6/21 - Xander | AMPS 318, +6 116, PMPS 368 - Increase tomorrow? | Feline Diabetes Management Board

6/21 - Xander | AMPS 318, +6 116, PMPS 368 - Increase tomorrow?

Brianna & Xander

Active member
6/20/25

Edit: Wondering if I should increase tomorrow morning or wait to see if these highs are related to the skin issue/wearing a cone/using Animax that started on 6/18. I don't even know what to make of his numbers today. He was wildly up and down all day to the point where even the Libre was confused about what was going on. @Staci & Ivy - does Ivy's chart ever look like this? This just seems really wild.

1750563755430.png

Had some action last night! :D We almost never get any action at night, just flat yellow with some pinks. Not sure if this was so much a bounce break because there was a nadir around +7.5. I woke up and saw he had dropped pretty quickly from the mid-blues to 78. Breakfast was still almost 2 hours away so I gave him a little bit of the 7% blend. The Libre removed the 78 and shows a nadir of 103 though (almost green!) so it must've been a pressure low. Still, action! At night!

We're a few minutes away from +1 and have already dropped by ~30% so it looks like it's gonna be a very active day. :oops: Guess I'll start with some 15%! Wish us luck for some surfing and not diving. 😬 Edit: Went with the 20% instead. Usually on lime dive days I'm told I should've started with a higher carb food than I did so this time I pulled out the big guns. We'll see what happens. Hopefully I helped the descent instead of launching him into space. Edit 2: Sigh. Well, immediately after feeding him, Libre went into sensor error mode for a good half hour and came back at 348. So. Not sure if that's the bump or if it was wrong to begin with.

Happy Saturday!
 
Last edited:
6/20/25

Had some action last night! :D We almost never get any action at night, just flat yellow with some pinks. Not sure if this was so much a bounce break because there was a nadir around +7.5. I woke up and saw he had dropped pretty quickly from the mid-blues to 78. Breakfast was still almost 2 hours away so I gave him a little bit of the 7% blend. The Libre removed the 78 and shows a nadir of 103 though (almost green!) so it must've been a pressure low. Still, action! At night!

We're a few minutes away from +1 and have already dropped by ~30% so it looks like it's gonna be a very active day. :oops: Guess I'll start with some 15%! Wish us luck for some surfing and not diving. 😬 Edit: Went with the 20% instead. Usually on lime dive days I'm told I should've started with a higher carb food than I did so this time I pulled out the big guns. We'll see what happens. Hopefully I helped the descent instead of launching him into space. Edit 2: Sigh. Well, immediately after feeding him, Libre went into sensor error mode for a good half hour and came back at 348. So. Not sure if that's the bump or if it was wrong to begin with.

Happy Saturday!
Wow, quite a blue streak last night!!!
How’s Xander feeling? How’s the itching and the flower 💐 power cone going?
Great job working the carbs to keep him safe, Brianna! 💙💚
I hope you can relax this weekend and you are both feeling better.
Sending hugs to you and that sweet boy 🐈‍⬛💕😻💕🫂
 
Wow, quite a blue streak last night!!!
How’s Xander feeling? How’s the itching and the flower 💐 power cone going?
Great job working the carbs to keep him safe, Brianna! 💙💚
I hope you can relax this weekend and you are both feeling better.
Sending hugs to you and that sweet boy 🐈‍⬛💕😻💕🫂
He hasn't been trying to scratch at all since the cone went on! Been putting on the Animax once a day. The spots are turning kinda yellow and crusty (like the ointment). Dunno if that's a good sign or not.

Thanks, Staci! I hope you're able to get some rest now that Ivy's come back up to the blues too. Hugs back for you and your girl! 🌸💙🌸💙
 
I'm sorry you had such a wonky cycle today. I'm wondering if you're strictly relying on the Libre or do you also hand test to compare the numbers?

Hopefully tomorrow goes better
Happy Caturday 🐈‍⬛🤗✨🍃🍃🍃🍃✨🤗💕
 
I'm sorry you had such a wonky cycle today. I'm wondering if you're strictly relying on the Libre or do you also hand test to compare the numbers?

Hopefully tomorrow goes better
Happy Caturday 🐈‍⬛🤗✨🍃🍃🍃🍃✨🤗💕
I wish, but unfortunately we can't hand test. All we've got is the Libre. I don't know if this one is just unreliable (it's in a different spot than usual out of necessity thanks to his skin thing going on) or if his numbers are just wonky as heck.

Thanks, Karolina! 💖💖💖
 
I wish, but unfortunately we can't hand test. All we've got is the Libre. I don't know if this one is just unreliable (it's in a different spot than usual out of necessity thanks to his skin thing going on) or if his numbers are just wonky as heck.

Thanks, Karolina! 💖💖💖
Right. I thought I remembered you saying in the past that you can't really hand test and that's why you got the Libre. I just couldn't remeber furniture and it's late here and my brain is a bit foggy.
Hopefully it's just the Libre acting out and not sweet Xander.
PS. please post more photos of him being a purple flower 🐈‍⬛💜
 
Right. I thought I remembered you saying in the past that you can't really hand test and that's why you got the Libre. I just couldn't remeber furniture and it's late here and my brain is a bit foggy.
Hopefully it's just the Libre acting out and not sweet Xander.
PS. please post more photos of him being a purple flower 🐈‍⬛💜
No problem! There are a lot of us to keep track of and we're all busy taking care of our babies first and foremost! :)

I'm also hoping it's just a weird thing going on and not Xander himself.

Haha, I will! It was already stained on the first day (he's slob when he eats 😂) but I only have the one so I can't switch it out to wash it yet.
 
It's been 4 days since that stretch of low greens of 6/17 with almost no greens since. You are good for an increase from tomorrow.

Any kind of infection/inflammation or pain can elevate numbers, but there's no need for him to hang around in higher numbers. If he earns a reduction once the skin issue is sorted out, you can reduce.
 
6/20/25

Edit: Wondering if I should increase tomorrow morning or wait to see if these highs are related to the skin issue/wearing a cone/using Animax that started on 6/18. I don't even know what to make of his numbers today. He was wildly up and down all day to the point where even the Libre was confused about what was going on. @Staci & Ivy - does Ivy's chart ever look like this? This just seems really wild.

View attachment 617

Had some action last night! :D We almost never get any action at night, just flat yellow with some pinks. Not sure if this was so much a bounce break because there was a nadir around +7.5. I woke up and saw he had dropped pretty quickly from the mid-blues to 78. Breakfast was still almost 2 hours away so I gave him a little bit of the 7% blend. The Libre removed the 78 and shows a nadir of 103 though (almost green!) so it must've been a pressure low. Still, action! At night!

We're a few minutes away from +1 and have already dropped by ~30% so it looks like it's gonna be a very active day. :oops: Guess I'll start with some 15%! Wish us luck for some surfing and not diving. 😬 Edit: Went with the 20% instead. Usually on lime dive days I'm told I should've started with a higher carb food than I did so this time I pulled out the big guns. We'll see what happens. Hopefully I helped the descent instead of launching him into space. Edit 2: Sigh. Well, immediately after feeding him, Libre went into sensor error mode for a good half hour and came back at 348. So. Not sure if that's the bump or if it was wrong to begin with.

Happy Saturday!
Hi Brianna, just seeing this now about the high cycle yesterday (it was late here when you posted and our time difference). 😘

Anyway, yes sometimes Ivy’s chart just seems weird too.
But there’s several things going on right now with Xander.
You have the Libre in a different spot than normal, you have some kind of reaction going on with his skin that you’re trying to get calmed down with medication, and you have a reduction in place from a few days ago.
So it’s hard to know exactly what’s going on and why the graph is higher.

That’s always the hardest thing when there’s multiple things happening and you’re trying to isolate and understand and get an answer.

I suppose you could try an increase as Bhooma suggested and see what the result is.

Of course you’re home with him, so you will monitor closely and if you see any issues, you have all the tools in higher carbs in place.

And of course you have the Libre, which will give you an indication of if the insulin is making a big impact.
And you would only be going back to 2.25 units again, which he was on, and see if that can bring him down a bit and if the graph will reflect that.

I’m sorry, but it’s been a rough week.
How is he doing today and how was last night? How’s he doing with the cone?
I hope his skin is looking better. 🙏
When do you think you would be able to take the cone off of him?

Sending you both hugs. You’re doing great. It’s a challenge for sure when things go off kilter 🫩😘
 
I hate to say this but I'm really confused by how your dosing. There have been numerous times that Xander has dropped into truly low numbers and you didn't take a reduction. In addition, with TR you need to evaluate the dose after 3 days/6 cycles. For example, Xander's dose should have been reduced on 6/6. Instead, you held the 2.25u dose for 4 days and then reduced without any indication that a reduction was needed. Having reduced, Xander has been on the 2.0u dose from 6/11 to now. The dose could have been increased on 6/14.

I know you've indicated you're doing some "custom" dosing. I can't figure out how you've customized. There are a few options if you feel that Xander doesn't hold dose reductions. At this point, I'd urge you to follow TR more strictly.
 
I hate to say this but I'm really confused by how your dosing. There have been numerous times that Xander has dropped into truly low numbers and you didn't take a reduction. In addition, with TR you need to evaluate the dose after 3 days/6 cycles. For example, Xander's dose should have been reduced on 6/6. Instead, you held the 2.25u dose for 4 days and then reduced without any indication that a reduction was needed. Having reduced, Xander has been on the 2.0u dose from 6/11 to now. The dose could have been increased on 6/14.

I know you've indicated you're doing some "custom" dosing. I can't figure out how you've customized. There are a few options if you feel that Xander doesn't hold dose reductions. At this point, I'd urge you to follow TR more strictly.

Sorry, I think there may be some confusion. I did reduce on 6/6 (2.5 AM, 2.25 PM). I stopped putting notes about it in the remarks column on Wendy's advice, but I definitely reduced there. Edit: I think maybe where it's confusing is that I had increased from 2.25 to 2.5 on 6/5 PM. The cycle where I got greens was only the second cycle of that dose and I had to go right back down. So it may look like there was no 2.5 at quick glance, but there are 2 cycles of it. Also, I asked for advice in that day's condo and what was recommended was to take the reduction.

1750616177547.png

After that, I held the 2.25 until 6/11 when I got a 40, and reduced again:
1750621178826.png

As far as reductions, since I only have the Libre (which runs low at the low end) to base it on and can't verify, I'll sometimes disregard a drop <50 if it was for a very short time, only a small amount under, or if the Libre adjusts it out of the graph later as an error. If he goes <40 (LO on the Libre) I reduce (again, unless it was a tiny blip that was most likely an error).

I haven't increased since then because he often also doesn't increase well (nosedives to the limes at the first opportunity, and 6/6 is the perfect example) and sometimes it seems to take him way longer to show what a dose can do than the typical range. For example, I could have increased on 6/14, but on 6/17 he suddenly started showing a big streak of green. To me, that implies that if I had increased earlier, it would've been too much and I'd've just immediately had to decrease again. It could be flawed, but his tendency to show action super late has just been what I've noticed over time.
 
Last edited:
It's been 4 days since that stretch of low greens of 6/17 with almost no greens since. You are good for an increase from tomorrow.

Any kind of infection/inflammation or pain can elevate numbers, but there's no need for him to hang around in higher numbers. If he earns a reduction once the skin issue is sorted out, you can reduce.
Thanks, Bhooma! Will do.
 
Hi Brianna, just seeing this now about the high cycle yesterday (it was late here when you posted and our time difference). 😘

Anyway, yes sometimes Ivy’s chart just seems weird too.
But there’s several things going on right now with Xander.
You have the Libre in a different spot than normal, you have some kind of reaction going on with his skin that you’re trying to get calmed down with medication, and you have a reduction in place from a few days ago.
So it’s hard to know exactly what’s going on and why the graph is higher.

That’s always the hardest thing when there’s multiple things happening and you’re trying to isolate and understand and get an answer.

I suppose you could try an increase as Bhooma suggested and see what the result is.

Of course you’re home with him, so you will monitor closely and if you see any issues, you have all the tools in higher carbs in place.

And of course you have the Libre, which will give you an indication of if the insulin is making a big impact.
And you would only be going back to 2.25 units again, which he was on, and see if that can bring him down a bit and if the graph will reflect that.

I’m sorry, but it’s been a rough week.
How is he doing today and how was last night? How’s he doing with the cone?
I hope his skin is looking better. 🙏
When do you think you would be able to take the cone off of him?

Sending you both hugs. You’re doing great. It’s a challenge for sure when things go off kilter 🫩😘
Oh gosh, no problem! I never expect an immediate response; I know we're on opposite coasts. It wasn't urgent, I was just curious.

You're right, there's a bunch of different stuff going on, and that's why I was hesitant to add another factor into the equation. But he was HI for a long time last night (haven't had a chance to update the SS yet but will oc) and I'm not liking that. 😬 The yellows are one thing to wait and see with but all the pink and now red...

Numbers-wise he's been doing badly last night and this morning, but he seems mostly like himself. I've gone back to just the 75 mg of Gaba instead of 100. Still haven't seen him try to get out of the cone at all (🙏🏻 thank god). I stopped using the Animax because the skin is crusted over and it seems like it'll just add build-up at this point. No idea how long it'll take the scabs to heal or when I could cover them. They don't seem to be bothering him much, though I'm sure he'd be licking them like crazy if he could. I'd be afraid to cover anything that's still visibly off in fear of irritating it or reintroducing infection, etc.

Sending you hugs back! Thank you, Staci!
 
Back
Top