6/16 Egon AMPS 270 | Feline Diabetes Management Board

6/16 Egon AMPS 270

Last post

Another furshot…. He’s started to get more wiggly with his injections and as he pulls away from me it just shoots out the side. It’s a bummer because I used to rarely ever get furshots and this is very frustrating…

We have our appointment with the specialist this morning to talk about Acromegaly/IGF1, IAA, and anything else that comes up. I’m hoping it gives us some answers, I just really hope those aren’t really expensive answers…..
 
Did I give you this link previously: Testing and Shooting Tips I found the roll method helped reduce the number of fur shots I gave. Do you think he's reacting to the shot, or the insulin? Are you holding the syringe for a little bit between your fingers to warm the insulin before injecting? As you get to larger doses, the insulin does become more noticeable for them.

I see a sweet little preshot of 66 in there since your last post. 💚. I still would have gotten a test after that fur shot, as he could have still been on his way down. Plus sometimes more insulin gets in that we think it did.

If acro, cabergoline is a reasonably priced option, and doesn't involve travel. If IAA, it's just time - the antibodies fade away over time. Blood work is a good first step, and hopefully the most expensive part of it.
 
@Wendy&Neko In the past I've gotten more furshots with the roll method, but it may be time to mix it up and try that again. I do warm it in my armpit. I am guessing that shots were a struggle with the sitter as his wiggly-ness got much worse after that. Hopefully he'll chill out again soon.

The specialist said, just off initial exam, she highly suspects Acromegaly. But we sent tests for Acro and IAA since they both go to the same place. She also says he has a murmur and suspects an enlarged heart which is common with acro. She wanted to do X-rays but we are going to wait and do those with the primary if thats still needed after the Acro results come back because it'll be cheaper over there.

Now we wait for results.... Thank you for the note about Cabergoline. I'll be sure to mention that to our vet.
 
Also the specialist said that she's worried about any BGs under 100. I told her I was using a human meter and she said I really should be using the AlphaTrak... I said not with the price of those strips for how much I test, but I told her I can do that to spot check and confirm low numbers. She was recommending a decrease any time we go under 100. Should I stick with TR or go with her advice?
 
To check the heart, an echocardiogram tells you much more than an x-ray will. Unfortunately, that usually means a cardiologist vet so not as cheap. Neko also had a murmur, but the cardio vet said it was just an age related thing. Her heart was also marginally above average range, but since she had Maine Coon in her, that also not surprising. We didn't do any treatment at the time. The cardio vet said just to have the primary vet check her each time she saw her, and verify that heart murmur level stayed the same and in same place.

See paper I attached to this post. Might be worth sharing with your vet:

New paper on: Cabergoline treatment in cats with diabetes mellitus and hypersomatotropism


Also the specialist said that she's worried about any BGs under 100. I told her I was using a human meter and she said I really should be using the AlphaTrak... I said not with the price of those strips for how much I test, but I told her I can do that to spot check and confirm low numbers. She was recommending a decrease any time we go under 100. Should I stick with TR or go with her advice?
Smile and nod your head at the specialist, and follow TR. From my experience of many higher dose cats here, TR is a better option. However, don't forget those PM second tests. They are essential to keep Egon safe. If you go with treatment, then I have some suggested modifications of reduction points. The IM vet at Colorado State University suggested I use 70 as a reduction point instead of 50, and that worked really well when Neko's dose was on a downward trend. I have a couple other thoughts should you get to that point.

I also wouldn't bother with the AT - it won't give you additional information. Oddly enough, many vets now push the Libre which is a human meter. Back in the day when I started, and before the AT was invented much less marketed heavily to vets, all vets used human meters. I used to have discussions with my vet on cheapest place to buy strips.
 
Ok. Amazing!!!! Thank you so much Wendy for all of the info. I feel better being armed with info for my vet and it’s nice to know there’s an option besides radiology which seemed to be the only thing she knew about and is not in my budget. Egon is part Maine Coon also so that’s interesting. I didn’t know there was an increased prevalence in the breed.

And that’s what I thought (re:numbers under 100) 😅👍

Now we wait for results!
 
Back
Top