6/5 - Xander | AMPS 309 | Feline Diabetes Management Board

6/5 - Xander | AMPS 309

Brianna & Xander

Active member
6/4/25

What is with these horrible pinks?! 😭 I was so hopeful after 6/2 and apparently his body was just like "Well now I'm not doing it." I really thought we were headed for a bounce-breaking cycle last night, but nope. There was an understandable stress spike with the Libre placement, but he never really recovered.

I know it's a hormone and not a drug, but like... c'mon. How can we have had a near perfect day exactly once and then BAM! Chaos. If I were to increase tonight he would just dive within the first few cycles and earn a reduction. Can we just skip that part and utilize the insulin now instead of going through the whole pointless cycle? Aaaagh. So frustrating.

Seems like the highs are going around right now. I hope everyone else's babies are on their way down!
 
I'm sorry to hear about your struggles. I feel he will brak this bounce today. Purrrrhaps since it was a very green 💚 and lime 🍋 (yes i know it's a lemon 😏) cycle, it was a lot on his little body and he needs to recover. Keep doing what you're doing. You're a great mama to him and we're here for you.

Ps your AMPS is blank
🤗🐈‍⬛🐾💕🤗
 
I'm sorry to hear about your struggles. I feel he will brak this bounce today. Purrrrhaps since it was a very green 💚 and lime 🍋 (yes i know it's a lemon 😏) cycle, it was a lot on his little body and he needs to recover. Keep doing what you're doing. You're a great mama to him and we're here for you.

Ps your AMPS is blank
🤗🐈‍⬛🐾💕🤗
Thanks, Karolina! 🤗 I really hope so. It's odd to me how sometimes they bounce very little and for a short time for a big lime and then now when he gets less of a lime, he's got days of pink. 🙄 Always gotta be unpredictable, I guess. He's also seeming kind of off (subdued, quiet); wonder if that's just because he's so high again.

Thank you, will fix! That's because for some reason all of my text disappeared after I wrote it and I had to rewrite it. Forgot to go back and do that part.
 
Sorry for the understandable frustration 🤗. It’s so hard to surrender to the random hormone storm!

I don't think we're immune to the hormone effects either! I think the greens give us a dopamine hit, and then a cortisol hit with the pink storms. 😜🙃
 
Goodness me, I wish I could see the pattern in Xander's ups and downs. They really don't make sense do they. Soooo frustrating! 😕
Karolina is right... you just have to keep doing what you are doing. 💓
Thanks, Helen. I do too! I hate not knowing why things happen, especially when it's messing up progress.
 
6/4/25

What is with these horrible pinks?! 😭 I was so hopeful after 6/2 and apparently his body was just like "Well now I'm not doing it." I really thought we were headed for a bounce-breaking cycle last night, but nope. There was an understandable stress spike with the Libre placement, but he never really recovered.

I know it's a hormone and not a drug, but like... c'mon. How can we have had a near perfect day exactly once and then BAM! Chaos. If I were to increase tonight he would just dive within the first few cycles and earn a reduction. Can we just skip that part and utilize the insulin now instead of going through the whole pointless cycle? Aaaagh. So frustrating.

Seems like the highs are going around right now. I hope everyone else's babies are on their way down!
We all understand, Brianna. It’s very frustrating and we just get to ride it out along with them.
Keep doing what you do, as they say “ a cat is more than just their numbers” 🤦‍♀️

Sometimes it seems there’s just no rationale for this hormone beast controlling our lives 🫂🥰
If only we had one of these 🔮😘🤷‍♀️
🐈‍⬛❤️‍🩹💕🐈‍⬛
 
We all understand, Brianna. It’s very frustrating and we just get to ride it out along with them.
Keep doing what you do, as they say “ a cat is more than just their numbers” 🤦‍♀️

Sometimes it seems there’s just no rationale for this hormone beast controlling our lives 🫂🥰
If only we had one of these 🔮😘🤷‍♀️
🐈‍⬛❤️‍🩹💕🐈‍⬛
Aaaagh. Makes me wanna scream. 😅 I know you all get it though! 💙

He seems to not feel well today so it's just making me extra "GTFO" at those gross pinks.

Someone should really invent the Feline Diabetes 🔮 for us, lol
 
Brianna, I'm so sorry his numbers are wonky. I know this is so frustrating for you! As others have said, you are doing the very best you know to do, and Xander is so fortunate to have someone who is dedicated to his health and cares so much for him. Unfortunately, you have no control over how his body will respond to the excellent treatment you're giving him. As Staci says, you've got to ride it out along with him (and you are!). Hang in there, and I'm hoping that Xander will break this bounce very soon.
 
Brianna, I'm so sorry his numbers are wonky. I know this is so frustrating for you! As others have said, you are doing the very best you know to do, and Xander is so fortunate to have someone who is dedicated to his health and cares so much for him. Unfortunately, you have no control over how his body will respond to the excellent treatment you're giving him. As Staci says, you've got to ride it out along with him (and you are!). Hang in there, and I'm hoping that Xander will break this bounce very soon.
Thanks, Mary. 🫂 I appreciate the kind words!

It really is frustrating but you're right, I need to just accept that he's gonna do what he's gonna do. And then I have to not spiral into the "what if that means he'll never get better?" pit of despair, which is difficult. 😅 But all I can do is keep going.
 
I guess now I have to wonder if I should increase tonight (assuming he doesn't have any tricks up his sleeve in the next 4 hours). This is cycle 6 after our one good cycle and his numbers are still increasing. Is it likely for bounces to last longer than the 6 cycles?
 
Thanks, Mary. 🫂 I appreciate the kind words!

It really is frustrating but you're right, I need to just accept that he's gonna do what he's gonna do. And then I have to not spiral into the "what if that means he'll never get better?" pit of despair, which is difficult. 😅 But all I can do is keep going.
Also, a reminder: he is better because you are treating his diabetes properly.
 
Your partner gives good advice! I think back to Bell where she was having trouble jumping onto my bed before she was diagnosed to where she is now. Soooooo much healthier. You are doing great, Brianna! I hate those pinks as well.
 
Your partner gives good advice! I think back to Bell where she was having trouble jumping onto my bed before she was diagnosed to where she is now. Soooooo much healthier. You are doing great, Brianna! I hate those pinks as well.
Poor Bell! With all your stories of her playfulness it sounds like she's doing infinitely better. 🥹 That makes me so happy.

Thank you, Seth! I'll just keep on keeping on. :)
 
Back
Top