6/18 Esse AMPS 303 +6 152 | Feline Diabetes Management Board

6/18 Esse AMPS 303 +6 152

@Staci & Ivy @Brianna & Xander What do y'all think about the situations where the Libre low alarm goes off but when the numbers "average out" or whatever 20 minutes later, that low # is missing from the graph?

He just hit 54 and the alarm went off but after spending a few minutes trying to get a second handheld meter test in while he ate a medium carb snack (no luck on that test), I checked the app and it says he was in the 80s then.
 
@Staci & Ivy @Brianna & Xander What do y'all think about the situations where the Libre low alarm goes off but when the numbers "average out" or whatever 20 minutes later, that low # is missing from the graph?

He just hit 54 and the alarm went off but after spending a few minutes trying to get a second handheld meter test in while he ate a medium carb snack (no luck on that test), I checked the app and it says he was in the 80s then.
I often had that problem too when trying to verify (not that it ever worked). If the Libre removes it from the chart after (when you scroll your finger back along the time, if it no longer has that number in that spot) I tend to assume it was inaccurate and it accommodated for it by updating the chart to what it thinks likely happened instead. Does that make sense? If it keeps the number on the chart even later, I would assume it's real.
 
I often had that problem too when trying to verify (not that it ever worked). If the Libre removes it from the chart after (when you scroll your finger back along the time, if it no longer has that number in that spot) I tend to assume it was inaccurate and it accommodated for it by updating the chart to what it thinks likely happened instead. Does that make sense? If it keeps the number on the chart even later, I would assume it's real.
Okay, that's about what I was thinking. The two Contour meter numbers we got were lower than what "stuck" on his chart but not as low as it said when the alarm went off.
 
Okay, that's about what I was thinking. The two Contour meter numbers we got were lower than what "stuck" on his chart but not as low as it said when the alarm went off.
I agree with Brianna. It’s good you were able to test him with your contour meter and he was in the same range so that’s good. You know things are accurate.

I think you have to sort of look at the overall picture too, if he he’s really hitting a lot of those lower numbers, then you want to think about the trends of where he’s spending his time.

If he’s lingering in the 50s on the Libre and you’re checking them on the contour and you’re getting similar numbers, then you know where he really is and then you can make a decision of when to reduce.

If I see Ivy lingering in long stretches of lower number than I want her to be for a few cycles, that’s when I may shave the dose down (with my calipers a little bit) to try to keep her out of that lower range.
But you’ll have to figure out what works for both of you as you progress.
You’re asking all the right questions, and good job testing those low numbers 😻
Safe surfing Esse! 🌊🏄‍♂️
And good luck with the new Libre tomorrow 🙏
 
We may have overdone it a little on the MC food but it was our first alarm, haha. Good practice for us. But yeah, it seems like the pattern I'm seeing with him is the first day on a new dose (esp. coming off of a bounce) is a steep dive, then it'll level out a bit. So fingers crossed he doesn't drop again before we shoot tonight because I'd like to do the full dose!
And good luck with the new Libre tomorrow 🙏
Thanks! Can you believe that following Brianna's instructions got us (almost) the full 14 days on our first try doing it ourselves? Better results than we could have hoped for!
 
We may have overdone it a little on the MC food but it was our first alarm, haha. Good practice for us. But yeah, it seems like the pattern I'm seeing with him is the first day on a new dose (esp. coming off of a bounce) is a steep dive, then it'll level out a bit. So fingers crossed he doesn't drop again before we shoot tonight because I'd like to do the full dose!

Thanks! Can you believe that following Brianna's instructions got us (almost) the full 14 days on our first try doing it ourselves? Better results than we could have hoped for!
That makes me so happy!!! I had a really rough day with Libre application today so it's a nice reminder that it does usually work lol
 
Back
Top