6/7, Bell, AMPS 146 +2.5 131 +5 89 +7 56 +8 54 +10 66 PMPS 74 | Feline Diabetes Management Board

6/7, Bell, AMPS 146 +2.5 131 +5 89 +7 56 +8 54 +10 66 PMPS 74

Seth&Bell

Active member
Yesterday

Bell continues to absolutely rock this dose. I remain tired. But that's ok, this makes me happy. I was able to get out on my long weekend run this morning before she tanked again. Last night I was up til about 1:30 to make sure she was ok, but then I was able to at least not have to set alarms, which was nice. If she continues the pattern of the last few cycles, she is giving me a break during the nights, but I just don't quite trust her yet :p

I have a non-urgent question. I was thinking about what to do if/when she gets her third lime on this dose. I was toying with the idea of only bring her down by 0.25 units instead of the full 0.5. But I also don't want to be reckless. With her current dose, I haven't felt that it was out of control at any point, even on the lime cycles, but I know I need to tread carefully with her IAA and large depot. I just know that 6.5 units a week ago wasn't cutting it and I'm really enjoying her being in this range. I guess the hope for a full reduction would be that her pancreas has healed enough or the antibodies have reduced enough to make that a successful dose now? Any thoughts welcome!
 
I was able to get out on my long weekend run
How long? Just curious. I'm a great fan of exercise to help with stress.
I was thinking about what to do if/when she gets her third lime on this dose. I was toying with the idea of only bring her down by 0.25 units instead of the full 0.5. But I also don't want to be reckless. With her current dose, I haven't felt that it was out of control at any point, even on the lime cycles, but I know I need to tread carefully with her IAA and large depot.
If you are being more aggressive about how she earns reductions, you only want to do one aggressive thing at a time. Either multiple times between 40-49 or "skinnying" the dose, but not both.
 
Thank you for the advice, just what I needed!

Today was a 12-miler. I really enjoy all-day trail runs but since Bell's diagnosis I've had to become a boring road-runner who occasionally hits a quick trail. It really is the best way for me to destress and get my energy level back up on these days with not a lot of sleep. What is your exercise of choice? I vaguely recall you mentioning rowing, but I might be wrong on that.
 
Such great cycles for Miss Bell!! It's nice that you're (mostly) finding a balance where you're tired, but not burnt out (and she's green, but not much lime).

As a couch potato - 12 miles being a "quick run" is mind blowing. 🤯😅 But I'm glad you were able to get out and go! It's hard to not have any time for the stuff you love anymore.
 
Thanks so much Brianna! My sleep schedule at the moment is prolly not sustainable, but (as you know more than anyone) the dream of some sort of consistency makes me want to hang on for a bit longer.

Figuring out how to have a somewhat normal existence with all this is really hard. Having y’all here who can understand the challenges means a whole lot
 
That’s an impressive distance! Rowing has to be one of the best “bang for your buck” workouts. Also, I want a fjord in my backyard 😩
 
Thanks so much Brianna! My sleep schedule at the moment is prolly not sustainable, but (as you know more than anyone) the dream of some sort of consistency makes me want to hang on for a bit longer.

Figuring out how to have a somewhat normal existence with all this is really hard. Having y’all here who can understand the challenges means a whole lot

I totally get it! Holding on as long as you can to give her the best chance at stability. Then you can relax a little more. It's a tough balance but I feel like you do a great job of it!

It really is so difficult and the people here are really the only ones who can understand! Especially since we're caring for a cat, I think the majority of people's responses would be "Why? It's just a cat." (F those people though.)
 
Back
Top