Dose? - George June 16 2025 continues | Feline Diabetes Management Board

Dose? George June 16 2025 continues

I thought there was a test from earlier this morning before you left for work. But we can assume he had a good cycle today. He hopefully had a green nadir. I wish I knew what it was.
 
Yes. He had breakfast. I couldn't split his meals today I didn't have time to set up his auto feeder.
That’s not good. That is what allowed him to drop so low. He needs those small meals during the day. This will be good information for the upcoming vacation dose — and what I am concerned about since the pet sitter is not going to be setting up meals for him during the cycles.
 
That’s not good. That is what allowed him to drop so low. He needs those small meals during the day. This will be good information for the upcoming vacation dose — and what I am concerned about since the pet sitter is not going to be setting up meals for him during the cycles.
I plan on having the pet sitter set up the auto feeder. I have 2 more sets of ice packs being delivered tomorrow so there won't be an issue there. I just have to talk to her about coming in for a test run so she knows what has changed about his system
 
And this pet sitter has done ear prick tests on George in the past? She puts a little food on his Licki mat and tests him?

Speaking of testing, did you get a test on George this morning? I hope he isn’t going to be too high.
 
What did you shoot? How many tests have you been able to get today? Is he getting the snacks during the cycle? I don’t see anything on the SS after the AMPS number
 
And this pet sitter has done ear prick tests on George in the past? She puts a little food on his Licki mat and tests him?

Speaking of testing, did you get a test on George this morning? I hope he isn’t going to be too high.
yes she has done ear prick testing on him successfully.
 
What did you shoot? How many tests have you been able to get today? Is he getting the snacks during the cycle? I don’t see anything on the SS after the AMPS number
I did give him 1.5 units. He was at 20.3 (365) this morning. he has been coming down slowly. hes at 12.7 (229) right now. Hes had 3 meals this morning/afternoon. he will get dinner at 10 tonight. I have to go out for a few hours and will test him again when I get back.
 
I will be interested to see how he does on the reduced dose. This will be very good information for helping to see if it’s not enough insulin or the correct amount. If he stays in blue and green we will call it the right amount.
 
I think is really hard to tell how the dose given is working or not because of the constant change through the AMPS/PMPS dose changes daily according to BG, I personally have a hard time following up,, then again I have never missed or lowered the dose myself even on 80s BG, and for NISHA having the work schedule she has , poor thing, it will be a task to stabilize George, she’s blessed to have you monitoring George
 
I gave him a .75 dose this morning because his was low and I couldn't monitor him this morning. I had to go out to view apartments. My landlord is looking to sell and I only rent a room so I'm not protected.
 
I gave him a .75 dose this morning because his was low and I couldn't monitor him this morning. I had to go out to view apartments. My landlord is looking to sell and I only rent a room so I'm not protected.
It’s okay. I was not criticizing you at all (and I was actually afraid you had been called into work again.) We have very little data to tell us how he does with a green pre-shot number so it pays to be cautious. Once we can document his patterns better we can have confidence in shooting lower numbers - it’s a process. George is doing much better with his BG now than he was before.
I would be lying if I said I didn’t hope you would get home to get a few tests though. I really was hoping it was a good opportunity to do that today with the green amps and you being off work. I didn’t know about the apartment hunting (which I hope is successful.)
 
It’s okay. I was not criticizing you at all (and I was actually afraid you had been called into work again.) We have very little data to tell us how he does with a green pre-shot number so it pays to be cautious. Once we can document his patterns better we can have confidence in shooting lower numbers - it’s a process. George is doing much better with his BG now than he was before.
I would be lying if I said I didn’t hope you would get home to get a few tests though. I really was hoping it was a good opportunity to do that today with the green amps and you being off work. I didn’t know about the apartment hunting (which I hope is successful.)
The apartment hunting was not planned until yesterday so it was a surprise for me too. I just needed to take the opportunity to see the apartments when I could. First come first serve sort of thing.
 
He seems to be doing okay. Alittle low right now but I'm not worried. I'll test him again in a half hour and he'll get another snack around 4
 
I was worried because hypo starts at 65
No. We do not want him to drop below 50. You use a human meter (the Contour). A drop below 50 means take action (maybe with a little HC). On a pet meter like the Alpha Trak, a drop below 68 means to take action— but this doesn’t apply to you since the Contour is a human meter.
 
Also, it doesn’t technically mean “hypo” although we throw that word around a lot. A hypoglycemic episode is one that is accompanied by physical symptoms. However, out of an abundance of caution, we always try to keep kitties on insulin at 50 or above (because pf the potential for the insulin to push them lower and into an actual symptomatic hypo.). Normal healthy non-diabetic cats often are in the 40s and 50s, but they do not have any hypoglycemia — however they are not on insulin and so cannot have a hypo. So we always use the range here that says normal healthy BG for a cat is between 50 and a maximum of 120. Those are the numbers we look for when we are assessing whether a cat is in remission — and they will spend most of their time in green and rarely in those low blues. I hope this helps.
 
Here's a pic of the guide that lists the numbers
 

Attachments

  • 17502813349181543164763800431115.jpg
    17502813349181543164763800431115.jpg
    2.3 MB · Views: 3
Ok, I advice to always rely on Suzanne in dosing matters, I do and blindly, that’s how you see Corky’s numbers they’ve at they are today
 
Nope. Ot should not be on the old forum either, unless it’s taken out of context or is referring to a pet meter but it would still be wrong because it would be a number below 68 on a pet meter.
Corky has had 65-69 many many times and tge BG always goes up by next reading, I’ve learned thru the process not to worry, you’ll learn that too. And eventually you’ll learn how to shoot the full dose with time and according to your work schedule, like I said once I would panic when 1 hour before shot time he was 150 and now I dose even at lo 90’s and high 80s it takes time
 
Yes. That is referring to use of the Alpha Trak meter — but it’s still wrong. It should say 68 not 65 - still doesn’t mean a hypo but below 68 is take action time for an Alpha Trak user. I will see about getting that changed/clarified.

1750282178330.jpeg
 
Back
Top