7/1 Egon AMPS 59 PMPS 71 - Acro Negative | Feline Diabetes Management Board

7/1 Egon AMPS 59 PMPS 71 - Acro Negative

Last Post

Egon's acromegaly test came back negative! His insulin antibodies are slightly elevated, but nothing too concerning for the vet. She is suggesting we just keep trying to see if we can get to a good dose for him and if he stays unregulated in a month or two we can look into pancreatitis or Cushings (but his other results and physical appearance don't lead her to think that's the case here). So maybe he is just a big gulper.

After talking with the internist, she says she recommends slowing down on the increases and giving him more time between dose adjustments. So I am thinking we might switch back to SLGS.

The vet agrees that he's probably on too much food and would be better around 200 kcal (currently on 260) so we will start reducing that and we've also just started feeding every 4 hours. So we will see have all of these changes do for him.

It's nice to have some answers, even though it's not totally conclusive. Thank you for all the support here!
 
Insulin Autoantibody: 84
Glad to see the IGF-1 is low! That IAA is considered "extreme", not "slightly elevated". That's why he's a big gulper. The IAA range is 0-100 and anything over 20 is positive. Neko was 52 but also positive for acro. Egon now joins @Seth&Bell (IAA 82) and @Jack & Mopem'sMom and @MinnerPip is being IAA only. This is quite unusual. Typically we might have one or two with just IAA, and if you count Oberon (IAA of 83) that's 5. Damn, just checked Oberon's SS, he had his "final" vet visit yesterday. Lymphoma. 😭

Black Kitty (BK) was the first every IAA kitty on FDMB, he had IAA of 84, and got to quite a bit higher dose, but did eventually go OTJ after a couple badly needed dentals.

I wrote some things when Bell and MInner were first diagnosed, starting here Bell Positive for IAA and see the link there for Minner. On my list of to-do's is a Sticky Note on IAA. SLGS is not the direction you want to go, The antibodies behave better if there is more green on the spreadsheet.

Not many vets know much about IAA. It's a little researched subject. We've had way more IAA kitties here than the current studies I've seen on it.
 
The good news is that IAA has no side effects other than on dosing, and can go away on it's own over time. Acro can have some nasty effects on a cat's body with the extra growth hormone.
 
Yes, acro seemed a little scary. I am happy that radiology is out of the picture although it seems cabergoline is a great addition to the treatment of acro. It gives me some relief to see that IAA tends to be self-limiting. It is strange how the specialist talked about how little info there is about it out there. I am endlessly thankful for this board.
 
Back
Top