6/2 Binx AMPS 187, +2 230 | Feline Diabetes Management Board

6/2 Binx AMPS 187, +2 230

We have our cardiologist appointment this Thursday and then will look to book in his dental shortly afterward!
Hey Briana! Apologies for not knowing this as you’ve probably talked about it already, but is the cardiologist appointment in preparation for the dental?

I’m looking to schedule a dental as well and vet says she is comfortable doing it, but I’m wondering what she’s basing that off of without any further tests.
 
Hey Briana! Apologies for not knowing this as you’ve probably talked about it already, but is the cardiologist appointment in preparation for the dental?

I’m looking to schedule a dental as well and vet says she is comfortable doing it, but I’m wondering what she’s basing that off of without any further tests.
No worries, Tim! It's in prep for the dental, yea. Mostly because my last vet (not a lot of faith there) said they had heard a heart murmur from Binx. My new/current vet said they don't hear one, but out of an abundance of caution we booked this appointment with the cardiologist. My understanding is if there are any heart issues, the anesthesia can be more risky. They can still do the dental, but would need to adjust the protocol.
I don't think it's standard to need it done beforehand, but my vet also said that ideally before anything they go under for, it's good to make sure all is well with their heart. Might be good to see what others have done pre-dental!
 
Hi Briana
Is your cardiologist appointment at one of the referral clinics around Toronto? I'm just wondering if so which one?
Good luck on Thursday ✨🙏🤗🐈‍⬛
Thanks, Karolina 😊😊
My new vet actually has a visiting cardiologist they use, so everything will be in-house. Makes me wonder though, if you're comfortable sharing, how much your appointment was? I've been told it's about $700-$800.
 
Thanks, Karolina 😊😊
My new vet actually has a visiting cardiologist they use, so everything will be in-house. Makes me wonder though, if you're comfortable sharing, how much your appointment was? I've been told it's about $700-$800.
Nestle didn't have a cardiologist appointment before the dental. We had pre-surgical blood work done and the vet listened to his heart. The day of they did GFAST which is an ultrasound of the heart, kidneys and liver to ensure everything is in order before they started. I can check how much was the ultrasound once I'm home but I think it was around $400. Hope that helps.
 
Nestle didn't have a cardiologist appointment before the dental. We had pre-surgical blood work done and the vet listened to his heart. The day of they did GFAST which is an ultrasound of the heart, kidneys and liver to ensure everything is in order before they started. I can check how much was the ultrasound once I'm home but I think it was around $400. Hope that helps.
Yes, very helpful! Thanks, Karolina 🤗 Makes sense that they'd do it all together if they're just making sure all is right.
 
Back
Top