6/29 Tiger PMPS 160 +2 83 | Feline Diabetes Management Board

6/29 Tiger PMPS 160 +2 83

J9pearson

Member
Tiger earning another decrease which will put him at 5u of lantus in the morning. My question is if he continues to go under 90 do I follow SLGS and start decreasing by .25u vs. .5u or should I stick with the .5u due to the acromegaly/carbergoline factor and erring towards conservative approach? Also, any tricks to help with nausea? Seems to be a little better if he has had more water but when he goes a little high he gets lethargic and drinks less.
@Wendy&Neko
 
I'd stick with the 0.5 unit reductions for the moment, until they stop working. For any lurkers, this is only for Tiger's situation, as cabergoline with an acromegalic cat can make a sudden reduction is dose needed. Along with the higher depot, caution is key.

Have you tried tempting him with flavoured liquids? Plain chicken broth, no veggies, onions or garlic. I just boiled some chicken in water. Or tuna juice, again plain tuna no salt or flavourings. It's odd he doesn't drink more in higher numbers, that scenario always meant Neko headed for the water bowl. Some people use a water fountain to try to attract a cat to drink. Neko just stared at it and ignored it.

If that doesn't work, my go to for nausea is ondansetron, but you'd need a vet to wrote a prescription then get it filled at a pharmacy. Some vets prefer Cerenia as an option.
 
I'd stick with the 0.5 unit reductions for the moment, until they stop working. For any lurkers, this is only for Tiger's situation, as cabergoline with an acromegalic cat can make a sudden reduction is dose needed. Along with the higher depot, caution is key.

Have you tried tempting him with flavoured liquids? Plain chicken broth, no veggies, onions or garlic. I just boiled some chicken in water. Or tuna juice, again plain tuna no salt or flavourings. It's odd he doesn't drink more in higher numbers, that scenario always meant Neko headed for the water bowl. Some people use a water fountain to try to attract a cat to drink. Neko just stared at it and ignored it.

If that doesn't work, my go to for nausea is ondansetron, but you'd need a vet to wrote a prescription then get it filled at a pharmacy. Some vets prefer Cerenia as an option.
I appreciate your thoughts. He loves his water fountain at home but is not loving the bowl of water where we are currently (for another week.) He's good when I offer it to him most times. I was thinking about odansetron and giving that a try. I'm hoping there is a chance he will settle into the carbergoline a bit more and not need it on a regular basis. I retested after his +3 to confirm he was surfing and nope! a new curve ball tonight. He was 70 and definetely had increased hunger. Offered a few treats and brought him to his food bowl and he ate. He's resting now but I'm going to test again. I feel confident about sticking with the .5 redeuctions for now after tonights number. I will get at least 2 surfing numbers to make sure he's not dropping further. Extra cautions during this time!
 
A couple other possible techniques to think about. If he's earned a reduction and giving you a preshot lower than you'd like, you can help draining the depot by doing a half dose for that one cycle, then go back to his new earned dose after that. I've even seen someone skip a shot, especially if they weren't going to be around to monitor. The nice thing about SLGS in this situation is that you have a little more margin of error.

Good plan on that extra test tonight.
 
Back
Top