6/18 Bella AMPS 216, +1 250, +7 116, +9 155, PMPS 174, +3 195 | Feline Diabetes Management Board

6/18 Bella AMPS 216, +1 250, +7 116, +9 155, PMPS 174, +3 195

Trying hard to get some spot checks when I can. Her numbers are definitely better today and her breakfast + dinner were a little higher carb (5-7%) but she’s getting tired of the lower carb (2-3%). So we had to give her different foods so she would eat and she finished them both within the hour of giving her food, she typically takes about 2 sometimes 3 hours to finish if it’s not a preferred food.
 
Linking your previous post for continuity:
? - Bella AMPS 276, +1 240, +5.5 139, PMPS 247 *advice please

What is her feeding schedule like i.e. when in the cycle does she get food
We’re eastern time. So she gets her shots at 7 am + pm and that’s with her breakfast + dinner. Her snacks are +6 AMPS and +3 PMPS.

And like I just checked her before her AM dose and she’s 287. Like did she bounce? Is it the food I gave her for dinner? This is why it’s so frustrating because it’s seems like the insulin isn’t always working. My husband says the shots are going in.
 
Last edited:
Can I ask a favor? It's a housekeeping issue...

Please include the date in your subject line. The Lantus board uses a particular format for the subject line because it's such a busy board. For today, your subject line should read: 6/19 Bella AMPS 216, +1 250, etc.

Including the date ensures that we're responding to your most recent post.
 
The reason I asked about feeding schedule was because (a) feeding late in the cycle can reduce the duration of insulin and lead to higher preshots and (b) I was wondering if she was getting snacks in the first part of the cycle to prevent sharp drops to BG at onset which can also contribute to bouncing.

Does she get her +6 snack with a timed autofeeder? Does that close/rotate to an empty spot to ensure she doesn't eat the food closer to preshot? Would it be possible to switch her snack times to say +2 and +4 (or even +3) in both cycles?

In your previous condo Sienne has suggested that you can increase her dose:
? - Bella AMPS 276, +1 240, +5.5 139, PMPS 247 *advice please

Maybe she just needs a little more insulin for some time to get back to good numbers? (If she looks like she doesn't have anything else going on. How do her teeth look?)
 
Can I ask a favor? It's a housekeeping issue...

Please include the date in your subject line. The Lantus board uses a particular format for the subject line because it's such a busy board. For today, your subject line should read: 6/19 Bella AMPS 216, +1 250, etc.

Including the date ensures that we're responding to your most recent post.
Omg sorry I didn’t realize I forgot it. It’s been awhile since I’ve posted isn’t he forum.
 
The reason I asked about feeding schedule was because (a) feeding late in the cycle can reduce the duration of insulin and lead to higher preshots and (b) I was wondering if she was getting snacks in the first part of the cycle to prevent sharp drops to BG at onset which can also contribute to bouncing.

Does she get her +6 snack with a timed autofeeder? Does that close/rotate to an empty spot to ensure she doesn't eat the food closer to preshot? Would it be possible to switch her snack times to say +2 and +4 (or even +3) in both cycles?

In your previous condo Sienne has suggested that you can increase her dose:
? - Bella AMPS 276, +1 240, +5.5 139, PMPS 247 *advice please

Maybe she just needs a little more insulin for some time to get back to good numbers? (If she looks like she doesn't have anything else going on. How do her teeth look?)
Her teeth look fine from what I can see. Her snacks don’t typically go in an auto feeder because my husband is usually home to give her the +6 AMPS snack and it’s usually finished +4 before her PM shot. At night we give her a snack +3 PMPS. Sometimes in the morning she doesn’t always finish her food until +2 or +3 AMPS so that’s why we don’t typically give her a snack at that time and why he gives it to her +6 when he gets home.

Yes I saw the suggestion to increase and I was waiting for a reply. I wanted to know if we raise her to 0.5 so we have to wait till she gets a 50 to reduce her? Doing that I feel like we are going backwards and lost all the progress we’ve made. She was going so good on 0.15.
 
Ok that’s what I thought. I hate that we have to pretty much start over all because of bad insulin. A week before we used the bad insulin she got a 55 reading and she was going in the right direction and now I feel like we literally have to start from scratch and we’re getting farther away from remission. 😞
 
Back
Top