces super fast tho (BBBB). It seems like she needs to be "overdosed" to get over these bounces. Even though she's still hitting low greens, it is almost like the dose isn't strong enough to overcome the bounces, if that makes sense. On the other hand, one might say that these sharp drops in BG are what is triggering the bounces. Maybe a little bit of both! I tried something new today and started adding a bit of MC after her +8. It seemed to have smoothed out the back end of her drop and bit, so that's good. I am still new to using carbs as a tool (outside of after she earns a reduction), so I imagine I'll need to refine the strategy a bit if she continues seesawing. She doesn't feel well during these big swings in BG, unfortunately.

SS is still looking 🔥, even with the bounces of late.
 
Great strategy to manipulate with the carbs. So, I know that Bell is different because of her IAA, but I wonder if Wendy's guideline would apply to Bell. Wendy basically says to compare the +2 value to the preshot value. She says, "If the values are about the same, it's a normal Lantus cycle with some downward movement. If the value of +2 is quite a bit lower, then it's more active and needs more attention paid." And when she says "more attention paid," she's referring to kitty dropping low and the caregiver's need to carb manipulate. So would it be worth it to look at those +2 and +3 values, compare them to the PS, and if Bell has dropped significantly, start carb manipulation then (like yesterday's AM cycle)? Perhaps you are already doing that.
 
Great strategy to manipulate with the carbs. So, I know that Bell is different because of her IAA, but I wonder if Wendy's guideline would apply to Bell. Wendy basically says to compare the +2 value to the preshot value. She says, "If the values are about the same, it's a normal Lantus cycle with some downward movement. If the value of +2 is quite a bit lower, then it's more active and needs more attention paid." And when she says "more attention paid," she's referring to kitty dropping low and the caregiver's need to carb manipulate. So would it be worth it to look at those +2 and +3 values, compare them to the PS, and if Bell has dropped significantly, start carb manipulation then (like yesterday's AM cycle)? Perhaps you are already doing that.
Hi Mary, thanks so much for the input. I always try to get a +2 (or a +1 if i have to rush into work). With Bell I've found that it is a good indicator of an active cycle if the +2 is below the preshot. She's so wonky these days that I don't always trust that she's fine when the +2 is higher than the preshot (see 6/2 AM cycle). All you folks know this as well, but it is such a weird mix of balancing sleep with keeping kitties safe. Tonight I'm now debating whether I can go to bed without an alarm because she's been gradually increasing from her +2 (which was lower than the preshot). Like you said, I think I need to find a good mechanism of getting higher carbs in her earlier when it seems probable that she is going to drop.

Famous last words, but it seems like the carb manipulation in the AM cycle did prevent a big bounce in the PM cycles, which is good
 
Back
Top