Hello everyone,
I believe that the current explanations including those found on FDMB, can sometimes be overwhelming and difficult to understand for newcomers.
Many caregivers with newly diagnosed diabetic cats may find themselves confused by complex terminology, unclear instructions, or walls of text without clear structure.
I want to change that.
My goal is to make feline diabetes management as clear, accessible, and user-friendly as possible for every cat owner who visits SugarCatCentral.
This means:
My aim is not to criticize the incredible help and support already available, but to build on it by making it even more accessible for newcomers.
I look forward to collaborating with anyone who is interested in making this information better for everyone.
Thank you for your support and for everything you have already done to help cats and their caregivers.
Information may be inaccurate! - This text is just the structure I'm building!
The focus is on frequent monitoring, consistent dosing, and careful adjustments.
2. Pre-shot
3. Nadir
4. +t
5. Cycles
(still working on this part)
If switching insulin:
Reduce dose by 30% if switching between long-acting insulins (Lantus to Levemir or vice versa).
Maintain the same dose if switching from short-acting insulin such as ProZinc or Caninsulin.
I believe that the current explanations including those found on FDMB, can sometimes be overwhelming and difficult to understand for newcomers.
Many caregivers with newly diagnosed diabetic cats may find themselves confused by complex terminology, unclear instructions, or walls of text without clear structure.
I want to change that.
My goal is to make feline diabetes management as clear, accessible, and user-friendly as possible for every cat owner who visits SugarCatCentral.
This means:
- Clarity and Simplicity: Rewriting all explanations in a clear, beginner-friendly manner, avoiding unnecessary jargon, and ensuring that all terms (like "pre-shot," "AMPS," "PMPS", ''Nadir'', and more) are clearly defined the first time they are mentioned.
- Visual Tutorials: Providing visual guides with images for complex concepts (e.g., how a U100 syringe looks, what a hypo kit should contain).
- Logical Structure: Organizing information so that each page connects logically to the next, making it easy for users to navigate without getting lost.
- Hyperlinked Content: Interconnecting related pages for quick access (e.g., a section on hypoglycemia can link directly to a detailed "Hypoglycemia Management" page).
- Accurate, Fact-Checked Content: Ensuring all information is accurate, up-to-date, and supported by the latest guidelines for feline diabetes care.
My aim is not to criticize the incredible help and support already available, but to build on it by making it even more accessible for newcomers.
I look forward to collaborating with anyone who is interested in making this information better for everyone.
Thank you for your support and for everything you have already done to help cats and their caregivers.
Information may be inaccurate! - This text is just the structure I'm building!
Example page: (Done for 70 %)
Tight Regulation Protocol for Diabetic Cats
Introduction
This protocol provides clear, step-by-step guidelines for managing diabetic cats using long-acting insulins such as Lantus (glargine) or Levemir (detemir).The focus is on frequent monitoring, consistent dosing, and careful adjustments.
Key Requirements
- Insulin Type: Lantus (glargine), Levemir (detemir), or their biosimilars.
- Syringes: U100, 3/10cc (0.3 ml) with half-unit markings.
- Glucometer: Human glucose meter (0.6 µL or less per test).
- Diet: High-quality, low-carb canned or raw food. (No dry food if possible.)
- Feeding: Multiple small meals or free-feeding low-carb food.
- Blood Glucose Monitoring: Multiple tests daily, including pre-shot and key points (+3, +6, +9).
- Hypoglycemia Management: Keep a hypo kit ready (syrup, high-carb food).
- Ketone Monitoring: Regularly test for ketones, especially in the early stages.
- Spreadsheet: Use our spreadsheet to track all measurements for accurate treatment decisions.
Jargon used:
1. Hypo2. Pre-shot
3. Nadir
4. +t
5. Cycles
(still working on this part)
If switching insulin:
Reduce dose by 30% if switching between long-acting insulins (Lantus to Levemir or vice versa).
Maintain the same dose if switching from short-acting insulin such as ProZinc or Caninsulin.
Phase 1: Starting Dose
- Insulin Type: Long-acting insulin of your choice.
- Calculation: 0.25 IU/kg of the cat's ideal weight.
- When: Administered every 12 hours at the same times.
- Monitoring: Test blood glucose at pre-shot, +3, +6, and +9 for the first 3 days.
- First time treatment: Hold the dose for 5 to 7 days.
- Important: Add all new data to your spreadsheet.
Phase 2: Dose Adjustment
- Increase:
- If nadirs are over 200 mg/dL / 11.1 mmol/L but below 300 mg/dL / 16.7 mmol/L, increase by: 0.25 IU (After 3 days, 6 cycles.)
- If nadirs are over 300 mg/dL / 16.7 mmol/L, increase by: 0.5 IU (After 3 days, 6 cycles.)
- Hold: If nadirs are between 100 - 200 mg/dL / 5.6 - 11.1 mmol/L.
- If nadirs are under 100 mg/dL / 5.6 mmol/L, hold for at least 10 cycles.
- Reduce: If nadirs are below 50 mg/dL / 2.8 mmol/L, reduce by: 0.25 IU immediately.
For Cats New to Certain Numbers:
- If your cat is new to numbers under 200 mg/dL / 11.1 mmol/L, hold for at least 8-10 cycles.
- Important: This should be based on your spreadsheet data.
Phase 3: Holding the Dose
- Target Range: 50-200 mg/dL / 2.8-11.1 mmol/L for most of the day.
- Consistency: Avoid skipping doses.
- Important: This should be based on your spreadsheet data.
Phase 4: Reducing the Dose
- Criteria: If nadirs are consistently in the 50 - 100 mg/dL / 2.8 - 5.6 mmol/L
- range for one week.
- Method: Reduce by 0.25 IU.
- Important: This should be based on your spreadsheet data.
Phase 5: Remission
- Signs of Remission: If your cat's blood glucose remains in the healthy range (2.8-5.6 mmol/L) even after reducing multiple doses over the weeks, this may indicate that your cat is approaching remission.
- Criteria: 14 days without insulin, with stable blood glucose (2.8-5.6 mmol/L or 50-100 mg/dL).
- Important: This should be based on your spreadsheet data.
- Keep Track: Continue monitoring closely to ensure your cat stays in remission.
Quick Reference Table
Blood Glucose (mmol/L) | Action |
---|---|
>11.1 | Increase dose by 0.25 IU after 3 days |
5.6 - 11.1 | Maintain dose (no change) |
2.8 - 5.6 | Monitor, prepare for reduction if stable |
<2.8 | Reduce dose by 0.25 IU immediately |
Blood Glucose (mg/dL) | Action |
---|---|
>200 | Increase dose by 0.25 IU after 3 days |
100 - 200 | Maintain dose (no change) |
50 - 100 | Monitor, prepare for reduction if stable |
<50 | Reduce dose by 0.25 IU immediately |
Final Notes
- This protocol is data-driven and should be adjusted based on your cat’s specific response.
- Always consult with your veterinarian for guidance.
- Regularly test for ketones and maintain a low-carb diet throughout.
Maybe it's better to have 1 page that shows mg/dL and one page that shows only mmol/L for cleaner and shorter texts without getting a headache reading.
test:
Last edited: