6/16 - PHOEBE - amps - 63. dose reduction from last night's 49 | Feline Diabetes Management Board

6/16 - PHOEBE - amps - 63. dose reduction from last night's 49

Eva eva

Member
6/15 - PHOEBE - amps 87

Phoebe dose down to 2.25 units. She has been so good and patient
I have been distracted lately and unable to do all her sugars. but I knew I needed data so before bed I did numbers and found she was going lower
we got her up and now she has a reduction.
I did learn on long term diabetics the buy a dose reduction is 40 and not 50. However, we went down as her numbers have been so good.
I feel bad I may have missed a low one that she may have needed more treatment. She does eat when she gets low.
but the past few days she is throwing up in the am before she eats. she does eat her breakfast and doesn't throw it up and I give her the insulin right after she eats.
she also has large sized poop. and sometimes she howls when she poops. she did it right in front of me! I have added psyllium husk to her am food. I want to be cautious. it is just a tiny pinch. Is that how much she should get?
I also add a little more water to her food and she only gets moist food. I don't see her drink alot. The others drink but she doesn't. Any tricks to get them to drink more?

@Bandit's Mom @Wendy&Neko @Diane Tyler's Mom GA @Max@tif+chai&mocha2
 
but the past few days she is throwing up in the am before she eats.
Is there a long gap between the last meal at night and breakfast? What does the puke look like?



she also has large sized poop. and sometimes she howls when she poops. she did it right in front of me! I have added psyllium husk to her am food. I want to be cautious. it is just a tiny pinch. Is that how much she should get?
Is the poop dry and hard? Does she look like she's straining to poop? Does she puke after pooping?

Psyllium husk - they say to start with 1/8th tsp once a day and see if that's enough.
 
Is there a long gap between the last meal at night and breakfast? What does the puke look like?

I leave food out from dinner time to am. 3/4 patty raw rabbit and 1 fancy feast can of food. up on her spot to eat. I usually check to make sure there is something to snack on during night. And she also steals from the other kitties food. there's is MC and lc. It is about a span of 8 hours during my sleep that she can eat or not. There is occasion I get up and all bowls are empty.
Is the poop dry and hard? Does she look like she's straining to poop? Does she puke after pooping?

Psyllium husk - they say to start with 1/8th tsp once a day and see if that's enough.
The poop is hard and almost sandy sometimes. Yes she does look like she is straining. The one time she meowed when she was trying to poop. No she doesn't puke after pooping, I think most time she pukes them poops. She has also pooped right in front of me and I can see she strains and is straining. I do have that psyllium husk and I will make sure it is 1/8th teaspoon daily.
 
Spread out the psyllium husk over multiple meals so it's not all at once. If you start with a pinch, you want to increase the dose slowly.

Asking the same question as Bhooma, what does the vomit look like? Food, foamy, yellow? When does she get her PM meals?
 
Spread out the psyllium husk over multiple meals so it's not all at once. If you start with a pinch, you want to increase the dose slowly.

Asking the same question as Bhooma, what does the vomit look like? Food, foamy, yellow? When does she get her PM meals?
the vomit is a lot of liquid, no foam, no yellow. mostly tan to brown, maybe some raw rabbit or fancy feast in it. Occasional furball. She starts to howl and then she vomits 2-3 times, each one is less than the other. Today she then she sat in front of the fridge and pooped the dry poop. she kept pumping her tail like she was straining to get it out. I give 3/4 patty Vital Essentials rabbit in am with 1/2-1 can of fancy feast am and pm 12 hours apart. I give a full can of the fancy feast at night for her to nibble on during the time I sleep. She also is able to get to the other cats wet food at night. During the day, if her bowls are empty at the 5-6 hour mark, I add maybe 1/2 can of something. Or a treat of tuna fancy feast, or chicken.
Has the poop changed recently?
the poop has not changed recently that I know. I have 3 other cats. What has changed is her pooping outside the litter. That is totally new. I wonder if Snickers (my terrorizer) scared her while in the litter box and now she won't poop there anymore. I have litters through the house for their privacy. Things have changed in the hierarchy since Jack died.
 
Does she have anything during the day to nibble on? Might be worth a chat with the vet to discuss the poop situation. That's usually an indication something is wrong, though it could be the territory issue. How many litter boxes around your house? Same litter type as always?
 
Does she have anything during the day to nibble on? Might be worth a chat with the vet to discuss the poop situation. That's usually an indication something is wrong, though it could be the territory issue. How many litter boxes around your house? Same litter type as always?
Same litter, large boxes. I have 4 split up throughout the house. She has food to nibble on during day and night. When I am home I always watch to see if she wants to nibble and I have treats. I weigh her weekly and has held the 10lb for 4 months. she was 11.5 lbs a year ago and has dropped to 10 being more monitored on her lc diet.
 
Back
Top