7/5 Charlie AMPS 137, +2 117, +4 85, PMPS 94 | Feline Diabetes Management Board

7/5 Charlie AMPS 137, +2 117, +4 85, PMPS 94

CharliesMom22

Active member
Last post (7/2)

Good morning all!

I hope you’re all having a nice weekend and that all the American sugar kitties did okay with the fireworks. I was really lucky that charlie didn’t care about them at all this year—they were doing the finale right as I had to give him his shot so that could’ve been real bad hahah

Another blue AMPS today!! And a low-ish one at that! Keeping a close eye on him today. I’m going to hold this dose and then depending on how it goes, I may switch back to SLGS again. I have a feeling he’s going to start coming down the dosing ladder again soon (knock on wood). I’ll do a lower reduction point this time though, maybe 75 or 80?
 
Interesting (and great) that he is back in the blues after his constipation episode. Wonder if high BG is contributing to the constipation, or constipation causing the high BG, or completely unrelated 🤔
wanted to answer this here—I think the two are definitely related. I actually have a theory that it’s not the high numbers specifically but rather the numbers being all over the place. If you look back at the beginning of my spreadsheet (right before I switched to TR the first time), his numbers looked the same as they do right now: a combo of pinks, yellows, and blues. That’s when he was going 6-7 days between poops. (And just before his dx too). He started going regularly right as the numbers started getting more steady, albeit in the pinks. Could’ve been the probiotics though. I guess we’ll see this time.
 
@Wendy&Neko it’s looking like he might be getting into shooting green territory tonight. I don’t really have the capacity to monitor him well if he has a green preshot (I’m having guests over) Any advice? Seems like he has a second drop late in the cycle
 
Until Wendy pops in, what I would plan on doing is testing him at +11.50 and then again at his PMPS to see what direction he's moving in. That will give you a better idea of what to do at the PM shot.
 
Can you monitor if you shoot? He has been pretty flat all day.

The size of the dose does not affect the decision to shoot if it is a good dose for the cat.
 
I can monitor now, yes. I can monitor consistently until +4 and then go from there? Set alarms I guess?
Yes. Give him some food and shoot. Get a test every hour from +1 and give a snack after each test. Don't fill him up. You want him hungry enough to eat every hour.

Do you have enough strips, HC food and honey/syrup?
 
Back
Top