6/28 Bella 233, +3 255, +6 227, +7 285, PMPS 257, +3 191 | Feline Diabetes Management Board

6/28 Bella 233, +3 255, +6 227, +7 285, PMPS 257, +3 191

6/27 Bella AMPS 190, +6 139, PMPS 209, +3 188, +4 152

Ugh…she was 152 last night. Just so frustrating. We raised her dose to 0.75 so I’ll give her the time she needs to adjust to it and if we don’t see any real progress, I guess it’s time for a checkup because maybe something is wrong and we don’t see it.

It feels like the insulin isn’t working the way it should especially for her to go from getting numbers from 55-120 to now in the 200s. I’m tired of feeling overwhelmed by this, it’s taking over my life in every way. I live in anxiety for her and what’s going on. But I’m trying to be patient with the new dose. I just hope this insulin pen is okay because it looks like it has these tiny bubbles that we can’t get out, they look stuck. But I’m trying to convince myself that there’s no way it’s the pen again that’s an issue. We had a small heatwave this week and my fridge was struggling to keep cold so the pen was sometimes in the drawer with a higher temp and I kept moving it. I’m just over analyzing everything again. 😭
 
It can really be frustrating trying to get them regulated, especially when she was seeing such nice numbers. Is she showing any symptoms that something might be off? Are her teeth okay? Jude has problems with UTIs and has Feline Interstitial Cystitis, and the main symptom I see when he is having problems is an increase in his bg numbers. But when I say an increase, it's a considerable increase, not what Bella is showing. But if you think there could be something wrong, I would take her in just to rule that out.

As far as the pen bubbles go, I use the vial, so I can't comment, but I believe @Staci & Ivy uses pens, and maybe she can look at the photos you posted yesterday and comment if the bubbles look normal to her.

Let's hope this increase will begin to get Bella back where she belongs.
 
I can totally relate, it is very life altering. 🤗

It is also so frustrating when a seemingly good dose stops working 😫. I always over analyze every little thing that could have caused it but he always just needs more insulin.

How is she acting? No dental issues, food changes, etc?
 
She’s acting fine, nothing out of the ordinary. The one thing I have noticed for maybe a month or so is slight increase in anxiety. She’s spooked more easier, sometimes a little extra vocal (she’s a bengal so they talk a lot), sometimes she can be a little more clingy. Eating regularly, going to the litter box, lots of energy - very playful, grooming normally. Her teeth look ok from what I can see.
 
She’s acting fine, nothing out of the ordinary. The one thing I have noticed for maybe a month or so is slight increase in anxiety. She’s spooked more easier, sometimes a little extra vocal (she’s a bengal so they talk a lot), sometimes she can be a little more clingy. Eating regularly, going to the litter box, lots of energy - very playful, grooming normally. Her teeth look ok from what I can see.
Is it possible that there is a cat outside that she is smelling or even seeing?
 
It can really be frustrating trying to get them regulated, especially when she was seeing such nice numbers. Is she showing any symptoms that something might be off? Are her teeth okay? Jude has problems with UTIs and has Feline Interstitial Cystitis, and the main symptom I see when he is having problems is an increase in his bg numbers. But when I say an increase, it's a considerable increase, not what Bella is showing. But if you think there could be something wrong, I would take her in just to rule that out.

As far as the pen bubbles go, I use the vial, so I can't comment, but I believe @Staci & Ivy uses pens, and maybe she can look at the photos you posted yesterday and comment if the bubbles look normal to her.

Let's hope this increase will begin to get Bella back where she belongs.
I will take a look at my own to see if there are any bubbles and let you know.
 
I checked my pen but it’s almost to the end so not enough space to really see what’s left.
However, here is an unused pen being stored in my fridge, I don’t see any bubbles.
(Do the bubbles only appear once we begin to use a pen??)
Here’s the unused pen:IMG_9036.jpeg
1751151452163.jpeg
 
I checked my pen but it’s almost to the end so not enough space to really see what’s left.
However, here is an unused pen being stored in my fridge, I don’t see any bubbles.
(Do the bubbles only appear once we begin to use a pen??)
Here’s the unused pen:View attachment 732
View attachment 731
The pens that are unused in the box are fine - no bubbles. I start to notice it once the pen is used - I don’t think right after the first time and because my husband is the one does the insulin I don’t know if the pens is the past were the same way. I only started to look once her numbers started to get wonky.
 
The pens that are unused in the box are fine - no bubbles. I start to notice it once the pen is used - I don’t think right after the first time and because my husband is the one does the insulin I don’t know if the pens is the past were the same way. I only started to look once her numbers started to get wonky.
Could he have injected air into the pen?
 
Back
Top